Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Laughing Moon Mercantile: #100 - Type:Lingerie
Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 537 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Maggiedoll
photo
About Maggiedollstar
MD USA
Member since: 1/8/10
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/11 3:49 PM
Last Updated:2/2/11 2:38 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kim12469 said...
It's looking really good. I have this pattern and really want to make it too. I also have some of that VW canvas so it's good to know I can use it. I like the look of yours even though you say it looks a little like fetishwear.
12/19/10 8:41 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Hi! I think you are well on your way! I have been looking for and shopping price for corset coutil. Definitely not a locally available item. One site suggested cotton pillow ticking and linked to Vogue Fabrics (Evanston IL). I joined a Civil War reenacting group and need a period accurate corset. I will be watching your progress... the Linda Sparks book (reading now) might be helpful to you. Good luck!
12/19/10 10:18 AM
Maggiedoll said...
Nancy, would you be able to split an order of coutil with members of your reenactment group? RichardTheThread has the best prices on coutil I've seen (for the domestic coutil, apparently not as good as then English coutil, but it's still coutil) they have the "natural" color for $9.95/yard and white for $12.90/yard, plus a few colors that are slightly more. The catch is that they have a 5-yard minimum.
12/19/10 11:03 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Hi maggiedoll... I am probably the only gal who is interested in sewing my own... and the New member.. the others have their stuff! V. Good idea though, Until I work out the details, I think I am going to go with the pillow ticking. a working/wearable muslin for the upcoming Season is what I envision. I am also thinking of a dress form wearing corset .. Jan Bones & her paper-tape double is coming to my favorite local store/ class place "Janie's Sewing Corner" in Cleveland. An hour drive, but I can get taped there and be hopefully better able to sew a ball gown that fits! 5 yds sounds like a LOT of corsets... maybe I could parcel it out in the PR classifides... Thanks!
12/20/10 8:23 PM
Maggiedoll said...
If you decide to do that, make sure you drop by the corset sew-along and let us know! I'm not sure if I'm planning on coutil anywhere in the near future, I still have quite a bit of canvas, and haven't even started experimenting with the herringbone canvas I have (for that matter, I'm not completely sure how "herringbone canvas" differs from coutil..) but I think dfr is planning on coutil as the core of her red brocade corset. For that matter, come stop by the corset sew-alone whether or not you have extra coutil to get rid of! And BTW, Tuesday nights are "official" corset chats. 7pm-ish Eastern, but we tend to be there.. well, we live in the chat room!
12/21/10 10:40 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Greetings Maggiedoll, Holidays done and I am back on task with corsetry. I have a cotton muslin sewn and ready to fit. The white ticking from Vogue Fabrics is quite nice actually. I will keep you all posted. I did pick up 3 books recommended for interesting reading on history/culture of women's foundations ie corsets mostly, at the Kent State Fashion Museum. They were all recommended reading from the Corset making DVD. Fascinating. Still think I like my Wacoal bras best!
1/31/11 9:14 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Your corset looks fabulous! very perfect looking to me~
1/31/11 9:15 PM
JillyBe said...
Congratulations on finishing & wtg girl! I admit that I don't know what half the terms you used mean, & I'm a little lost in corset world, but it still looks like an wonderful job well done!
2/1/11 5:59 PM
rmusic1 said...
I'm impressed, it looks lovely. Well done for your perseverance.
2/1/11 6:45 PM
Ericaeli said...
This really is quite beautiful. It makes me want to learn how to make a corset, and learn what all the terms you used mean.
2/1/11 6:54 PM
rozzybabe said...
You've done a super job! We all learn more as we go along, it's having the guts to actually start & finish that counts as much as the sewing "q1uality", which you've done really well. You've inspired me to get this pattern in the spring! Thanks for all the details!
2/2/11 4:26 PM
loti said...
This is so pretty, I have this pattern but haven't made it yet.
2/2/11 11:30 PM
Annette1 said...
Great review, to say nothing of this beautiful corset (both of them, actually). I could just LOOK at them all day, they're so pretty! You really did a nice job.
2/4/11 3:42 PM
piffle said...
Thank you so much for the FoundationsRevealed link. What a terrific resource! Additionally, your work is really beautiful. So much improvement and creativity. Brava!
7/17/12 7:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2008-133 Men's hoodie
photo
Review by crisford on 9/20/09
Read Review

Butterick 4110 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 4110 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6699 Pattern
New Look 6699 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2599 Dresses
photo
Review by 2BSewing on 5/30/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us