SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5007 (gore skirt)

25 more reviews
Viewed 3003 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 243
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/04 9:36 PM
Last Updated:5/3/06 8:32 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen Bowers said...
great job, lisa! and you look like you're getting quite comfortable with your great new hairstyle!
6/26/04 10:45 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow! You look so pretty with your great ensemble and pretty smile. Thanks for the great review.
6/26/04 11:07 PM
touran said...
This is a beautiful outfit. You look radiant. I've been thinking about modifying vogue 7799 for a collarless look. Thanks for showing yours.
6/26/04 11:50 PM
Elona said...
Lisa, the skirt length looks quite elegant on you. Nice work!
6/27/04 0:24 AM
PVA said...
Wow, Lisa, I love the hang of that skirt! Beautiful and elegant! Thanks for the review! Great use of that vogue top -- wouldn't know it was the same pattern!
6/27/04 1:40 AM
ChrisK said...
Lisa, I love your skirt, I have bought lots of RTW skirts in the same style. Did you find there was a lot of fabric gathers at the waist? Yours looks like it's sitting very smoothly. Both skirt and top look fab! This looks like it's a 'must have' pattern.
6/27/04 1:58 AM
jlg said...
Lisa, you look great in this outfit. I am so glad that you reviewed this version; I've been deliberating on making this in a black rayon/lycra. How does the fit through the hips compare to the swing skirt?
6/27/04 6:16 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Let me think...I believe the swing skirt might have just a tad more ease through the hips, but then I've gained a wee bit of weight :( , so this may just feel a little more snug because of that. Actually, if I'm brutally honest, this may only work on my current shape due to the stretch in the fabric...it might be snug in a woven...so that could account for the lack of gathers at the top, too. But, Loes's garments are usually drafted w/minimal waist ease -- just enough to pull it over the hips. In a stretchy knit garment, you can even get away with a waist that is a little smaller than your hips, so there's less fabric to pull in at the waist. It's definitely fuller around the hem than the swing skirt, and the flare starts higher up. It's 2 inches or so longer than the swing skirt, which grazes my ankles w/o alteration.
6/27/04 7:37 AM
jlg said...
Thanks, Lisa. This has been really helpful.
6/27/04 9:08 AM
cindyann said...
Very pretty. Every time I see this skirt reviewed, I can't imagine why I haven't gotten the pattern yet. It always looks so much better than the envelope pics. I love this length on you.
6/27/04 9:47 AM
Mini said...
The matching top and skirt together looks sophisticated and slimming. It reminds me of some of the vintage gored dresses from the 1930's. This combo would look good in stretch velvet for a dressy occasion. Personally, I like the skirt version without godets best.
6/27/04 10:40 AM
CarolynGM said...
Good looking outfit. I don't see why you shouldn't wear the top with the skirt. Sounds like I won't need to lengthen the skirt when I make it.
6/27/04 10:54 AM
kbrock said...
Great outfit! I just love this pattern too, at last count I have 8 skirts from this one! You are dead on right about skirt length - except for me at 5'8" it's nice because I don't have to fiddle with lengthening LH patterns. Great job!
6/27/04 11:04 AM
Rustybobn said...
That's beautiful, Lisa! You've really done some nice tops with that Vogue Pattern. Love them together, too!
6/27/04 11:06 AM
AnneM said...
Wow, Lisa, what a stunning outfit on you. I would definitely say wear them together; I think it looks spectacular and elegant. Certainly makes this pattern look appealing; great job.
6/27/04 4:37 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Very pretty skirt and outfit.
12/30/05 10:30 AM
Gillian said...
I just saw this review and I have to mention that the outfit you made with the buttermilk print looks really nice on you. Great job on the other skirts and all of your pattern mods.
1/14/06 2:24 PM
Sew Jane said...
Love the morphed gore skirt! Very creative. Thanks for the inspiring update.
1/14/06 8:51 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Very nice new rendition. I can see why you love this skirt.
5/3/06 12:12 PM
Em's Summer said...
That is lovely!
5/3/06 8:08 PM
AnneM said...
Nice new version. It looks like a great fabric for this style.
5/4/06 5:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Serendipity Studio 117

photo
by: BillieJean

Review
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now