Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5007 (gore skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 2999 times 25 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/04 9:36 PM
Last Updated:5/3/06 8:32 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen Bowers said...
great job, lisa! and you look like you're getting quite comfortable with your great new hairstyle!
6/26/04 10:45 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow! You look so pretty with your great ensemble and pretty smile. Thanks for the great review.
6/26/04 11:07 PM
touran said...
This is a beautiful outfit. You look radiant. I've been thinking about modifying vogue 7799 for a collarless look. Thanks for showing yours.
6/26/04 11:50 PM
Elona said...
Lisa, the skirt length looks quite elegant on you. Nice work!
6/27/04 0:24 AM
PVA said...
Wow, Lisa, I love the hang of that skirt! Beautiful and elegant! Thanks for the review! Great use of that vogue top -- wouldn't know it was the same pattern!
6/27/04 1:40 AM
ChrisK said...
Lisa, I love your skirt, I have bought lots of RTW skirts in the same style. Did you find there was a lot of fabric gathers at the waist? Yours looks like it's sitting very smoothly. Both skirt and top look fab! This looks like it's a 'must have' pattern.
6/27/04 1:58 AM
jlg said...
Lisa, you look great in this outfit. I am so glad that you reviewed this version; I've been deliberating on making this in a black rayon/lycra. How does the fit through the hips compare to the swing skirt?
6/27/04 6:16 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Let me think...I believe the swing skirt might have just a tad more ease through the hips, but then I've gained a wee bit of weight :( , so this may just feel a little more snug because of that. Actually, if I'm brutally honest, this may only work on my current shape due to the stretch in the fabric...it might be snug in a woven...so that could account for the lack of gathers at the top, too. But, Loes's garments are usually drafted w/minimal waist ease -- just enough to pull it over the hips. In a stretchy knit garment, you can even get away with a waist that is a little smaller than your hips, so there's less fabric to pull in at the waist. It's definitely fuller around the hem than the swing skirt, and the flare starts higher up. It's 2 inches or so longer than the swing skirt, which grazes my ankles w/o alteration.
6/27/04 7:37 AM
jlg said...
Thanks, Lisa. This has been really helpful.
6/27/04 9:08 AM
cindyann said...
Very pretty. Every time I see this skirt reviewed, I can't imagine why I haven't gotten the pattern yet. It always looks so much better than the envelope pics. I love this length on you.
6/27/04 9:47 AM
Mini said...
The matching top and skirt together looks sophisticated and slimming. It reminds me of some of the vintage gored dresses from the 1930's. This combo would look good in stretch velvet for a dressy occasion. Personally, I like the skirt version without godets best.
6/27/04 10:40 AM
CarolynGM said...
Good looking outfit. I don't see why you shouldn't wear the top with the skirt. Sounds like I won't need to lengthen the skirt when I make it.
6/27/04 10:54 AM
kbrock said...
Great outfit! I just love this pattern too, at last count I have 8 skirts from this one! You are dead on right about skirt length - except for me at 5'8" it's nice because I don't have to fiddle with lengthening LH patterns. Great job!
6/27/04 11:04 AM
Rustybobn said...
That's beautiful, Lisa! You've really done some nice tops with that Vogue Pattern. Love them together, too!
6/27/04 11:06 AM
AnneM said...
Wow, Lisa, what a stunning outfit on you. I would definitely say wear them together; I think it looks spectacular and elegant. Certainly makes this pattern look appealing; great job.
6/27/04 4:37 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Very pretty skirt and outfit.
12/30/05 10:30 AM
Gillian said...
I just saw this review and I have to mention that the outfit you made with the buttermilk print looks really nice on you. Great job on the other skirts and all of your pattern mods.
1/14/06 2:24 PM
Sew Jane said...
Love the morphed gore skirt! Very creative. Thanks for the inspiring update.
1/14/06 8:51 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Very nice new rendition. I can see why you love this skirt.
5/3/06 12:12 PM
Em's Summer said...
That is lovely!
5/3/06 8:08 PM
AnneM said...
Nice new version. It looks like a great fabric for this style.
5/4/06 5:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Marfy 1637 jacket
photo
Review by Re Becca on 4/30/11
Read Review

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-137 Boy's Shirt
photo
Review by EveS on 5/22/08
Read Review

Simplicity 2297 Pattern( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2297 Pattern( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1269 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1269 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us