SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3504 

17 more reviews
Viewed 434 times 
Reviewed by:CathyWeeks
photo

 
 
About CathyWeeksstar
MN USA
Member since: 9/5/08
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/10 1:13 PM
Last Updated:1/2/11 12:51 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $11.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peter in NYC said...
Sounds like you met the challenges and then some. I think these look great. Having made Kwik Sew jeans myself I understand where you're coming from. Mens flys are a challenge and it always helps to have a pair of RTW jeans nearby to compare it to, in addition to the written instructions. These willl probably shrink some over time, not to worry. Congratulations on a job well done!
12/31/10 1:27 PM
CathyWeeks said...
Thanks, Peter. I did indeed have a pair of RTW jeans to look at, and it IS really helpful. Unfortunately, I prewashed and dried the fabric FIVE times prior cutting, so I doubt there'll be much shrinkage.
12/31/10 1:30 PM
treefrog said...
The jeans look great and I love the personal touch of using the batik print as the pocket lining. Thanks for putting heaps of detail in your review.
12/31/10 3:26 PM
MNBarb said...
Jeans are such a rewarding sewing project and yours look great! Once you get the basic fit you can always make minor adjustments on the next pair. I second your suggestion for keeping a pair of RTW nearby to get the topstitching and bartacking right. Congrats!
12/31/10 11:18 PM
Christas said...
One of the goals I have for 2011 is to make jeans for my husband and older sons. I really appreciate your review as this is the pattern I bought to make their jeans. Nice sewing!
1/1/11 12:09 PM
Annette1 said...
GREAT review, and you've done a SUPERB job on these jeans, and I see MANY MORE in the future. :o) I've contemplated getting this pattern for my husband, too, before it's no longer available. :o)
1/2/11 6:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 99383-1001

photo
by: julliams

Review
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now