Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 9892 - Type:Outerwear
Review submitted in Winter Wear Contest    printable version
Viewed 500 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:SheBear0320
photo
Friend of PR
About SheBear0320star
MB CANADA
Member since: 4/8/08
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/10 1:05 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jannw said...
Great idea on adding the nylon for the wind. Love the finished coat!
12/31/10 1:45 AM
petro said...
What a nice coat! I love the colour.
12/31/10 4:52 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Lovely results! That's a challenge to upgrade so many details at once... I call that mission creep when a straight forward project keeps gathering steam with more and more deviations and i want it this way's...customizing it into a way more complicated project than anyone intended. But you slogged thru it and have a great snuggly coat to prove it.
12/31/10 8:10 AM
Nan Kay said...
I have not tried windbreaker fabric for innerlinging, it is a great idea. Would be easier to use than chamois or flannel too! Nicely finished coat.
12/31/10 8:23 AM
maryfrana said...
Ambitious and successful project. Those temperatures have me shivering. We think it's super cold in coastal California when it gets below 45.
12/31/10 8:34 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
I love fleece, but am always afraid it won't really stand up to the cold and wind. Thanks for all the information about lining and interlining. also, your coat is really pretty.
12/31/10 9:26 AM
SheBear0320 said...
The coat passed the test for warmth and windblock this morning when I headed to the rink -- the temp was -26C and the windchill was -36C. Standing rinkside I was even warm and comfortable. My favourite thing is that the coat isn't bulky/puffy. Will definitely be using this combination on future coats.to brave the Manitoba winters.
12/31/10 10:27 AM
SewWil said...
Very nice coat. Great color!
12/31/10 12:36 PM
BJ1400 said...
Your coat really looks great! Pretty color.
12/31/10 10:39 PM
JillyBe said...
Beautifully done! I just want to pet it....... ;-D
12/31/10 10:41 PM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous coat--I love the color. It must be so light and comfortable to wear.
1/1/11 9:00 AM
Julia C said...
Your coat looks great! So glad you made something for yourself. Very helpful review with all of your details.
1/1/11 9:04 AM
Aroura said...
Gorgeous coat, and so warm! Thanks for all the great lining/interlining tips.
1/1/11 2:54 PM
4u2cme said...
Very nice coat.
1/11/11 5:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Oliver + S Popover sundress
photo
Review by VivianZ on 8/27/13
Read Review

Petite Plus 303 Pattern
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Darling Ranges Dress Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Darling Ranges Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2948
photo
Review by SouthernSt... on 2/20/04
Read Review

McCalls 5499 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 5499 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6829 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6829 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us