SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9892 

Review submitted in Winter Wear Contest
Viewed 517 times 
Reviewed by:SheBear0320
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SheBear0320starstar
MB Canada
Member since: 4/8/08
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/10 1:05 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
4u2cme said...
Very nice coat.
1/11/11 5:04 PM
Aroura said...
Gorgeous coat, and so warm! Thanks for all the great lining/interlining tips.
1/1/11 2:54 PM
Julia C said...
Your coat looks great! So glad you made something for yourself. Very helpful review with all of your details.
1/1/11 9:04 AM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous coat--I love the color. It must be so light and comfortable to wear.
1/1/11 9:00 AM
JillyBe said...
Beautifully done! I just want to pet it....... ;-D
12/31/10 10:41 PM
BJ1400 said...
Your coat really looks great! Pretty color.
12/31/10 10:39 PM
SewWil said...
Very nice coat. Great color!
12/31/10 12:36 PM
SheBear0320 said...
The coat passed the test for warmth and windblock this morning when I headed to the rink -- the temp was -26C and the windchill was -36C. Standing rinkside I was even warm and comfortable. My favourite thing is that the coat isn't bulky/puffy. Will definitely be using this combination on future coats.to brave the Manitoba winters.
12/31/10 10:27 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
I love fleece, but am always afraid it won't really stand up to the cold and wind. Thanks for all the information about lining and interlining. also, your coat is really pretty.
12/31/10 9:26 AM
maryfrana said...
Ambitious and successful project. Those temperatures have me shivering. We think it's super cold in coastal California when it gets below 45.
12/31/10 8:34 AM
Nan Kay said...
I have not tried windbreaker fabric for innerlinging, it is a great idea. Would be easier to use than chamois or flannel too! Nicely finished coat.
12/31/10 8:23 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Lovely results! That's a challenge to upgrade so many details at once... I call that mission creep when a straight forward project keeps gathering steam with more and more deviations and i want it this way's...customizing it into a way more complicated project than anyone intended. But you slogged thru it and have a great snuggly coat to prove it.
12/31/10 8:10 AM
petro said...
What a nice coat! I love the colour.
12/31/10 4:52 AM
jannw said...
Great idea on adding the nylon for the wind. Love the finished coat!
12/31/10 1:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

More Info
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

More Info