SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 9524 

2 more reviews
Viewed 256 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/10 3:09 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Bonnie K said...
The phrase comes to mind.... "making a silk purse out of a sow's ear" Great save. Love the humor in your review.
12/31/10 3:17 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
I know, I know... I've told ya a zillion times already :-O... You're a HOOT, Annette!! AND a marvelous designer!! ;) Keep warm, eh!
12/31/10 3:20 PM
Karendee said...
My goodness, I turn my back for a second and this amazing creation is made. This vest is TDF and your knowledge on how to change, create, and design clothing is outstanding. Then not to mention the clever little stitching here and there, as well as no side seams on plaid. With the heft of this fabric, I can see that a vest would be more flattering than a jacket with sleeves. This is really a great look garment and your makeshift makeup is lovely.
12/31/10 3:32 PM
BillieJean said...
Really, really pretty!!!
12/31/10 3:57 PM
Christas said...
This looks so nice on you. I really love those buttons. The outer fabric, lining, and buttons go together PERFECTLY, but would we expect any less from YOU??!! And...... you look beautiful in inferior make-up!
12/31/10 4:03 PM
Catbird said...
That is a fantastic vest to take you through the deep cold in style! I can picture it with a bulky black fisherman's sweater, sleek ski pants and cute little aprés-ski boots...in the lodge by the fire with a cup of hot chocolate. You're probably going to send the paramedics to my house now to make sure I haven't finally gone off the deep end....:-)) I LOVE that stitching that you did to finish the edges and love how the buttons complement the whole thing perfectly!
12/31/10 4:40 PM
Kayseri said...
I love this vest, it looks warm and practical with a classy edge. You've turned a project with many disapointments into a winner.
12/31/10 6:03 PM
marjenann said...
Truly, this is a designer piece!! The fabric, the buttons, the lining!! Breathtaking!!! You keep raising the bar!!!
12/31/10 6:40 PM
SewWil said...
Great job! I love the fabric. The buttons add a great touch. Looks great on you. Thanks for the review. Fun to read.
12/31/10 7:39 PM
janet said...
FABULOUS vest! The closures are TDF!! The outcome is PERFECT!!!
12/31/10 8:10 PM
Terri A said...
Very fabulous. Your amazing ingenuity is inspiring. The fabric is great. The lining looks especially lovely. I don't know where to begin on the buttons. They are very cool. *Love* them!
12/31/10 8:50 PM
Barbara V said...
Well, you have one lovely warm vest! The color and fabric is right in style and those buttons cannot be topped - what more could you ask for? Great job as usual.
12/31/10 8:51 PM
Lynnelle said...
The pattern picture does no justice to your vest. NancyZ should be ashamed! As always, your reviews are a delight to read and your garments are very chic and well fitting. Nice!
1/1/11 8:30 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I love your reviews-always learn a lot from reading them and usually stuff another pattern in the drawer if it is to be found. I love what you did with this pattern and thanks for all the great fit hints and humor which makes my day.
1/1/11 9:19 AM
Diane333 said...
Another beautiful and creative design. Looks fantastic inside and out.
1/1/11 10:02 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice Annette - super idea for avoiding matching plaids at the side seams - you look beautiful with or without makeup - happy New Year - God bless!!
1/1/11 10:21 AM
cindy-lou said...
You write the greatest reviews! Great save with the messed-up fabric *and* the sleeves that didn't work. Very fun to read!
1/1/11 2:32 PM
ITAdmin said...
Happy New Year back! Your vest looks great, and the buttons add a special touch.
1/1/11 3:02 PM
JETrinity said...
What a clever way to preserve your big blocks. Love the edge on your collar. There goes one stash out of your sewing room. Your hair is looking so great.
1/1/11 7:36 PM
Heatherrique said...
Happy new year Annette! What a way to start the new year with such a fine looking vest! I like your designer instinct to make a vest instead of the jacket. Thanks for your inspiration!
1/2/11 10:43 PM
Margaret said...
The vest looks fabulous -- I love how you handled the huge blocks! Happy New Year!
1/6/11 6:31 AM
Mahler said...
Nice accident you know. The look is very neat ! Funny review my friend !
2/14/11 10:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 261

photo
by: Renren

Review
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now