Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 9524 - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 256 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/10 3:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Bonnie K said...
The phrase comes to mind.... "making a silk purse out of a sow's ear" Great save. Love the humor in your review.
12/31/10 3:17 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
I know, I know... I've told ya a zillion times already :-O... You're a HOOT, Annette!! AND a marvelous designer!! ;) Keep warm, eh!
12/31/10 3:20 PM
Karendee said...
My goodness, I turn my back for a second and this amazing creation is made. This vest is TDF and your knowledge on how to change, create, and design clothing is outstanding. Then not to mention the clever little stitching here and there, as well as no side seams on plaid. With the heft of this fabric, I can see that a vest would be more flattering than a jacket with sleeves. This is really a great look garment and your makeshift makeup is lovely.
12/31/10 3:32 PM
BillieJean said...
Really, really pretty!!!
12/31/10 3:57 PM
Christas said...
This looks so nice on you. I really love those buttons. The outer fabric, lining, and buttons go together PERFECTLY, but would we expect any less from YOU??!! And...... you look beautiful in inferior make-up!
12/31/10 4:03 PM
Catbird said...
That is a fantastic vest to take you through the deep cold in style! I can picture it with a bulky black fisherman's sweater, sleek ski pants and cute little aprés-ski boots...in the lodge by the fire with a cup of hot chocolate. You're probably going to send the paramedics to my house now to make sure I haven't finally gone off the deep end....:-)) I LOVE that stitching that you did to finish the edges and love how the buttons complement the whole thing perfectly!
12/31/10 4:40 PM
Kayseri said...
I love this vest, it looks warm and practical with a classy edge. You've turned a project with many disapointments into a winner.
12/31/10 6:03 PM
marjenann said...
Truly, this is a designer piece!! The fabric, the buttons, the lining!! Breathtaking!!! You keep raising the bar!!!
12/31/10 6:40 PM
SewWil said...
Great job! I love the fabric. The buttons add a great touch. Looks great on you. Thanks for the review. Fun to read.
12/31/10 7:39 PM
janet said...
FABULOUS vest! The closures are TDF!! The outcome is PERFECT!!!
12/31/10 8:10 PM
Terri A said...
Very fabulous. Your amazing ingenuity is inspiring. The fabric is great. The lining looks especially lovely. I don't know where to begin on the buttons. They are very cool. *Love* them!
12/31/10 8:50 PM
Barbara V said...
Well, you have one lovely warm vest! The color and fabric is right in style and those buttons cannot be topped - what more could you ask for? Great job as usual.
12/31/10 8:51 PM
Lynnelle said...
The pattern picture does no justice to your vest. NancyZ should be ashamed! As always, your reviews are a delight to read and your garments are very chic and well fitting. Nice!
1/1/11 8:30 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I love your reviews-always learn a lot from reading them and usually stuff another pattern in the drawer if it is to be found. I love what you did with this pattern and thanks for all the great fit hints and humor which makes my day.
1/1/11 9:19 AM
Diane333 said...
Another beautiful and creative design. Looks fantastic inside and out.
1/1/11 10:02 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice Annette - super idea for avoiding matching plaids at the side seams - you look beautiful with or without makeup - happy New Year - God bless!!
1/1/11 10:21 AM
cindy-lou said...
You write the greatest reviews! Great save with the messed-up fabric *and* the sleeves that didn't work. Very fun to read!
1/1/11 2:32 PM
ITAdmin said...
Happy New Year back! Your vest looks great, and the buttons add a special touch.
1/1/11 3:02 PM
JETrinity said...
What a clever way to preserve your big blocks. Love the edge on your collar. There goes one stash out of your sewing room. Your hair is looking so great.
1/1/11 7:36 PM
Heatherrique said...
Happy new year Annette! What a way to start the new year with such a fine looking vest! I like your designer instinct to make a vest instead of the jacket. Thanks for your inspiration!
1/2/11 10:43 PM
Margaret said...
The vest looks fabulous -- I love how you handled the huge blocks! Happy New Year!
1/6/11 6:31 AM
Mahler said...
Nice accident you know. The look is very neat ! Funny review my friend !
2/14/11 10:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 2662
photo
Review by SusieK1957 on 11/12/06
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

LaFred 108 Helena Dress
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 11/26/03
Read Review

New Look 6145 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6145 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6407 Pattern
New Look 6407 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us