SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 9524 

2 more reviews
Viewed 257 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 204 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/10 3:09 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahler said...
Nice accident you know. The look is very neat ! Funny review my friend !
2/14/11 10:24 AM
Margaret said...
The vest looks fabulous -- I love how you handled the huge blocks! Happy New Year!
1/6/11 6:31 AM
Heatherrique said...
Happy new year Annette! What a way to start the new year with such a fine looking vest! I like your designer instinct to make a vest instead of the jacket. Thanks for your inspiration!
1/2/11 10:43 PM
JETrinity said...
What a clever way to preserve your big blocks. Love the edge on your collar. There goes one stash out of your sewing room. Your hair is looking so great.
1/1/11 7:36 PM
ITAdmin said...
Happy New Year back! Your vest looks great, and the buttons add a special touch.
1/1/11 3:02 PM
cindy-lou said...
You write the greatest reviews! Great save with the messed-up fabric *and* the sleeves that didn't work. Very fun to read!
1/1/11 2:32 PM
carolynw said...
Very nice Annette - super idea for avoiding matching plaids at the side seams - you look beautiful with or without makeup - happy New Year - God bless!!
1/1/11 10:21 AM
Diane333 said...
Another beautiful and creative design. Looks fantastic inside and out.
1/1/11 10:02 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I love your reviews-always learn a lot from reading them and usually stuff another pattern in the drawer if it is to be found. I love what you did with this pattern and thanks for all the great fit hints and humor which makes my day.
1/1/11 9:19 AM
Lynnelle said...
The pattern picture does no justice to your vest. NancyZ should be ashamed! As always, your reviews are a delight to read and your garments are very chic and well fitting. Nice!
1/1/11 8:30 AM
Barbara V said...
Well, you have one lovely warm vest! The color and fabric is right in style and those buttons cannot be topped - what more could you ask for? Great job as usual.
12/31/10 8:51 PM
Terri A said...
Very fabulous. Your amazing ingenuity is inspiring. The fabric is great. The lining looks especially lovely. I don't know where to begin on the buttons. They are very cool. *Love* them!
12/31/10 8:50 PM
janet said...
FABULOUS vest! The closures are TDF!! The outcome is PERFECT!!!
12/31/10 8:10 PM
SewWil said...
Great job! I love the fabric. The buttons add a great touch. Looks great on you. Thanks for the review. Fun to read.
12/31/10 7:39 PM
marjenann said...
Truly, this is a designer piece!! The fabric, the buttons, the lining!! Breathtaking!!! You keep raising the bar!!!
12/31/10 6:40 PM
Kayseri said...
I love this vest, it looks warm and practical with a classy edge. You've turned a project with many disapointments into a winner.
12/31/10 6:03 PM
Catbird said...
That is a fantastic vest to take you through the deep cold in style! I can picture it with a bulky black fisherman's sweater, sleek ski pants and cute little aprés-ski boots...in the lodge by the fire with a cup of hot chocolate. You're probably going to send the paramedics to my house now to make sure I haven't finally gone off the deep end....:-)) I LOVE that stitching that you did to finish the edges and love how the buttons complement the whole thing perfectly!
12/31/10 4:40 PM
Christas said...
This looks so nice on you. I really love those buttons. The outer fabric, lining, and buttons go together PERFECTLY, but would we expect any less from YOU??!! And...... you look beautiful in inferior make-up!
12/31/10 4:03 PM
BillieJean said...
Really, really pretty!!!
12/31/10 3:57 PM
Karendee said...
My goodness, I turn my back for a second and this amazing creation is made. This vest is TDF and your knowledge on how to change, create, and design clothing is outstanding. Then not to mention the clever little stitching here and there, as well as no side seams on plaid. With the heft of this fabric, I can see that a vest would be more flattering than a jacket with sleeves. This is really a great look garment and your makeshift makeup is lovely.
12/31/10 3:32 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
I know, I know... I've told ya a zillion times already :-O... You're a HOOT, Annette!! AND a marvelous designer!! ;) Keep warm, eh!
12/31/10 3:20 PM
Bonnie K said...
The phrase comes to mind.... "making a silk purse out of a sow's ear" Great save. Love the humor in your review.
12/31/10 3:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 2584

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
Sure-Fit Designs Children\'s Kit

photo
by: sew4grands

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now