Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Classic Dog Collar (Classic Dog Collar) - Type:Pets    printable version
Viewed 176 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:khurtdvm
photo
About khurtdvmstarstar
Member since: 8/6/04
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 129
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/11 11:08 PM
Last Updated:3/16/11 10:40 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SandiMacD said...
I make lots of seasonal collars. Have been using 1" poly and covered it 1" ribbon sewn down each side. I use hardware from the previous collar. Have thought lately about trying to make with fabric. Is it strong enough to withstand strong pulls on a leash? Does the fabric loose strength over time? Is it doubled or tripled or just one layer? Looks like it would be softer and not as scratchy as the poly webbing.
1/16/11 1:02 AM
AnitaJ said...
Very nice! This sounds easier to work with than webbing and opens up so many print possibilities by using cotton fabrics. Seems like it might be more comfortable for the pooch too. :)
1/16/11 3:47 AM
Terri A said...
I really like this. My dog could use several!
1/16/11 4:46 AM
wildberrymom said...
You are expanding my sewing horizons to include my dog--nicely done.
1/16/11 1:13 PM
khurtdvm said...
This uses heavy weight interfacing, and it is effectively quadrupled. You cut the fabric/interfacing 4x the width that you want the finished product, then fold and press in half, then open up and fold/press each side in half to meet in the middle. Ends up looking like really thick double-fold bias tape. My dog doesn't pull really hard on the leash, but I think this is strong enough to withstand hard pulls.
1/16/11 3:44 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very nice. I love that website. They have great hardware, everything I need for my dogs, from my 4 1/4 pound chihuahua all the way up to my 90 pound mixed breed and the basenjis in between.
1/16/11 4:28 PM
treefrog said...
Fantastic! You've done a great job and I like the idea of having cloth rather than nylon for the straps. I think my dog is giving me subtle hints that he would like one!
1/16/11 7:30 PM
SandiMacD said...
Thanks for the details on fabric/interfacing. Did you go with a regular cotton woven and sew-in interfacing? I am also thinking of denim or duck but may be too stretchy?
1/21/11 7:51 AM
khurtdvm said...
This was a regular woven cotton print and a fusible interfacing. Duck cloth may be too bulky (it gets folded four times), although if you have a "tough" enough machine, it might be all right.
1/21/11 10:23 PM
jannw said...
How cute..what lucky dogs..so classy!!
3/16/11 2:10 PM
treefrog said...
Love the fabric. I can see why your fiend liked the Beatles versions
3/16/11 7:50 PM
craftygamma said...
Thanks for the review. It really set my creative wheels turning! I can see several future dog collars, for gifts and possibly to sell. Could be a pet shelter fund raiser. The possibilities are endless.
3/17/11 8:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 2406 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by dianconia on 3/13/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )
Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1816
photo
Review by Linda0902 on 9/23/13
Read Review

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6643 Pattern
New Look 6643 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us