SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Other> Classic Dog Collar (Classic Dog Collar)

1 more reviews
Viewed 176 times 
Reviewed by:khurtdvm
photo

 
 
About khurtdvmstarstar
Member since: 8/6/04
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/11 11:08 PM
Last Updated:3/16/11 10:40 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SandiMacD said...
I make lots of seasonal collars. Have been using 1" poly and covered it 1" ribbon sewn down each side. I use hardware from the previous collar. Have thought lately about trying to make with fabric. Is it strong enough to withstand strong pulls on a leash? Does the fabric loose strength over time? Is it doubled or tripled or just one layer? Looks like it would be softer and not as scratchy as the poly webbing.
1/16/11 1:02 AM
AnitaJ said...
Very nice! This sounds easier to work with than webbing and opens up so many print possibilities by using cotton fabrics. Seems like it might be more comfortable for the pooch too. :)
1/16/11 3:47 AM
Terri A said...
I really like this. My dog could use several!
1/16/11 4:46 AM
wildberrymom said...
You are expanding my sewing horizons to include my dog--nicely done.
1/16/11 1:13 PM
khurtdvm said...
This uses heavy weight interfacing, and it is effectively quadrupled. You cut the fabric/interfacing 4x the width that you want the finished product, then fold and press in half, then open up and fold/press each side in half to meet in the middle. Ends up looking like really thick double-fold bias tape. My dog doesn't pull really hard on the leash, but I think this is strong enough to withstand hard pulls.
1/16/11 3:44 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very nice. I love that website. They have great hardware, everything I need for my dogs, from my 4 1/4 pound chihuahua all the way up to my 90 pound mixed breed and the basenjis in between.
1/16/11 4:28 PM
treefrog said...
Fantastic! You've done a great job and I like the idea of having cloth rather than nylon for the straps. I think my dog is giving me subtle hints that he would like one!
1/16/11 7:30 PM
SandiMacD said...
Thanks for the details on fabric/interfacing. Did you go with a regular cotton woven and sew-in interfacing? I am also thinking of denim or duck but may be too stretchy?
1/21/11 7:51 AM
khurtdvm said...
This was a regular woven cotton print and a fusible interfacing. Duck cloth may be too bulky (it gets folded four times), although if you have a "tough" enough machine, it might be all right.
1/21/11 10:23 PM
jannw said...
How cute..what lucky dogs..so classy!!
3/16/11 2:10 PM
treefrog said...
Love the fabric. I can see why your fiend liked the Beatles versions
3/16/11 7:50 PM
craftygamma said...
Thanks for the review. It really set my creative wheels turning! I can see several future dog collars, for gifts and possibly to sell. Could be a pet shelter fund raiser. The possibilities are endless.
3/17/11 8:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Suitability 4188

photo
by: Jupiter, F...

Review
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now