SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Classic Dog Collar (Classic Dog Collar)

1 more reviews
Viewed 176 times 
Reviewed by:khurtdvm
photo

 
 
About khurtdvmstarstar
Member since: 8/6/04
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/11 11:08 PM
Last Updated:3/16/11 10:40 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
craftygamma said...
Thanks for the review. It really set my creative wheels turning! I can see several future dog collars, for gifts and possibly to sell. Could be a pet shelter fund raiser. The possibilities are endless.
3/17/11 8:50 AM
treefrog said...
Love the fabric. I can see why your fiend liked the Beatles versions
3/16/11 7:50 PM
jannw said...
How cute..what lucky dogs..so classy!!
3/16/11 2:10 PM
khurtdvm said...
This was a regular woven cotton print and a fusible interfacing. Duck cloth may be too bulky (it gets folded four times), although if you have a "tough" enough machine, it might be all right.
1/21/11 10:23 PM
SandiMacD said...
Thanks for the details on fabric/interfacing. Did you go with a regular cotton woven and sew-in interfacing? I am also thinking of denim or duck but may be too stretchy?
1/21/11 7:51 AM
treefrog said...
Fantastic! You've done a great job and I like the idea of having cloth rather than nylon for the straps. I think my dog is giving me subtle hints that he would like one!
1/16/11 7:30 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very nice. I love that website. They have great hardware, everything I need for my dogs, from my 4 1/4 pound chihuahua all the way up to my 90 pound mixed breed and the basenjis in between.
1/16/11 4:28 PM
khurtdvm said...
This uses heavy weight interfacing, and it is effectively quadrupled. You cut the fabric/interfacing 4x the width that you want the finished product, then fold and press in half, then open up and fold/press each side in half to meet in the middle. Ends up looking like really thick double-fold bias tape. My dog doesn't pull really hard on the leash, but I think this is strong enough to withstand hard pulls.
1/16/11 3:44 PM
wildberrymom said...
You are expanding my sewing horizons to include my dog--nicely done.
1/16/11 1:13 PM
Terri A said...
I really like this. My dog could use several!
1/16/11 4:46 AM
AnitaJ said...
Very nice! This sounds easier to work with than webbing and opens up so many print possibilities by using cotton fabrics. Seems like it might be more comfortable for the pooch too. :)
1/16/11 3:47 AM
SandiMacD said...
I make lots of seasonal collars. Have been using 1" poly and covered it 1" ribbon sewn down each side. I use hardware from the previous collar. Have thought lately about trying to make with fabric. Is it strong enough to withstand strong pulls on a leash? Does the fabric loose strength over time? Is it doubled or tripled or just one layer? Looks like it would be softer and not as scratchy as the poly webbing.
1/16/11 1:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Self Drafted Pattern Grey Lady Dress

photo
by: julliams

Review
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Other Lena Merrin Patterns

photo
by: velosewer

Review