SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8600 (MISSES' JACKET)

7 more reviews
Viewed 706 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 204 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/11 9:22 PM


Review Rating: by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahler said...
ohhh geezy, I am so late in commenting. I read your review, looked at the pictures and never told you how beautiful your jacket is. Very art full and unique. I love red on you. Well what isn't beautiful. You look radiant and I love your hair.
2/14/11 10:22 AM
magoe6217 said...
Annette, I love your jacket in this fabric. The collar falls softly and frames your face beautifully. I would have thought that velveteen would be too bulky, but it is perfect. You have a beautiful jacket. Enjoy. I agree with the others that your jacket is so much more appealing than the ones shown on the pattern envelope.
1/16/11 10:22 AM
Margaret said...
Amazing jacket, looks GREAT on you! I like how it looks with the buttons moved over a bit, and in a drapier fabric than on the cover. I had the EXACT same problem with the pleats fighting each other, and couldn't quite fix it either -- I guess the pleat direction has to be changed earlier in the process. Oh, I love your buttons, too!
1/6/11 6:45 AM
knitmachinequeen said...
Fantastic jacket. I am just the opposite of you. I ALWAYS read the directions. I may not necessarily follow them but I always read them and have them in front of me when constructing a garment.
1/6/11 4:45 AM
callmeRuth said...
Absolutely beautiful. Just gorgeous.
1/6/11 3:37 AM
no7262 said...
VERY nice! Annette! Nora:)
1/5/11 10:41 AM
Catbird said...
This instantly gave me a feeling of old Bohemian London. I think the looser fit contributes to that slouchy old elegance that I really like, and the velveteen makes it so sumptuous. I would NEVER have pictured this outcome from the photos on that pattern envelope (which do the pattern no favors!!). YOU should be on the envelope. I agree that a slimmer fit with that generous collar would be beautiful, but it would be a totally different effect. I have a feeling that Marcy would like your jacket very much!
1/4/11 8:05 PM
Fran S said...
Annette, thanks for the great review. Your jacket is lovely. I have this pattern but haven't made it up yet. Hopefully, it will be soon. Thinking about the jacket contest -- do I need that stress?? We'll see.
1/4/11 7:31 PM
JillyBe said...
Gorgeous result! & it's a Marcy - no wonder I was drawn to it! And thank you for that button supplier link - she looks like a keeper!
1/4/11 6:45 PM
JETrinity said...
I love Marci's patterns. Your jacket is done very nicely. I don't think I have ever came across 33" fabric. Great job. Sewing on velveteen is not the easiest but you did an outstanding job.
1/4/11 5:34 PM
DorothyK said...
Fabulous jacket. The fabric may have been difficult, but it paid off in the end. Thanks for the tip on the buttons. Great review!
1/4/11 11:48 AM
Karendee said...
Dear Queenie, when I grow up I'd love to sew like you. This is just another in the line of your beautifully designed jackets, and it is a winner. The velveteen fabric is so lovely and the style is just gorgeous on you. You can arrange and wear a jacket neckline like no one else. I think back on your white linen and all other jackets worn with real style, and this jacket ranks among the very bests. Your workmanship and knowledge is amazing and your willingness to share is appreciated.
1/4/11 11:42 AM
sfshaza said...
Wow, that is gorgeous!!! I love love the collar, the fabric, the buttons, the silhouette.
1/4/11 10:31 AM
eugenia123 said...
Another fabulous jacket! I love the collar and that beautiful lush fabric and your choice of buttons is perfect.
1/4/11 10:02 AM
Andreahg said...
Beautiful jacket! That collar is very flattering for you.
1/4/11 8:58 AM
Kim12469 said...
Gorgeous! You make such amazing clothes!
1/4/11 8:04 AM
carolynw said...
I Love the fabric - the jacket is gorgeous with that collar and good for you sticking with this to the end - excellent job Annette - another winner for your closet - like Christas I went by thispattern but now who knows - you have certainly shown the possibilities. Love your hair!!
1/4/11 8:02 AM
marjenann said...
OMG!!! This jacket is amazing (as always)!! And this review is top notch! I love the styling on this jacket and may attempt it in the spring! Thanks for sharing!!!
1/4/11 8:01 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Wow your jacket is gorgeous! I hate the picture on the envelope. Vogue needs to have you advising them on showing off their patterns.
1/4/11 7:58 AM
Tarrbaby said...
Oh, Oh, Oh, it is stunning! Love the fabric, color and it is so truly becoming. A beautiful addition to any wardrobe.
1/4/11 7:48 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Lovely, Annette. Gorgeous fabric and very flattering.
1/4/11 6:42 AM
Rebecca D said...
Another lovely project.
1/4/11 6:39 AM
rivergum said...
Fabulous jacket! I just love that collar and it looks great on you.
1/4/11 4:19 AM
Barbara V said...
What? Another review??!!?? You must be sewing your gorgeous clothes with one hand and typing your wonderfully informative reviews with the other! Now this is a gorgeous jacket. The fabric is luscious and style oh so nice. Thanks for sharing your button source. I am going to check it out.
1/4/11 0:57 AM
janet said...
This is definitely one HOT little number! The portrait collar and ANNETTE1 ROCKS!!!
1/4/11 0:51 AM
1SewSweet said...
I agree with everyone here ... You rock when it comes to jackets! This is very elegant and fits you very well. Absolutely love the color!
1/4/11 0:12 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Annette-with-4-****s, this pattern is listed as "Easy"!! Ya otta send this Review to Vogue ;-0 !! Good save and persistance!!
1/4/11 0:08 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Annette this jacket is so amazing. You ought to send your photo to Vogue theirs doesn't do this pattern justice like yours would.
1/3/11 11:35 PM
Heatherrique said...
Spectacular! You are just so adorable and elegantly chic! This jacket is work of art. It's good to see you sewing more. As always your reviews are a joy to read!
1/3/11 10:52 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! This is a stunning jacket: The style, the fabric, the buttons, EVERYTHING about it is great. Just goes to show that an "ordinary" looking pattern can become extraordinary in the right hands. Thanks for the tip about your button supplier.
1/3/11 10:45 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! A really amazing and unique garment. The fabric is gorgeous. And thanks for the link to your button supplier.
1/3/11 10:44 PM
Terri A said...
Another jacket? You are quite the productive sewist! The fabric looks soft - but hard to sew, especially in a short width! Nice work and again great buttons:-)
1/3/11 9:55 PM
Christas said...
Annette, that is one very stunningly GORGEOUS jacket! WOWZA! I love it. I am also drooling over those buttons. They are so unique and pretty. This pattern didn't appeal to me as pictured on the pattern envelope, but you have taken it to a completely different (and more stylish) level with your amazing fabric choice & sewing ability. You forever reign as the "Jacket Queen"!!! :-)
1/3/11 9:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2011-30

photo
by: 21wale

Review
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

More Info