SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> 000000 (Jailbird top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 133 times 
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo

 
 
About rivergumstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:1/6/11 3:51 AM
Last Updated:1/6/11 5:22 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A fabulously snazzy top. Please don't send it up in flames.
1/6/11 4:51 AM
na1212 said...
Very cool way to start off the year!
1/6/11 6:34 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love the stripes! Looks like a fun top to wear.
1/6/11 10:30 AM
nicegirl said...
I really like the sleeves--the way the armscye is shaped is really interesting. But I can see it would be a pain to wear! Nice job on the stripes! I think dryers are uncommon in Aus, but if you have access to one you might also turn the shirt inside out and place in a lingerie bag and tumble dry to heat set.
1/6/11 10:44 AM
DorothyK said...
The entire project is fabulous, from the pattern to the fabric. I love the way it looks on you. Congratulations on a job well done.
1/6/11 11:06 AM
Kayseri said...
What a fabulous tunic. If your fabric can take it another way to heat set your ink is to put the garment in the dryer for 15mins on its highest temperature. I shared house with someone screen printing at home and our dryer was going for days in the lead up to Xmas:).
1/6/11 1:59 PM
Schnauzer said...
Your top looks great. Well done!
1/6/11 4:15 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
I love the effect you have acheived on this top! Did you tape the fabric down to keep it from moving? What type of ink did you use? I look forward to your next masterpiece!
1/6/11 7:01 PM
rivergum said...
Leslie, i covered my kitchen table with newspaper and laid the cut pieces out on that. I then carefully stuck on the masking tape to create the stripes, sticking the ends to the paper. That held everything steady enough for the foam roller. I used Derivan screen printing ink, but i believe Permaset is the best ink and I plan to get some. I also have fixed the ink now, using the dryer and then the oven for good measure. The oven did not damage the fabric and it makes me feel safer than the dryer because I know what the temp is.
1/6/11 9:11 PM
CallMeSu said...
Sharp! Great work!
1/7/11 1:37 AM
annie1129 said...
Love it!!
1/13/11 6:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Megan Nielsen MN2102

photo
by: punkmik

Review
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Buy Now
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now