Online Sewing Class: Create a Jacket Muslin
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5718 (Funnel Neck Coat)

4 more reviews
Viewed 307 times 
Reviewed by:desertana
photo

 
 
About desertana
GERMANY
Member since: 4/9/08
Reviews: 11 (patterns: 11)
Skill level:Intermediate
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/11 10:03 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
jillnjosh said... (11/22/11 1:04 AM) Reply
Thank you. Did you originally interface the sections that called for interfacing? I was just wondering if you had double layers of interfacing in those sections, or if you had skipped the interfacing originally. I saw that the back section doesn't call for interfacing, so I'm trying to figure out if I should add it to mine (fleece). I'm using (silk) organza as interfacing on mine.
desertana said... (11/3/11 4:08 AM) Reply
Jillnjosh- I used a midweight fleece with relatively little stretch to it. By the time I was done, I had interfaced all exterior sections. Had I used a wool coating, I believe it would have saved me a significant amount of sewing agony.
jillnjosh said... (10/30/11 1:29 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review. Do you happen to know what weight of fleece you were using, by chance? For those looking for the picture, it is here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/anas_sewingbasket/5332578264/in/photostream
Baba Yaga said... (1/7/11 4:55 PM) Reply
Is it appropriate to compliment you on your saintly disposition? If I had had the experiences you describe with this pattern, I would be WAY crankier than you are!
rivergum said... (1/7/11 3:02 PM) Reply
That looks so warm and cosy. Great job!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

New Look 6516

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Simplicity 1623

photo
by: lmshull

Review