SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8469 (MISSES' DRESS)

33 more reviews
Viewed 594 times 
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo

 
 
About rivergumstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 129
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 52 people
patterns reviewed: 124
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/11 8:20 PM
Last Updated:1/12/11 4:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Belladogna said...
I love it as a maxi and I love how it looks on you!
5/27/12 3:14 AM
KathleenS said...
Tricky. I know I would be agonising over this decision. Of the shorter ones, I prefer the calf length. Maybe keep track of how much/if you wear the maxi for the rest of the summer and if you don't, then shorten it for next summer? Lovely fabric.
1/14/11 6:01 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress. The fabric is beautiful and perfect for this style. I like the maxi. It looks great on you.
1/13/11 0:28 AM
LorrieAnn said...
The dress is beautiful - fabric is lovely, and it fits you nicely. If you already have lots of work dresses, save this just the way it is for summer. I think you will wear it quite often - very pretty.
1/12/11 10:21 PM
Karen8320 said...
Lovely work, Frantic! I say 'go the maxi'. I love the long and floaty look and I think you look particularly elegant in the maxi look.
1/12/11 8:51 PM
kkkkaty said...
I vote for the maxi, as well. The shortest version is least flattering. Very pretty fabric!
1/12/11 5:59 PM
waltzqueen said...
I vote for calf length which has the best proportions. Lovely lovely dress.
1/11/11 6:16 PM
Izzie said...
I vote Maxi too! It is a beautiful dress!
1/11/11 1:34 PM
BHarmony said...
Please let it as a maxi--it would make a fabulous hostess gown, and the fabric is so lovely!
1/11/11 11:47 AM
BillieJean said...
I love the maxi but I like the calf length too and I think at the calf length you could do without the belt, which I like best. Beautiful dress.
1/11/11 7:18 AM
Vonnevo said...
Love your beautiful dress either length. The longer length works nicely for cafe dining with strappy sandals on warm days. Maybe see what the *magic closet* tells you next summer :)
1/11/11 3:03 AM
Natasha B said...
Such pretty fabric, the dress looks lovely. I would leave it maxi and enjoy the "specialness".
1/11/11 0:23 AM
Annette1 said...
This is SO pretty in this lovely floral, WITH the silk lining, no less. I would absolutely leave it maxi for a while at least. Then, like you said, if you decide to cut it, go for the mid-calf length. You can always go shorter later! I like it just the way it is. :o)
1/10/11 11:40 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a lovely dress. Another vote for calf length, here.
1/10/11 11:38 PM
brrmm said...
I REALLY like the shorter knee length myself as it looks like a pretty summer dress that way. Great work.
1/10/11 9:25 PM
FreyaStark said...
I think it looks fabulous as is - maxi length with no sash or belt. Even if you think you don't need a maxi dress, if you keep it, you'll find occasions to wear it. If you must shorten it, I agree with jmosew that mid-calf length looks better than the shorter version and fine without a belt.
1/10/11 9:09 PM
jmosew said...
I've never ever commented before, but had to tell you that the fabric and the dress look lovely. I like the calf-length pinned picture, it looks more proportional to the fullness of the skirt to me than the shorter one does.
1/10/11 9:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-106

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
brerrabbit.com 5919

photo
by: awesomepot...

Review
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

More Info