SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2842 (Wedding Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 909 times 
Reviewed by:lnwmelon
photo

 
 
About lnwmelonstar
UT USA
Member since: 8/14/09
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/11 5:09 PM
Last Updated:1/15/11 5:18 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lnwmelon said...
I have just added pictures that I was able to take of the dress last week while visiting my daughter in her new home. I added a link in the review, above.
8/3/11 11:55 AM
josjhat said...
I LOVE IT!!! I think you are amazing. I brag about you doing this to all my friends :)
1/16/11 9:46 PM
AuntieShel said...
Absolutely beautiful bride and lovely dress!!
1/16/11 7:50 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Such a wonderful thing to do - to make a wedding dress in a week! She looks just gorgeous!
1/16/11 6:49 PM
rozzybabe said...
I made this dress as well for a bridal fashion show, although using the entire Vogue patterrn. I've sewn for many years & could not figure out the hem area at the godet either, even after speaking to Vogue tech. help on the phone! You're conclusion's correct, it's to make it look somewhat three dimensional, but is not a significant area if not completed as they instructed. Fabulous job!!
1/16/11 1:24 PM
lnwmelon said...
Thank you, she really is beautiful, and the wedding was very sweet. I'm sorry I didn't get more pictures while I was working on the dress. My focus was on just getting it done, so I only got out the camera once, and those pictures have her with curlers in her hair--not something she wants posted online. Sorry! When we get the photos from the photographer, maybe there will be some good shots of the dress, and if so I'll post those. She has been very appreciative. I had her talked into wearing her older sister's wedding dress, but when it came right down to it, she wanted her own, so we made this in less than a week. It was a good experience for both of us. As for the boning, that was actually a suggestion from a woman we met in the fabric store when we were making our plans to combine two patterns. She introduced herself as a professional wedding dress maker, and was very helpful in answering our questions. Meeting her was an answer to prayer! She's the one who suggested putting boning in the bodice, and she was right.
1/16/11 10:06 AM
Terri A said...
Beautiful bride:-) Great you could do this - she will always remember the love you put into it.
1/16/11 4:34 AM
KathleenS said...
It looks lovely from here. Well done on overcoming the challenges (and meeting the deadline!) Any chance of a bigger picture - or more pictures?
1/15/11 7:03 PM
margk said...
I'm so impressed at you taking on such a project and all your working around of little problems or things you were unsure of. She looks Beautiful! Well done!
1/15/11 5:54 PM
EleanorSews said...
What a lovely bride! You did just fine. It looks like a very nice fit and the gown turned out beautifully. The thought to use boning in a more covered bodice is one to remember. It probably did both ~ added support to the skirt and helped maintain the shape. It really makes sense.
1/15/11 5:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6553

photo
by: WhiteMouse

Review
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now