Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2842 (Wedding Dress) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 854 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:lnwmelon
photo
About lnwmelonstar
UT USA
Member since: 8/14/09
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/11 5:09 PM
Last Updated:1/15/11 5:18 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
What a lovely bride! You did just fine. It looks like a very nice fit and the gown turned out beautifully. The thought to use boning in a more covered bodice is one to remember. It probably did both ~ added support to the skirt and helped maintain the shape. It really makes sense.
1/15/11 5:42 PM
margk said...
I'm so impressed at you taking on such a project and all your working around of little problems or things you were unsure of. She looks Beautiful! Well done!
1/15/11 5:54 PM
KathleenS said...
It looks lovely from here. Well done on overcoming the challenges (and meeting the deadline!) Any chance of a bigger picture - or more pictures?
1/15/11 7:03 PM
Terri A said...
Beautiful bride:-) Great you could do this - she will always remember the love you put into it.
1/16/11 4:34 AM
lnwmelon said...
Thank you, she really is beautiful, and the wedding was very sweet. I'm sorry I didn't get more pictures while I was working on the dress. My focus was on just getting it done, so I only got out the camera once, and those pictures have her with curlers in her hair--not something she wants posted online. Sorry! When we get the photos from the photographer, maybe there will be some good shots of the dress, and if so I'll post those. She has been very appreciative. I had her talked into wearing her older sister's wedding dress, but when it came right down to it, she wanted her own, so we made this in less than a week. It was a good experience for both of us. As for the boning, that was actually a suggestion from a woman we met in the fabric store when we were making our plans to combine two patterns. She introduced herself as a professional wedding dress maker, and was very helpful in answering our questions. Meeting her was an answer to prayer! She's the one who suggested putting boning in the bodice, and she was right.
1/16/11 10:06 AM
rozzybabe said...
I made this dress as well for a bridal fashion show, although using the entire Vogue patterrn. I've sewn for many years & could not figure out the hem area at the godet either, even after speaking to Vogue tech. help on the phone! You're conclusion's correct, it's to make it look somewhat three dimensional, but is not a significant area if not completed as they instructed. Fabulous job!!
1/16/11 1:24 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Such a wonderful thing to do - to make a wedding dress in a week! She looks just gorgeous!
1/16/11 6:49 PM
AuntieShel said...
Absolutely beautiful bride and lovely dress!!
1/16/11 7:50 PM
josjhat said...
I LOVE IT!!! I think you are amazing. I brag about you doing this to all my friends :)
1/16/11 9:46 PM
lnwmelon said...
I have just added pictures that I was able to take of the dress last week while visiting my daughter in her new home. I added a link in the review, above.
8/3/11 11:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 9466 top and skirt
photo
Review by arianamani... on 6/13/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Amy Butler AB021WT
photo
Review by Mary Nanna on 5/27/10
Read Review

10 inch Professional Shears
10 inch Professional Shears

Details
Price: $69.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1686 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1686 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5019 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 5019 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us