SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2466 (coat and purse)

Viewed 684 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/11 11:08 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 23 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen Easter said...
Wow, Annette! What a great review! It really looks warm... it makes me FEEL warm just looking at it! And I love the felting that you did on the collar. It's really lovely, and interesting, too! I have the same problem with the coat closet, by the way. ; )
1/18/11 0:24 AM
Terri A said...
Love the contrast in cinnamon, the buttons and just about everything! Beautiful!
1/18/11 2:02 AM
Sigrid. said...
How very, very special. It's gorgeous. Never paid much attention to felting and didn't know you had machines to do it. Looking forward to what you will do with it. This collar is amazing already.
1/18/11 2:53 AM
Margaret said...
Wonderful coat! I love the color combination and the felting -- great idea using the lint from the contrast fabric, perfect match :) Love the buttons and the sleeve gussets. Looks great on you!
1/18/11 4:23 AM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! The colours are superb, and your workmanship is impeccable. (I know what you mean about the bulging closet - it's the down side of all this sewing we do.)
1/18/11 5:35 AM
Fran G said...
Fabulous coat...Fabulous review...Fabulous YOU!
1/18/11 6:26 AM
Peggy L said...
WOW!! I love this - and especially the collar. Perfect!
1/18/11 6:28 AM
BillieJean said...
This is absolutely gorgeous and I love the collar. How clever of you to use the dryer fluff to make it. I love your reviews.
1/18/11 7:08 AM
sing201 said...
A very classy coat. I love the buttons and the collar. Looks like a very warm coat.
1/18/11 7:24 AM
MNBarb said...
I'm missing the designers from this era. You have made a very lovely coat. The fabric is so yummy. I love the contrast collar and your choice of buttons. Well, everything is just perfect.
1/18/11 7:37 AM
Catbird said...
Hmmmmm... I guess somebody didn't want to take the TRIPOD out of the closet, eh...? ;-) I love this coat! Long wool winter coats are not usually so beautiful, but all your designer touches have turned this into a treasure. Choosing to make it a stand-up collar with the gorgeous felted wool was such a great idea. It pulls everything together and works so well with the contrast facings and topstitching and the buttons. Wonderful work all around. I LOVE how the collar frames your face. So beautiful!!
1/18/11 8:11 AM
carolynw said...
This is gorgeous - your work is always, always top notch and this is definitely no exception. You'll be warm as toast in this beauty.
1/18/11 8:41 AM
marthamyers said...
Great coat, Annette! And how clever you are to use dryer lint for felting. I've always wondered if there wasn't something to use dryer lint for and now I know. Your work is lovely to see. I love the detail pictures of the gussets, darts and pockets. Great work! Thanks for the review.
1/18/11 8:51 AM
marthamyers said...
PS - love your new profile picture too :)
1/18/11 8:52 AM
Rhoda K said...
Such a beautiful coat and a thorough review! Looks so good on you. I've never heard of the term ''fulling'' though.
1/18/11 9:39 AM
Nan Kay said...
Dryer lint can live again!!!! You are so creative and your coat is wonderful, really good review too.
1/18/11 9:51 AM
Diane333 said...
Wow, you made a beautiful coat and I love all your detailed pictures along with a thorough review.
1/18/11 10:03 AM
Barbara V said...
Annette, Right away I zoomed in on the collar band and come to find out you created it using LINT! What creativity! And what a special Fairy Godmother you have! Your coat is gorgeous, looks very warm and the fit is right on. Love the buttons too!
1/18/11 10:52 AM
SewWil said...
GORGEOUS coat!!! I kept saying WOW as I read your review and looked at your pictures. Great job. Very creative with the "lint" collar.
1/18/11 11:28 AM
callmeRuth said...
I love reading your reviews. The design details in this coat are wonderful...I am amazed at your workmanship. The coat is fabulous.
1/18/11 11:33 AM
callmeRuth said...
Oh, and I'm looking forward to seeing your next 11 coats you sew for the Jacket-a-Month Sewalong.
1/18/11 11:36 AM
Riesie said...
Gorgeous! And it looks warm enough even for Nebraska. But the real question is --wool roving from Ritz Camera? Ritz Camera? Really?????? I just can't wrap my head around that, LOL!
1/18/11 11:46 AM
Christas said...
Oh, WOW!!! Your new coat is very lovely. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your new felting for the contrasting fabric!!! And..... now that I have seen your underarm gussets.... welp, you are a PRO. I have so much trouble with those, and yours look absolutely PERFECTIMUNGO - sew impressive! I cannot wait to see what else you do with the new addition to the sewing goodies. I have a feeling that designer embellishments are going to be on many of your garments - and if your garments weren't ALREADY so designer looking anyway!!! The buttons are so wonderful too. This is truly another amazing garment! Can you do my gussets for me?! :-)
1/18/11 12:41 PM
Karendee said...
What more can I say? The wonderful comments here reflect my thoughts exactly---your coat is so special and so are you! Your work, skill, creativity, design sense all are just worthy of "The Jacket Queen." The lining is so very warm and lush, the color combos perfect, and the wool felting/fulling is so very clever and lacks that "Craft Corner" look that most serious sewists dislike. Seeing your work and learning from you is a special treat; to call you a wonderful friend is even better!!!
1/18/11 12:54 PM
lesliez said...
Beautiful! I love how you personalized this coat from the fulling of the fabric right down to the choice of buttons. It looks great on you.
1/18/11 1:17 PM
Kayseri said...
This is terrific. You've incorporated a number of subtle elements that add up to a very special coat.
1/18/11 2:55 PM
rivergum said...
Wow! Now that's a coat after my own heart, to keep you warm from head to toe. Very impressive technically too. I wish I had your skills.
1/18/11 2:57 PM
rivergum said...
Wow! Now that's a coat after my own heart, to keep you warm from head to toe. Very impressive technically too. I wish I had your skills.
1/18/11 2:57 PM
sfshaza said...
LOLOLOL. OK, the most shocking thing I read here is that you can buy roving from Ritz Camera?!?!? Really? Do they also sell... say... orthotics?! Well, I'm glad I enabled you with the needle felting for several reasons. First, it's just fun. Second, I am incorporating your collar idea into my current jacket. Third, I got myself one of those Janome Felting Machines because of YOU. So what goes round, comes round, I guess. I am so glad to see the pics of you *wearing* the coat. GORGEOUS. I just love your reviews, girl! Signed, Your Fan, Shams. :D
1/18/11 3:13 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
VERY nice coat! Love the fabric, the color, the buttons, the collar...and warm is good too! Great job!
1/18/11 3:48 PM
janet said...
I LOVE your FABULOUS new coat! SEW MUCH BETTER than a down coat!! I might have to follow your lead... You look positively GLAMOROUS!!!
1/18/11 7:13 PM
Kellie R. said...
I love your coat!!!!!! There are so many fantastic details and I have to agree with others that the collar is FAB!
1/18/11 10:37 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Fabulous coat and now I sit here sewing nothing wanting a felting machine. I never understood what the fuss about a machine was that didn't use thread until NOW. I just loved the whole review as always.
1/19/11 8:56 AM
Sweetiebop said...
This is tres chic. I love the contrast of the buttons and the collar.
1/19/11 1:57 PM
RoseFromThule said...
I didn't even know that felting machines existed ! The result on the collar is very clever and very well done - plus it looks like chocolate, mmmmhh ...
1/19/11 6:17 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Absolutely FABULOUS! I can't decide whether I love most the felted collar, the great pockets-in-darts, the incredible buttons, or just the simple lines and totally Jackie O look :-). That flannel-backed lining is precious, really cuts whatever wind manages to get through. I don't know about aging it so much, but I bet you get more of it soon :-). You look warm and cozy, as well as gorgeous, and that's an excellent thing in a coat. Closets be damned..
1/20/11 5:05 AM
Grammy Gin said...
It's gorgeous! You look stunning in it. The collar, buttons, are great! How nice it must be to have a fairy godmother. You deserve one Annette! Can't wait to see all your coats, jackets, etc.
1/22/11 11:53 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, Annette! You are lookin' mighty cozy and enchantingly chic in your new coat! You seemed to have lots of fun with your new felting machine. Lucky you! Thanks for sharing the fab details.
1/23/11 9:19 PM
1SewSweet said...
This is an awesome coat Annette! Very, very professional work!
1/31/11 5:16 AM
JETrinity said...
Wow, what you have done is a show stopper. What a wonderful friend to give you a felting machine. The collar looks great with the buttons and the main body of the coat.
2/3/11 1:41 PM
JETrinity said...
Got behind in reading my pattern reviews but I do read them all. So glad I read this one.
2/3/11 1:41 PM
Ann Smith said...
Wow! I missed this review in January. Love what you have done with the fulling and felting. You inspire.
2/12/11 12:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I just read about your coat on a blog post, came here to see the review I missed. Great coat. Love the felting on the collar.
2/13/11 11:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Colette Patterns Madeleine

photo
by: myraminx

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now