Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Du Barry: 2349B (Men's dress shirt from 1939) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 358 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/11 1:36 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
Peter you may not care for the detachable collar, but I do and it looks wonderful on you! I really like the option of both styles. Nora :)
1/18/11 1:56 PM
mendospot said...
I love the detachable collar.
1/18/11 1:56 PM
dfr2010 said...
Once again I am glad your decided to make the detachable collar! Your blog posts about it have been very educational for me.
1/18/11 2:01 PM
Elona said...
Handsome look, Peter! Good job.
1/18/11 2:32 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
VERY dapper and debonair, Sire ;)
1/18/11 3:21 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice shirt - the fit is so good.
1/18/11 3:49 PM
FreyaStark said...
A great shirt. Both collared and collarless versions look good on you.
1/18/11 4:49 PM
carolynw said...
Well Peter you sure look pleased with the result and so you should be - very, very dapper!!
1/18/11 5:28 PM
Maree P said...
Your shirt (fit and colour) looks great on you Peter. Very skilled sewing. The fit of this shirt is far better than contemporary patterns.
1/18/11 5:47 PM
becca a said...
What a fantastic shirt! I love it both with and without the collar. You look very dapper!
1/18/11 6:57 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Your work is beautiful! I think the detachable collar is clever. Thank you for showing!
1/18/11 8:51 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, all. Really appreciate the comments!
1/18/11 9:06 PM
pterion said...
A really fine-looking shirt. Love the detachable collar.
1/18/11 9:45 PM
SansSouci572 said...
well. Of course your shirt is wonderful. But, I also like your suspenders. I think wearing suspenders would make me giggle. Like your photos afterwards too--nice touch indeed, :)
1/19/11 1:02 AM
bikegrrl said...
Brilliant and detailed job - of both sewing and explaining the process! Great photos - thanks, really interesting!!!
1/19/11 2:01 AM
mm said...
Another great result.
1/19/11 3:34 AM
Margaret said...
Great looking shirt, with and without the collar. Nice fit!
1/19/11 5:03 AM
Diane333 said...
Love all your shirts and the "pipe" is a good look for you.
1/19/11 10:18 AM
cindyann said...
BRAVO! Nicely done.
1/19/11 1:45 PM
moushka said...
Very chic shirt, with superb fit. Love the collar detail. You skills amaze me.
1/19/11 5:47 PM
Kellie R. said...
Looks great Peter! I love that the collar detachable though, but I'm not the one who has to wear it! Love it!
1/21/11 9:38 PM
JETrinity said...
This is so great and a ten cent pattern back them. It looks so wonderful. Good for you starting a men's shirt making group.
2/17/11 7:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Butterick 5526 Misses' Shirt
photo
Review by Handshake on 1/22/14
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2327
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 10/4/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2454 Pattern( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2454 Pattern( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1425 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1425 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us