Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5466 thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1194 times 32 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:Anne Cherry
photo
Friend of PR
About Anne Cherrystar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/2/10
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/19/11 2:14 AM
Last Updated:7/29/11 10:27 AM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
Very pretty - and congratulations on your first PR review!
1/19/11 5:06 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Thanks FreyaStark - I really enjoyed making it...and wearing it's even better! Majorily reinforces all my reasons for getting back into sewing clothes again! Loving it! But not getting much else done! ;P
1/19/11 7:54 AM
Scheryka said...
This pattern is also my TNT. Your fabric IS quite fun. Very pretty colors.
1/19/11 8:30 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice skirt, love your fabric.
1/20/11 5:30 AM
JETrinity said...
Very nice job on sewing. Congratulations on your first review and look forward to more.
2/17/11 11:08 AM
Renren said...
These skirts are fabulous! I loved the zigzag/Missoni type one in the gallery window; then I opened the review and was just continually wowed with each new skirt! Fabulous and thanks for bringing the flat lining tip to my attention as well as the Threads DVDs!
3/27/11 3:30 AM
katlew03 said...
Very nice. Good basic pattern.
3/27/11 10:37 PM
Christas said...
WOW!!! Each version you have made of this pattern is absolutely WONDERFUL! You definitely have found your TNT skirt pattern. I would love each one of your skirts to be in MY closet! :-)
3/28/11 5:40 PM
sewtime said...
What a cute skirt, really love the design!!
3/28/11 9:39 PM
barebear said...
Wow! These skirts are great! My fav is (of course) the crazy fabric one you show above, but they're all lovely. Thanks for the excellent review!
3/28/11 11:46 PM
Terri A said...
All your skirts are fantastic!
3/29/11 2:55 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Thanks for all the encouragement! Really appreciate it! Now going to try underlining with silk organza for a loose woven b+w 'birds eye' wool version :-)
3/31/11 7:44 AM
cleverkitty said...
these all look wonderful, it's great to have pattern that works out so well.
4/8/11 9:02 PM
Sharonspils said...
Great skirts and you just have to have a TNT.
4/9/11 4:51 AM
marthamyers said...
Fabulous skirts! Love the lining in the dotted one.
4/9/11 8:41 AM
Lynnelle said...
Wonderful skirts! Very stylish.
6/20/11 1:34 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Gorgeous skirts Anne! I'm all for sewing the same pattern if you love to wear it. I certainly do.
7/29/11 9:32 AM
Sewiing Sue said...
There is a difference between apparel cotton and quilting cotton, but the latter shouldn't fade. (I'm trying to find the article on the techincal difference.) When washing before cutting, use a color grabber product. If you get quality quilting fabric, it shouldn't fade--where I live that would be about $10 a yard, given the recent price increases in cotton. Every skirt you made is lovely. Re the thickness of the flat-lined skirt, maybe using a 3/8 SA (industry width) would help. Great review!
7/29/11 10:01 AM
marymary86 said...
Nicely done! Great review and a great skirt. All I want is a small collection of TNT patterns. I love your philosophy!
7/29/11 10:48 AM
ArtAttack said...
Wow! I'm verklempt! What a fabulous wardrobe of skirts! I've never been much of a skirt kind of girl but you've convinced me to convert! Great review!
7/29/11 11:46 AM
marec said...
Great review and a nice collection of skirts. I love the fabrics chosen. Which of these are for the contest? I only see one made during the month-am I missing something?
7/29/11 12:30 PM
no7262 said...
I love them all! Nora :)
7/29/11 1:19 PM
JenniferBee said...
Great Skirts and fabric choices, love them all.
7/29/11 7:01 PM
Anne Cherry said...
Sew4Fun - Thanks! I think the different fabrics let me get away with the same pattern.
7/29/11 7:11 PM
Anne Cherry said...
Sewiing Sue - Hmmm - will definitely look for 'colour grabber'. I still have some of the quilt cottons so I could recreate my faves (eg: Marimeko-like Print and Crazy Zig Zag) once I've washed with colour grab. Though, they have both been pre-washed...is it too late to 'colour grab'?
7/29/11 7:14 PM
Anne Cherry said...
MaryMary86 - Since I began sewing again last Nov, I've become much more aware of what I feel best in. Have had several 'royal chucks' (as mother always called closet/drawer clean outs). Now I have only clothes that I really wear!
7/29/11 7:15 PM
Anne Cherry said...
ArtAttack - Du bist verklempt...Ich bin verruckt nach diesen Rocken! No, I am not fluent in German :P Give this pattern a try. I think I always preferred narrow pants/jeans because they were more slimming on me. I am larger on top and anything that puffs out around my waist/hips just makes me look larger all over. I think this straight skirt achieves the 'sleeker' look that pants/jeans do.
7/29/11 7:16 PM
Anne Cherry said...
Mareac - Aaagh! I went back and re-read the contest rules (3rd time!). This is the first PR contest I've entered...realise now that entries need to be sewn within a specific timeframe. Ha! Wouldn't it be fantastic to have time in a month to make seven skirts!!! I've written to the contest moderator and requested to be removed. Sigh.
7/29/11 7:17 PM
rivergum said...
Oooh, I love your prints! I don't really wear skirts, but I like the Ikea prints for light between season jackets to wear with plain pants. The marimekko and black-on-taupe are prints to die for. Where did you buy them?
7/30/11 0:04 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Hi Frantic - another Sydneysider! I found the Marimekko-like print at Rockdale Spotlight! Had to do a double-take when I saw it...but there it was...in amongst the quilting cottons!! It's a definite knock off but I don't think most can tell. I've been a Marimekko fan for years ...may just lash out and make a skirt out of the 'real thing'...but for now, my version works just fine. In fact, I wore it today! The black-on-taupe was a fashion fabric from Remnant Warehouse in Alexandria. As usual, I wasn't looking for it....which is when I always find 'perfect things'! I try to let myself go when this happens cos I know from repeat disappointments that I have a hard time finding what I want when I have a set thing in my head!!
7/30/11 3:26 AM
cmarie12 said...
These are a perfect example of how the fabric makes the skirt. All of your skirts are awesome and it was interesting to read about your journey learning various lining techniques. You make me want to go home pull out my straight skirt pattern and whip up a couple versions of my own!
8/12/11 9:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Wild Ginger Slinky Skirt & Wrap Top PMB3 & Curves
photo
Review by MaryBeth on 5/31/04
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $27.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6216
photo
Review by Virginia H... on 11/20/13
Read Review

New Look 6142 Pattern
New Look 6142 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us