SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2692 (Misses Dress or Gown)

22 more reviews
Viewed 933 times 
Reviewed by:callmeRuth
photo

 
 
About callmeRuthstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 5/4/06
Reviews written: 122
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 122
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/11 12:43 PM
Last Updated:5/4/11 2:26 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
Beautiful bridesmaid dress! I'm glad your daughter likes it as much as you and I agree that the style would make a very cute casual dress too. So nice that you have the fitting issues resolved. And... the side zipper looks perfectly installed. Great work!
1/20/11 5:16 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress. I agree the dress would be nice in a casual fabric.
1/20/11 10:33 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Lovely work. That looks like a very useful pattern with the other completly different top options as well.
1/21/11 0:58 AM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL! I too love that it's the matte side of the fabric (much classier, I think). :o) As for the zipper, WHAT ZIPPER? Heh-heh-heh.
1/23/11 9:47 AM
Christas said...
Nice dress, Ruth! Your side zip, and the fit of the dress on your daughter is perfect. Very nice sewing, as always!!! :-)
2/1/11 11:55 AM
Picnicfan said...
A beautiful dress. I agree about the side zipper - you've sewn it in perfectly. I have a pattern with a side zipper, so maybe now I'll try it.
2/16/11 2:28 AM
newmama said...
What a beautiful dress! Your daughter looks lovely. The color is gorgeous, and I'm a fan of the "wrong" side of the satin as well. Thank you for this review.
2/16/11 9:36 AM
MamaSewing said...
I love the color of the dress as well, and the neckline looks perfect! Well done!
2/16/11 5:20 PM
FreyaStark said...
Two very pretty dresses, and both beautifully made. I love the print fabric, too.
5/4/11 3:12 AM
Mushywear said...
Both versions are beautiful. I really love the casual gauzy fabric for summers. Your daughter looks lovely in both!
5/4/11 3:23 AM
Gelbean said...
Both dresses are beautiful! It's great when you can use one pattern to create two completely different looks, one formal and one casual, just by fabric choice.
5/4/11 8:33 AM
Christas said...
Ooooh, I love the second version, too! That fabric gives it a whole different look. Ellen looks so pretty! Very nice sewing.
5/4/11 8:40 AM
MamaSewing said...
What a fun dress in a fun fabric! (I love that your daughter still twirls!)
5/4/11 9:02 AM
JTink said...
Beautiful dresses for a beautiful young lady
5/4/11 10:46 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Both versions are so pretty! Great job there! And a very happy looking, lovely daughter you have!
5/4/11 11:18 AM
TanyaMT said...
Beautiful dresses, both, and your daughter is lovely.
5/4/11 1:43 PM
21wale said...
Both dresses are lovely! Isn't it great to use the same pattern in very different fabrics?
5/4/11 3:16 PM
sammye857 said...
Did you sew the zipper enclosed into the lining where you don't see the raw edges? How is that done? Was raising the neckline difficult?
6/15/12 6:02 PM
mesewlot said...
Just now seeing your review~ what a fantastic job on both dresses! You sew beautifully! Perfect setting of the zipper.
7/11/12 11:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 8742

photo
by: jorth

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now