SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6779 (Misses Dress)

9 more reviews
Viewed 353 times 
Reviewed by:birdmcfarland
photo

 
 
About birdmcfarlandstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 8/1/08
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/11 2:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said... (1/24/11 2:01 AM) Reply
Thanking you for your generous and helpful response. :)
birdmcfarland said... (1/22/11 8:27 AM) Reply
I'm a 36 bust, 27 waist and 37 hips. This thing looked huge when I made it but it actually fit like I wanted it to - loose. Sometimes I have to grade down the sides on the lower half of a garment, but I sometimes get lucky with whatever size corresponds to the 36 bust. On simplicity patterns I usually make a 12 (34 bust) because most of them are so big...except for that Perfect Fit dress. That one is right on the mark. I have a terrible time with sizing and fitting. I fall between sizes for a lot of things and it seems that every pattern company fits differently. It really drives me nuts. Thanks for your kind words!!
persevering said... (1/21/11 8:58 PM) Reply
Could you please explain your choice of size? At 123 pounds and 5'6", wouldn't a finished bust measurement of 41 (size 14) and the rest of the pattern be really loose on you? I'd really like to know because I'm shorter (5'4") and heavier (135) than you, and when I read this and your other reviews, I always try to assess your personal choice of sizing (and I'm always sort of puzzled because I think a 12 for me might be the correct size) and try to think through how your choice of pattern sizing would apply for me, since I always like your choice in patterns. Thank you. (I appreciate your reply as your garments look so good on you, and I'm here stuck/paralyzed, confused about sizing.)
Fran G said... (1/21/11 7:12 AM) Reply
Love it! Simple, black, easy fitting..what's not to love?? Thanks for the review as this one would have snuck by me!
21wale said... (1/20/11 10:18 PM) Reply
Great dress with a flattering shape. Very nice!
birdmcfarland said... (1/20/11 9:41 PM) Reply
thanks! Sorry the photo stinks. It's so hard to get decent shots of black clothing.
MNBarb said... (1/20/11 9:35 PM) Reply
Good choice for an easy wear dress. You look really good in your dress and boots.
AuntieShel said... (1/20/11 7:58 PM) Reply
Very cute!!
milwaukee_kelly said... (1/20/11 6:36 PM) Reply
I love this. Very simple, but super chic.
no7262 said... (1/20/11 6:33 PM) Reply
Wow! I really like the way you did this dress! Your version is the best one I've seen so far! Nora :)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8776

photo
by: knitmachin...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1073

photo
by: elizaturn

Review
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Pattern Details
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

Pattern Details