SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6779 (Misses Dress)

9 more reviews
Viewed 351 times 
Reviewed by:birdmcfarland
photo

 
 
About birdmcfarlandstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 8/1/08
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/11 2:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
Wow! I really like the way you did this dress! Your version is the best one I've seen so far! Nora :)
1/20/11 6:33 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
I love this. Very simple, but super chic.
1/20/11 6:36 PM
AuntieShel said...
Very cute!!
1/20/11 7:58 PM
MNBarb said...
Good choice for an easy wear dress. You look really good in your dress and boots.
1/20/11 9:35 PM
birdmcfarland said...
thanks! Sorry the photo stinks. It's so hard to get decent shots of black clothing.
1/20/11 9:41 PM
21wale said...
Great dress with a flattering shape. Very nice!
1/20/11 10:18 PM
Fran G said...
Love it! Simple, black, easy fitting..what's not to love?? Thanks for the review as this one would have snuck by me!
1/21/11 7:12 AM
persevering said...
Could you please explain your choice of size? At 123 pounds and 5'6", wouldn't a finished bust measurement of 41 (size 14) and the rest of the pattern be really loose on you? I'd really like to know because I'm shorter (5'4") and heavier (135) than you, and when I read this and your other reviews, I always try to assess your personal choice of sizing (and I'm always sort of puzzled because I think a 12 for me might be the correct size) and try to think through how your choice of pattern sizing would apply for me, since I always like your choice in patterns. Thank you. (I appreciate your reply as your garments look so good on you, and I'm here stuck/paralyzed, confused about sizing.)
1/21/11 8:58 PM
birdmcfarland said...
I'm a 36 bust, 27 waist and 37 hips. This thing looked huge when I made it but it actually fit like I wanted it to - loose. Sometimes I have to grade down the sides on the lower half of a garment, but I sometimes get lucky with whatever size corresponds to the 36 bust. On simplicity patterns I usually make a 12 (34 bust) because most of them are so big...except for that Perfect Fit dress. That one is right on the mark. I have a terrible time with sizing and fitting. I fall between sizes for a lot of things and it seems that every pattern company fits differently. It really drives me nuts. Thanks for your kind words!!
1/22/11 8:27 AM
persevering said...
Thanking you for your generous and helpful response. :)
1/24/11 2:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 8191

photo
by: Cosso

Review
Butterick 5355

photo
by: dignsew

Review
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Buy Now