SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1172 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Dress and Belt)

6 more reviews
Viewed 707 times 
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo

 
 
About rivergumstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 130
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 54 people
patterns reviewed: 125
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/29/11 3:41 PM
Last Updated:1/29/11 4:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
selkie300 said...
Love the fabric. Dress looks great on with the exception of the length. I'm 5'6'' and I have to raise any dress to be either just below or just above my knee otherwise I look like a grandma too! (I'm 29) Love the vintage look though. Also good foundational garments can go a long way with a look like this. I would probably look into making/purchasing a crinoline for this look.
2/11/14 10:57 AM
OttawaAliza said...
I love vintage Vogue dresses... in fact, I'm wearing one right now! (And I'm not yet old enough to be a grandmother). I'm a plump hourglass, and love the swishing full skirt and fitted bodice of vintage dresses; it's the figure that these dresses were designed for (unlike modern styles!). I love both of those dresses on you; the vintage dress just screams "summer", and would have been perfect for a casual beach wedding. The silk dress is very classy, and looks lovely too, but I actually like the vintage one better (I'm not sure about the colour of the green one for you). I do think the vintage dress could be shortened a little on you-- a short tea length, rather than near-ankle length, show off a bit more leg :) I'm not a sash fan (a bit too close to child attire for my taste), but a slim green belt would look good, if that would help you feel more comfortable in the dress.
8/22/13 11:43 AM
julliams said...
I love the floral dress on you but I would take it up to just below the knee.
4/18/13 7:10 AM
Baysew said...
I liked them both! And the excellent comments others made. But could you give the pattern # for the green dress? I am a grandma (going to be grandma of the groom!) and so for this event (and my vintage) the green dress would be excellent :)
6/3/12 3:04 PM
Sassy T said...
I agree with pp. It is just the length that needs taken up to give it the look people seem to be adapting nowadays.
12/11/11 12:11 PM
ktbair said...
I love both dresses. The green looks more suited to a late afternoon or evening wedding and the floral perfect for the beach. Perfect for bare feet too. A belt and slightly shorter would be lovely. I think a belt made with left over fabric from shortening would be lovely. Buckle or whatever it's called covered in fabric too. Both dresses are lovely and NOT grannyish at all. The fashion police may be jealous of your skills or narrow minded. You are allowed to be yourself and feel comfortable. How wants to see your spanx when you sit down in tight skirt anyway?
7/17/11 2:41 AM
waltzqueen said...
I think the dress is lovely, "garden party" coming to mind immediately. But I think a couple of tweaks would up the design to WOW. Yes on a belt, a slender green belt, no wider than an inch, that will emphasize your waist. The skirt is too long-the proportions are wrong, so raise the hem several inches to lighten the overall impression and make the dress more sophisticated. The dresses on the pattern cover are shorter than yours. As for sleeves, I think sleeveless would also work, but not a must. Or you can just give me the dress - will it fit a retail size 10?? :)
1/31/11 6:06 PM
kikismama said...
I love this floral dress on you and it is what I love to make and wear for warm weather. By the way, I'm 49 and don't think it looks grandmotherly at all. I prefer the floral dress on you, maybe because it appears to be so comfortable, yet flattering.
1/31/11 1:29 AM
Renee' S said...
Comparing the two dresses is like comparing apples and oranges. The green dress looks very nice, it says conservative, well behaved and follows the rules. The floral dress I absolutely love it's free spirited, carefree and a little mischievous, in a lady like way of course :) I love the print, the style, the length everything - looks fabulous. I think all you need is a pair of sandals and a big sun hat. I have a vintage dress that is very similar to this style in a big floral print, it has a fitted bodice and a very full, long skirt. I always get compliments when I wear this dress. I think women with curves look very good in fitted bodice and full skirt. When wearing a full skirt my mom and I always laugh and ask is it me or is it memorex?
1/30/11 11:20 AM
FreyaStark said...
Both look good on you in different ways, although I prefer the floral. It doesn't seem grandmotherly at all to me whereas the green one does. (Maybe your attitude depends on your age.) If anything I would shorten the floral, say 5-10cm, keeping it below the knee, but not add a belt.
1/30/11 5:46 AM
petro said...
I like both dresses on you. I don't see the floral as grandmotherly at all. It needs to be worn with some accessory (ies) picking out a colour. Maybe the mauve in the flower sprays?
1/30/11 4:34 AM
cleverclogs said...
At 59 and a bit, I'm heading for grandma territory and I've never been eligible for fashion police. (I'm more of a fashion criminal to be honest). But to my eye, the green looks more, um, grown 'mature' than the floral. I side with the 'add green sash to the floral' brigade, also the suggestion of a wee bit deeper neckline. If the last suggestion doesn't appeal, I also wonder if hair up (informal and messy up, not tight bun up) might show just a bit more flesh in the nicest way? Both dresses look beautifully made and suit your colouring really well, so it would be a shame not to wear the floral as much as possible!
1/30/11 2:37 AM
Cuffs said...
Grandmotherly? Oh, I don't think so. I love that print dress. It's so fresh, pretty, and sweetly sexy. Show those 2 pictures to any man and I bet they pick the floral one. Not that their opinion is more important, but they would surely choose the one that is the least "grandmotherly."
1/30/11 0:13 AM
Natasha B said...
I think both dresses are fantastic! My favourite is the green, but perhaps only because I am not a florals person myself. Having said that, I purchased a black and white floral at SL on sale for a vintage reissue I am planning and likewise knew I need over 4m. I think you should enjoy wearing both as long as they make you feel good (and I am 38!).
1/29/11 11:27 PM
FloraNature said...
I think it's very summery and wonderful! However, I would shorten it and wear it with a belt - perhaps made with the fabric left over from the shortening process. A lovely vintage buckle would be the perfect finishing touch!
1/29/11 7:17 PM
rivergum said...
Unfortunately the fashion police is DD, and she has impeccable taste, even if it is on the conservative side. She did say that SHE would wear this sort of dress herself. I don't mind if people her age think I look like a grandma, they are going to do that anyway, but if people my own age think that then it is an entirely different ballgame.
1/29/11 7:15 PM
SandyTaz said...
You look LOVELY in this dress. I think those "fashion police" are just jealous. Your fabric choice is very nice, too.
1/29/11 7:08 PM
no7262 said...
They both look lovely! I could totally see you wearing this dress at a beach wedding! Just a thought, how about making it a bit shorter? Nora :)
1/29/11 5:55 PM
KathleenS said...
I'm with ladybegood - I think you should shorten it. (but I know you like the longer length). And maybe try out a sash or belt.
1/29/11 5:54 PM
ladybegood said...
I think the skirt length is an issue more that the skirt width. If you raised the hem to the height of the green dress, I think it'd be perfect.
1/29/11 5:46 PM
Dynamo said...
I agree that a green belt would be a great accent for your floral dress. It just seems liek there is so MUCH of that pattern, probably not helped by the fact that you are holding the fullness out for us to see. I think the belt would be a good addition. That said, I think your fashion police was spot on, the vintage dress is nice, but you look fabulous in your green dress.
1/29/11 5:16 PM
Baba Yaga said...
Hmm. I think the vintage dress is becoming and youthful. I love Karen's idea of a sash, maybe a contrasting ribbon bow sash? Something to add a little edge & break up the field of roses - but, if I were going to tweak anything about the vintage dress, I'd... looking for a ngood way to say this... show a little more skin? That v-neck is VERY conservative, especially for a beach party. And you might think about pulling out the green for your sash, instead of one of the pastels. But you know what? I love the vintage dress. You look great. What's not to like?
1/29/11 5:02 PM
Karen Easter said...
I really like it! I love the lines, and the print as well. Sometimes I add a sash to this sort of dress, to accent the waist. Who is the fashion police that you should be mindful of her? ; )
1/29/11 4:47 PM
Sondra Leigh said...
Oh, and I love this dress on you, full skirt and all. And it IS perfect for a casual beach wedding. You could easily even be bare footed in a dress like this!
1/29/11 4:00 PM
Sondra Leigh said...
My two cents worth: With vintage dresses (and I LOVE them) I stay away from the full skirts with godets, and I stay away from circle skirts. I know they're authentic, but a) they are NOT flattering to anyone who is "curvy", and b) it's the vintage bodices that really grab me. SO, I tend to replace the skirts on these patterns with simple a-line skirts or with bias skirts. Ahhhhhh, much better. More comfortable than a pencil skirt and more flattering than a big full skirt.
1/29/11 3:58 PM
LorrieAnn said...
hmmm - I see nothing grandmotherly about the dress at all. I think it would have been perfect for a beach wedding - and i like the print.
1/29/11 3:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Papercut Patterns 1002

photo
by: Blooms

Review
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now