SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2648 (Misses)

71 more reviews
Viewed 910 times 
Reviewed by:suebbb
photo

 
 
About suebbbstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/19/09
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:1/29/11 8:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Immelu said...
I often have that same problem. I usually make a super quick muslin just to test. If I have that problem, I just overlap a bit at the center front on the pattern before I cut it out of the good stuff.
1/29/11 9:37 PM
SexiSadi said...
I have to learn to take out a little 'tuck' of fabric in that area before I cut too. I think the dress is cute, and I really can't see the bubble in the pictures.
1/29/11 9:45 PM
SewWil said...
Your dress looks very cute on you. I like your choice of fabric.
1/29/11 10:57 PM
pammieh said...
I really love the dress on you - and I too can't see the bubble!
1/30/11 1:59 AM
Knitters Delight said...
I can't really see the bubble either. You look fabulous in your dress.
1/30/11 2:27 AM
Chiffon Queen said...
Hi Lovely dress, I wondered if perhaps you needed to go down a size on the shoulders/centre front and increase the cup size/fba. Try on a muslin first, could be totally wrong.
1/30/11 4:35 AM
trinicity said...
I agree, the color choice is beauitful, I love the tab with the button in the front it it looks like it fits great, Good Job
1/30/11 7:31 AM
suebbb said...
chiffon - yes I agree that the bust itself is a little tight and the shoulder/neck area is loosish - thus the bubble effect. I am working on another version right now - and am taking your advice (and immelu's) and doing a muslin first - so frustrating that the pattern worked so well for others :( and thanks to those who said it looks good - I know I'm being fussy... but you just know when something doesn't fit as well as it could.
1/30/11 7:45 AM
KG2 said...
Looks great on you. I love how you raised the waist. Your version is better than the original.
1/30/11 10:09 AM
imsewcrazy said...
I love this dress! It looks so chic on you! And the fabric is perfect.
1/30/11 12:45 PM
ColorMeHome said...
I love your dress, you look fabulous. Your handbag is really cute too!
1/30/11 1:52 PM
CallMeSu said...
So KYUTE!!!!! Enjoy wearing it!
1/30/11 2:31 PM
Dei said...
Your fabric chose makes this dress. I agree with Suebbb, the fit is a little snug through the bust, but you can make adjustments for that. Overall, well done.
1/30/11 4:53 PM
beesnbutter said...
I think this looks really good on you!
1/30/11 5:52 PM
cabrewer82 said...
I love the second attempt! The fabric choice is so fresh and summery yet dressy. It looks like a denim/linen mix. I have this pattern and would love to attempt a similar fabric. I too will probably need to do a Muslim.
2/26/11 12:22 PM
poppykettle said...
I adore your fabric choice for this dress!!
4/20/11 7:07 AM
cleverkitty said...
I love this, you did a fabulous job sewing it. I'm getting ready to make this thanks for the review.
5/9/11 8:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 8817

photo
by: kkkkaty

Review
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now