Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2403 (Misses Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 836 times 21 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:birdmcfarland
photo
About birdmcfarlandstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 8/1/08
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/11 11:35 AM
Last Updated:2/5/11 8:58 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
You are either really talented when it comes to choosing patterns or have perfected the art of fitting or just really look good in dresses or all of the above. These are both very nice! Thank you for including the inside view. It helps the beginners see how nicely seams can be finished. The shape of these dresses is just right for you.
2/4/11 1:24 PM
Christas said...
Both dresses are so cute! Love the French blue one with the sash. Your fit is so great on these too. :-)
2/4/11 1:26 PM
Elke said...
Very pretty dresses. I especially love the blue corduroy...very nice color!
2/4/11 3:09 PM
SewWil said...
Very cute dresses. Thank you for the detailed review.
2/4/11 3:12 PM
chickenlips said...
Wow, these are amazing! The photo looks like models in a fashion magazine - very impressive!
2/4/11 3:16 PM
arcrabtree said...
That is super polished and cute. Great fit, and great fabric choices.
2/4/11 3:19 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Thanks!! MNBarb, I think I've just been lucky!
2/4/11 3:35 PM
FreyaStark said...
Two lovely dresses - not a bit frumpy! I love the colour of the cord, and your use of contrast fabric is clever.
2/4/11 7:40 PM
CynthiaSue said...
I love this pattern. your dresses are fabulous!
2/4/11 9:54 PM
21wale said...
Both versions are fantastic! Better fit and better for the wallet than Anthropologie!
2/5/11 0:47 AM
Sic said...
Darling - both versions! Did you finish the bust seams with a serger?
2/5/11 8:20 AM
Sharon1952 said...
Superb work- even the inside looks wearable! I love both versions.
2/5/11 8:32 AM
birdmcfarland said...
I did the bust seams with the overlock stitch on my machine. Slow going and the first time I tried it, but it worked well.
2/5/11 8:57 AM
Paris75008 said...
Cute, cute, cute. Love both the dresses, but I especially love the finishing on the blue one. Better sewing than Anthropologie, I'm sure!
2/5/11 10:46 AM
Time4me said...
Well...I am a size 14....I like gray/green...I like version one...I rescue unwanted things.... Just say'n.
2/5/11 12:16 PM
JillyBe said...
Both dresses look great on you! And I'm totally inspired by your inside finishing work. Oh, & btw, if you still don't want to wear #1, I'll share with Time4me.....
2/5/11 2:13 PM
otterine said...
I like both versions...the grey/green is very springlike and pretty in my opinion. Both look great on you.
2/5/11 7:44 PM
Jeannine1976 said...
You did a fantastic job on both, they really suit your figure. I'm especially fond of the blue one. :)
2/5/11 10:02 PM
cleverkitty said...
I love this pattern and you did such nice work in and out, loved seeing the photos of the inside.
2/11/11 12:11 PM
mystrygirl87 said...
Both dresses look beautiful! Your construction details give it a really professional look.
2/12/11 4:44 PM
michellerene said...
Both are adorable! I agree that the green one would look much cuter with a belt. :) Love the contrast fabric on the corduroy version!
7/10/12 1:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 3551
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/25/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 1018 Jasmine
photo
Review by VintageBlu... on 11/23/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)
Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6942 Pattern
Burda 6942 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us