Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2011-114 (Boxy top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 633 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Twinset
photo
Friend of PR
About Twinsetstarstarstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 9/15/07
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 124 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/11 7:40 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous top and love your version so much better.
2/10/11 9:14 PM
frame said...
Very pretty.
2/10/11 11:21 PM
Terri A said...
Cute. Love the sleeves!
2/10/11 11:30 PM
becca a said...
Lovely top! It looks great in this fabric.
2/10/11 11:35 PM
FreyaStark said...
A cute and distinctive top.
2/11/11 1:49 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2/11/11 2:06 AM
JillyBe said...
Ooooh I love it - simple and fabulous!
2/11/11 3:32 AM
squirrellypoo said...
This looks great on you and I love the fabric! Thanks for the fabric recommendations - I made a similar style boxy top from an older Patrones issue last year and I totally agree about boxy styles needing drapey fabrics.
2/11/11 5:58 AM
Elke said...
Great looking top and fabric. Looks lovely on you!
2/11/11 6:51 AM
JDpenelope said...
Potato sack...NOT It is such a great fit and look.
2/11/11 7:07 AM
Catbird said...
You COULD wear a 'potato sack' and look beautiful in it, I'm sure, but this is so much nicer! ;-) I love the combination of the drapey, elegant fabric with the casual pattern and just love how this turned out. BurdaStyle surely has been in a sad state of affairs lately, but they still come up with appealing patterns once in a while and their drafting is top notch. Enjoy wearing your cool new top!
2/11/11 8:37 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I don't think I even noticed this pattern in this magazine, I now just have to follow your lovely interpretation, fabric is so spot on!!!
2/11/11 10:31 AM
Diane333 said...
Terrific review and ideas. Your top is beautiful.
2/11/11 3:00 PM
Barbara V said...
This is so cute on you. Gorgeous fabric and lovely work. After the potato sack comment, perhaps the highest compliment came from your daughter with the request for you to make one for her. That's really neat!
2/11/11 6:09 PM
dingyadi said...
Such a pretty top - what terrific fabric to make this style in too. It makes it really striking.
2/12/11 0:29 AM
Christas said...
If your daughter wants one too, then you know you've sewn a winner! Your top does look very pretty on you, and your fabric is a very nice choice!
2/12/11 1:10 AM
TJSEWS said...
Excellent choice of fabric and it looks beautiful on you. But I agree with a previous poster: even a potato sack would look great on you!
2/12/11 9:15 AM
GodsgirlT said...
Very cute! top and yes...the fabric is gorgeous! Nice work!
2/12/11 9:18 AM
barebear said...
Oh cute top, and it looks smashing on you. :D And I love the comments from your daughter!
2/12/11 6:36 PM
ChristineX said...
Great top! It's one of those patterns that reads sack-ish until you see it on, and then WOW it looks great!
2/12/11 9:26 PM
Mahler said...
OMG you hair is so long. I like that boxy top. It also caught my attention, I have a burned silk to make it for next summer. Your choice of fabric is excellent. You look beautiful, as usual. I have to go see you in QC city. xx
2/14/11 10:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

No Pattern Used No pattern number
photo
Review by XandraReyn... on 6/7/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3718 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3718 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5916 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5916 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1801 Misses Dress
photo
Review by ThreadsofF... on 1/21/13
Read Review

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us