SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2011-106 (Long-sleeved tee-shirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 378 times 
Reviewed by:Nan Kay
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nan Kaystar
MO USA
Member since: 5/27/09
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/11 3:56 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
Very sharp looking top! Thanks for your inspiration and your VH review!
4/9/11 11:45 AM
Nan Kay said...
Vilene tape is a version of stay tape. But it is less bulky than regular seam tape. It is a thin iron on interfacing that is actually bias, I think but then it has a row of chain stitch on the 1/4 inch line. That gives it the support to stay a seam line. It is like 3/8 wide. The only place that I have found to buy it is on line, ordered from WWW.sewessential.co.uk. But there is no reason it couldn't be created with a little effort!
3/13/11 9:09 AM
LJane said...
Nice! I wish I had read your review before I made my version. What exactly is vilene tape, or what does it do? Does is keep the shoulder from stretching or is it supposed to stretch, too? I agree about the fit. I've already made two versions and am about to make a third.
3/12/11 10:08 AM
Lizz said...
Wonderful T! Surely this will be another winner for Burda!
2/8/11 2:32 PM
manola6176 said...
great fit indeed
2/8/11 12:58 PM
Nan Kay said...
Thanks for the nice comments! As for Vilene tape, I have only found it on line at WWW>sewessential.co.uk. It runs around .80 to .90 cents a meter. Shipping is about 7-8.00, so I order enough to last awhile! I have not found it anywhere else!
2/8/11 9:00 AM
Karine said...
Very nice tee. It fits you beautifully.
2/8/11 8:04 AM
Catbird said...
That's a great fit and a fantastic looking tee! Do you have a U.S. source for the Vilene tape?
2/8/11 7:55 AM
JDpenelope said...
Terrific, basic T. Your technique is similar to the one I use. Very nicely done and your description is easy to understand.
2/8/11 7:46 AM
becca a said...
Fabulous tee!
2/7/11 9:54 PM
Nessa09 said...
Your tee looks nice!
2/7/11 9:46 PM
21wale said...
Looks like a great fit! Nice TNT.
2/7/11 9:17 PM
Paris75008 said...
Hah, you beat me to it! I've almost finished version one of this top. Yours came out great and very nicely sewn too
2/7/11 7:10 PM
Elona said...
What a classic, perfectly fitting tee! Good work!
2/7/11 5:11 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Fabulous new T! :-)
2/7/11 4:51 PM
Christas said...
Very nice looking T!
2/7/11 4:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

More Info
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

More Info