SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2010-121 (Turtleneck Top)

36 more reviews
Viewed 606 times 
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo

 
 
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 54 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/11 10:14 PM
Last Updated:1/29/12 10:43 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
I sometimes need to see 10 reviews of something before it sinks in so am glad you took the time. Your review was helpful, in general, for Burda Magazine which scares me. I like your T's and am going to look at Kathleen's tutorial since her others have been helpful.
2/11/11 10:28 PM
Nan Kay said...
Your versions look good! This really is a great pattern.
2/11/11 10:51 PM
my horse said...
You improved on great! Good job and great tops!
2/11/11 11:13 PM
Barbara V said...
All your versions turned out really well and look great on you.
2/11/11 11:52 PM
becca a said...
So many great tees! I love them all.
2/11/11 11:54 PM
Terri A said...
Great top! Love all the versions.
2/12/11 0:20 AM
Christas said...
All four versions are absolutely wonderful! Congrats on your first Burda pattern! :-)
2/12/11 0:55 AM
treefrog said...
Great tops. I'll have to check out the tutorial
2/12/11 0:57 AM
Elke said...
They all look great on you!
2/12/11 1:09 AM
Sharonspils said...
A great collection of tops and congratulations on your first Burda.
2/12/11 2:52 AM
Sanibelle said...
I'm so glad you didn't let the 28 previous reviews keep you from writing one, because it was very much worth it! I've made up this top once so far and appreciate the tips you've added. All four versions look great on you, but I especially love that teal and black print!
2/12/11 6:39 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Thank you so much for a really great review. I found the link to the Fasanella post very thought provoking and your treatment of the pattern sleeve ease wonderful. Your versions are just beautiful on you. This pattern is an ingenious idea for making an easy basic wardrobe piece. I hope I can get the fit worked out to have a tnt pattern to use over and over for cool weather wear. The many reviews are really great and I hope everyone keeps sharing their experience with this one so we can all get a pattern adjusted as great as yours is now.
2/12/11 8:24 AM
JanJanB said...
Thank you for the great review. I love how all of your versions turned out.
2/12/11 10:38 AM
Ericaeli said...
Your tops looks great. Thank you for describing all the steps you took to get such a great fit.
2/12/11 10:40 AM
Heatherrique said...
Congratulations on sewing your first Burda Style! All of your tops are uniquely stylish and nice-fitting!
2/12/11 11:20 AM
Kathy in NM said...
I love the teal top!!! The fabric is great. You have really perfected the fit with the sleeve and turtleneck. Thank you for the link to Kathleen's tutorial about the sleeves. If I pin-out and add-in to my sleeves, they would look very similar to her drawing. I think I'll give this a try on the next one I cut out. I also like your ribbon tab on the back - makes getting dressed in the morning when not quite awake a much easier task!
2/12/11 11:36 AM
JillyBe said...
Thank you so much for all the wonderful comments. I'm thrilled that a 29th review could actually be helpful! ;-D I'll take credit for figuring out the bit about sewing just the lower edge of the neck, and for narrowing the sleeve ends...but the sleeve cap & armhole adjustments were simply fitting adjustment tips I found on the web that I just incorporated, and the ribbon tab idea was from Summerset's blog - link added to my review). The teal & black top is definitely my favorite as well! It was the last one I made, where everything fit-wise came together. Plus I love that fun fabric! (It does give off just a tad bit of a Spiderman vibe to me....maybe I can pretend to be a Superhero when I wear it lol. :D
2/12/11 1:22 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
Such cute fabric! I love this pattern.
2/13/11 4:02 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Beautiful tops please keep showing them. I have a russian copy and made one muslin which needs changes. Any hints on determining the front and back of the sleeve after tracing? I couldn't tell from looking at it and the russian didn't help along with being a burda newbie. I have a short neck and got my muslin too tall and large in that area so will have to start over with a new trace anyway. Keep em coming - I just love seeing the ones you make hoping I'll succeed in getting the kinks worked out of the fit.
1/30/12 8:08 AM
RLL said...
What a fabulous idea to add the interfacing to the neck for support. All of your versions look great.
1/30/12 9:19 AM
JillyBe said...
mssewcrazy the front of the sleeve is the side that is shorter and has a sharper curve near the seam. I often alter my sleeve caps & can tell at a glance which is which, but you can always notch the front with 1 notch, and the back with 2 notches - this is standard in many patterns, & you can make a note that the notches, in this case, don't match up to any notches on the body of the pattern; they're just there to help you know which is which. I just took a look at the pattern & see that this one has one notch in the front; none in the back. HTH :)
1/30/12 2:18 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Thanks so much so I now know the front sleeve from the back for sure and can eliminate that as a problem. I can usually tell but when I looked at this one cut out I was not sure which was which. I am writing down what you said and putting with my magazine so in the future I can tell the front from the back. This was my first try with a burda magazine-wasn't even sure I could find the 3 pieces to trace. Just looking at all these tops on the internet from this issue is amazing. Those like you who get it fitted make dozens and plan more such a great basic for cool weather and apparently not picky about the knit type either. I am surprised it has been overlooked as a pattern of the year.
1/31/12 7:32 AM
allycovey said...
great idea thanks
1/31/12 3:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2009-121

photo
by: Johanna Lu

Review
Burda 7137

photo
by: Georgetown...

Review

Pattern

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now