SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2247 (Misses Dresses)

16 more reviews
Viewed 851 times 
Reviewed by:Chris Kelly
photo

 
 
About Chris Kellystarstar
WA USA
Member since: 10/2/05
Reviews written: 122
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/14/11 1:30 AM
Last Updated:2/14/11 2:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $3.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $3.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Picnicfan said...
Thank you for your helpful review. Your dress looks very pretty although the photo is very small and can't be enlarged for some reason. I'm also making this dress - first of all in a cheaper lightweight cotton and then I want to make it in silk crepe. Please could you post a larger photo so that we can see your dress more clearly? Thanks.
2/14/11 2:08 AM
Picnicfan said...
Thank you for adding a larger photo. I also saw your photos of it on your website. Your dress is beautiful.
2/14/11 2:27 AM
Chris Kelly said...
You welcome, I've been trying to download for the past half hour and finally got them on here, ther's also a picture of the back, I just love this dress and fabric!!!
2/14/11 2:44 AM
Ecrulace said...
Beautiful dress - great that you found the matching fabric. Thanks for sharing the specifics about the pattern. I too have looked at this pattern!
2/14/11 8:00 AM
RLL said...
This is so pretty. Spring and summery fresh looks pretty good right now!
2/14/11 8:31 AM
JTink said...
Love it! I'm so glad you reviewed this. I've been undecided about buying the pattern, but you have just made the decision for me. Gonna pick one up at Joanns this week, when they go on sale.
2/14/11 9:17 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Thanks for the review, I too have been looking at this pattern and I like all the bust sizes you get. I picked up some of the same fabric last year at Joanns but have not done anything with it yet. Dress looks great, finish her up and take some more pictures wearing it!! Very pretty.
2/14/11 10:51 AM
Chris Kelly said...
As soon as my DH is at home, I'll have him take pictues of me wearing it!!!!
2/15/11 3:16 AM
becca a said...
Beautiful dress! Thanks for the helpful review.
2/15/11 9:18 AM
4u2cme said...
Thanks for the review. I just picked up this pattern on Friday. I will definitely put it in my line up for a Spring or Summer dress.
2/21/11 10:13 AM
Picnicfan said...
I'm progressing with my 'trial' version of this dress, but I'm having trouble with the zip insertion. All other dress patterns I've sewn tell you to insert the zipper before sewing the facings, but this one says to sew facings first. Maybe I'm tired but I've read the instructions ( Picture 15) again and again and I just don't 'get' what's happening at the top. It seems I need tutorials on zip insertion. Apart from that I love the pattern and want to get it right.
2/25/11 2:06 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Picnicfan, I omit all the stuff about the zipper and did an invisible zipper, I think the dress looks beter with the inv. zipper
2/26/11 4:04 AM
Picnicfan said...
Thank you, Chris. It's an opportunity for me to learn how to put in an invisible zipper.
2/26/11 9:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Amy Butler 0000

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
New Look 6909

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now