SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1173 (Misses' Dress and Tunic)

Viewed 528 times 
Reviewed by:dingyadi
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About dingyadistar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/18/07
Reviews: 46 (patterns: 46)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 29 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/11 10:21 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dee2 said... (4/8/11 9:27 PM) Reply
I think your dress is very cute & looks really cute on. I would play around with the sleeve length, I think a cap sleeve might just make you like it better. The fabric is wonderful!
sue oslo's mum said... (4/5/11 5:56 PM) Reply
I made this dress in a lovely burnt out velvet but I lengthened the sleeves to 3/4 length with a deep turn back. I had made an earlier version in cotton as a nightie and I took the neck lower and bound the edge rather than adding the deep folded collar thing. This pattern is worth playing with. I see Sandra B has converted it into a jacket - see V1243. I was thinking about that. I like the sleeve fit and the darts for shaping. My silk burn out version was made by the fabric Dingyadi's version looks fab because of the fabric. Persevere ...
MNBarb said... (4/5/11 1:27 PM) Reply
It's funny, before I read your comments I thought, "she can really pull off this loose-fitting short dress look". I guess maybe nobody thinks they look good in this style but it does work for you. Wear it a bit. It might just be out of your normal wardrobe and it has to grow on you. It's cute and what a wonderful garment to slip on when you don't want to feel confined.
nicegirl said... (4/5/11 11:00 AM) Reply
I think the short length goes a long way here to making this wearable. The fabric is so wild (in a good way!) that a simple pattern suits it best. Maybe it will be more fun with bare legs? I like it, at any rate.
rivergum said... (4/5/11 10:32 AM) Reply
Dingyadi, i love your fabric, but I think you are right, the neck is too high. It may be defrumpable if you lower the neckline, or take the sleeves out altogether.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Violette Field Threads Stella

photo
by: busymomof3

Review
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Pattern Details