SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1173 (Misses' Dress and Tunic)

Viewed 514 times 
Reviewed by:dingyadi
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About dingyadistar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/18/07
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/11 10:21 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rivergum said...
Dingyadi, i love your fabric, but I think you are right, the neck is too high. It may be defrumpable if you lower the neckline, or take the sleeves out altogether.
4/5/11 10:32 AM
nicegirl said...
I think the short length goes a long way here to making this wearable. The fabric is so wild (in a good way!) that a simple pattern suits it best. Maybe it will be more fun with bare legs? I like it, at any rate.
4/5/11 11:00 AM
MNBarb said...
It's funny, before I read your comments I thought, "she can really pull off this loose-fitting short dress look". I guess maybe nobody thinks they look good in this style but it does work for you. Wear it a bit. It might just be out of your normal wardrobe and it has to grow on you. It's cute and what a wonderful garment to slip on when you don't want to feel confined.
4/5/11 1:27 PM
sue oslo's mum said...
I made this dress in a lovely burnt out velvet but I lengthened the sleeves to 3/4 length with a deep turn back. I had made an earlier version in cotton as a nightie and I took the neck lower and bound the edge rather than adding the deep folded collar thing. This pattern is worth playing with. I see Sandra B has converted it into a jacket - see V1243. I was thinking about that. I like the sleeve fit and the darts for shaping. My silk burn out version was made by the fabric Dingyadi's version looks fab because of the fabric. Persevere ...
4/5/11 5:56 PM
Dee2 said...
I think your dress is very cute & looks really cute on. I would play around with the sleeve length, I think a cap sleeve might just make you like it better. The fabric is wonderful!
4/8/11 9:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

New Look 6939OOP

photo
by: lsaspacey

Review
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now