SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1173 (Misses' Dress and Tunic)

Viewed 515 times 
Reviewed by:dingyadi
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About dingyadistar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/18/07
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/11 10:21 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rivergum said...
Dingyadi, i love your fabric, but I think you are right, the neck is too high. It may be defrumpable if you lower the neckline, or take the sleeves out altogether.
4/5/11 10:32 AM
nicegirl said...
I think the short length goes a long way here to making this wearable. The fabric is so wild (in a good way!) that a simple pattern suits it best. Maybe it will be more fun with bare legs? I like it, at any rate.
4/5/11 11:00 AM
MNBarb said...
It's funny, before I read your comments I thought, "she can really pull off this loose-fitting short dress look". I guess maybe nobody thinks they look good in this style but it does work for you. Wear it a bit. It might just be out of your normal wardrobe and it has to grow on you. It's cute and what a wonderful garment to slip on when you don't want to feel confined.
4/5/11 1:27 PM
sue oslo's mum said...
I made this dress in a lovely burnt out velvet but I lengthened the sleeves to 3/4 length with a deep turn back. I had made an earlier version in cotton as a nightie and I took the neck lower and bound the edge rather than adding the deep folded collar thing. This pattern is worth playing with. I see Sandra B has converted it into a jacket - see V1243. I was thinking about that. I like the sleeve fit and the darts for shaping. My silk burn out version was made by the fabric Dingyadi's version looks fab because of the fabric. Persevere ...
4/5/11 5:56 PM
Dee2 said...
I think your dress is very cute & looks really cute on. I would play around with the sleeve length, I think a cap sleeve might just make you like it better. The fabric is wonderful!
4/8/11 9:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Simplicity 2312

photo
by: CaitlinH

Review
Vogue Patterns 8854

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now