Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5524 (Misses' Tunic and Neck Ring) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 631 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/20/11 11:43 PM
Last Updated:1/23/12 10:43 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
Ann, I really like the look on you, but you might like it better if you used a solid color. Love your style and you hair looks great! Nora :)
2/21/11 0:18 AM
DorothyK said...
I don't think it looks boxy. I like it. I like what you did with the stripes. Looks like a top you can get a lot of wear out of.
2/21/11 2:50 AM
JDpenelope said...
Ann -- This is honest feedback -- It looks very good to me, a looser style, so maybe you just aren't used to the look. I happen to love it, and what you did with the stripes.
2/21/11 8:20 AM
RLL said...
I really really love this. It looks fun and comfortable.
2/21/11 8:28 AM
magoe6217 said...
I think this look has a lot of pizzazz and looks great on you. Running the stripes vertically in the hip area adds a lot of style and is very flattering.
2/21/11 10:17 AM
Barbara V said...
Well, if you think of it for layering and warmth, this is absolutely fabulous as the comfortable outer layer with generous fit for easy on and off. Nice job on the stripe placement which creates an interesting contrast.
2/21/11 10:18 AM
carolynw said...
Ann I really do not think this is unflattering in any way - I really like it - the stripes add a lot to the design. It is a looser fit and may take you time to get used to it but please wear it a lot - it looks very fashionable and at the same time comfy.
2/21/11 11:24 AM
carolynw said...
SORRY DOUBLE POST
2/21/11 11:24 AM
SewWil said...
Very nice top. Great layering piece. I like the way you used the stripes for this pattern. Add interest. In my opinion it looks great on you. I'm sure you will get a lot of compliments when you wear it.
2/21/11 12:22 PM
SewWil said...
Apologies for the double post.
2/21/11 12:22 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I think it's quite flattering on you! You make all garments look fabulous -- no doubt about it!
2/21/11 5:19 PM
Annette1 said...
I think you look GREAT in this top, especially with the way you've engineered the stripes. (I just ordered this pattern last night ... was kind of thinking of making it without the bottom part, but we'll see).
2/21/11 6:04 PM
DorothyK said...
The new version does look softer and more comfortable than the stripe. Great color, too.
1/24/12 10:14 AM
Barbara V said...
Wow, what a difference with a softer knit. The pockets look fabulous. Cute top!
1/24/12 10:39 AM
cleverkitty said...
you really made a fabulous top looking so different from the other one, they both have their place in your wardrobe.
1/24/12 5:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 1170
photo
Review by RachelEsq on 2/16/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pink Chalk Studio No.104 Mail Sack
photo
Review by Annelisa on 7/9/08
Read Review

Loes Hinse Criss Cross Top
Loes Hinse Criss Cross Top

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6914 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6914 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us