Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Au Bonheur des Petites Mains: 40029 (Racerback Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 258 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:rutaliet
photo
Friend of PR
About rutalietstar
IL USA
Member since: 8/10/08
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/11 11:26 AM
Last Updated:3/3/11 3:27 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
An interesting project - you're brave to try it. For straps the obvious solution would be narrow straps in the same fabric as the dress, but for something less predictable you could try an interesting ribbon or tape if you could find a good range of trims.
3/3/11 3:38 PM
pegsewer said...
As a lover and reviewer of Au Bonheur patterns myself I think you did a GREAT job with the dress and the write-up! The zipper straps really look cute to me but I can understand they might not be so comfortable. Like you, I've found the patterns sometimes just give you an idea, and it's up to you to make it work for yourself----which you have really done well. Please keep making these patterns as you can wear some of the cute youngish styles that I can't but would like to see! Hopefully the next ones will arrive in better condition. Sew on!
3/3/11 8:00 PM
sfshaza said...
This is very cute! I do like the wings in front. I like the straps, but can understand that they might not be comfortable. Of course, you could put strips of fabric underneath, but if you really don't care for the look, you might want to experiment with self straps or a contrasting trim. Thanks, by the way, for your additions to the glossary. I do plan to add them but have been busy with work! And, I agree, with Peggy. It's so nice to see some of the more youthful designs made up. :D
3/3/11 10:16 PM
mm said...
You look great in it. It is quirky but looks charming. It also looks very well made and fits you to perfection. I love the straps.
3/4/11 6:07 AM
Fran G said...
Excellent, extensive review.
3/4/11 7:23 AM
pterion said...
Very cute dress. I love these patterns but agree that the apron strings across the rear end are not a great look. I like your solution and I think it is in the spirit of these patterns to interpret them for yourself! The zippers do look uncomfortable but I like the unexpected use of them - maybe substitute something else - strips of some kind of lace or trim?
3/4/11 9:38 AM
mad stash said...
I glanced over this pattern on their website & thought it was cute, but I ruled it out as 'not unique enough for me to justify ordering something from France.' Now YOUR version has me thinking otherwise! I like your fabric selection & styling better than the one on their website. Yeah, those double thickness zippers would be uncomfortable. You could use that kind of heavy twill tape with grommets running the length of it, but for people au courant, maybe grommet tape decoration is going the same direction as zipper adornments - regardless, you could wear it anywhere and look cutting edge!
3/4/11 12:13 PM
DorothyK said...
This dress is adorable. You did a great job interpreting the sparse instructions and inadequate pictures. How would it look with the wings simply hanging down at the sides?
3/13/11 2:20 PM
JETrinity said...
Crazy cute pattern. I absolutely love the dress.
3/30/11 4:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

McCall's 8026
photo
Review by Peter in N... on 7/7/10
Read Review

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 001
photo
Review by Karen6790 on 1/15/09
Read Review

Vogue 8795 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8795 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5214 Pattern ( Size SML-XLG )
McCalls 5214 Pattern ( Size SML-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us