SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2682 (Women's Tops)

66 more reviews
Viewed 522 times 
Reviewed by:EveS
photo

 
 
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:3/2/11 11:59 PM
Last Updated:3/3/11 0:07 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
You look SEW fabulous in your new Jalie top!
3/4/11 8:54 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
You call this a four season top, but in my home the appearance of this top means Autumn has arrived! Love your version. Your hard work paid off!
3/3/11 11:48 PM
callmeRuth said...
Very nice! I like it made from the sweatshirt fabric. Great review.
3/3/11 2:29 PM
Nan Kay said...
Great review. Your top looks great. I can see where the type of fabric changes it completely! One more Jalie I would like to try
3/3/11 11:01 AM
KD in ATL said...
Great review! I have this pattern and wasn't happy with my first version - I should have lengthened the bodice as well. Your comments for adjustments will be very helpful when I made another version.
3/3/11 9:21 AM
RisaJ said...
Try folding down the collar in the back and it should make a cute little shawl collar effect in the front. I have made this pattern three times in three different fabrics and the neckline acts differently for all three depending on the fabric. Gives the top a different look - love this pattern. Now I need to try it in a heavier knit! Thanks for the review.
3/3/11 9:19 AM
Christas said...
Very nice top! I probably NEED this pattern! I love the fabric you have chosen - so perfect and looks very comfy!
3/3/11 9:10 AM
becca a said...
Your sweater looks so comfortable. I will have to make this top before the winter ends. Thanks for a great review!
3/3/11 8:30 AM
GoSewGirl said...
Nice sweater top. I like this pattern too, but remembered another reviewer's similar comments about the back neck. It didn't bother me, but then again I used a heavy cotton lycra so it's hard to compare. Your top looks so nice that I'm getting this pattern out again for some more versions of my own!
3/3/11 8:21 AM
MNBarb said...
I might shed some light on that swayback issue. There is something about this top that causes it to be more pronounced. I think it's the curved yoke. I had to do a MAJOR swayback adjustment by taking a horizontal fisheye dart across the seam of the yoke. You're right Jalie has a super-small armscye and very fitted sleeves. This is not a problem caused by your body. Another reviewer had issues with the floppy back collar and I wonder if it's caused by the choice of fabric. When fleece is used the collar stands up but with your softer fabric it's probably more likely to be floppy. In the end, you made really great top that has a nice shape and looks better than RTW. As you say, it's a versatile pattern and you can see how that perfectionism plays out in the next trial. Enjoy your cozy sweater!
3/3/11 8:05 AM
mssewcrazy said...
That looks really nice and a great basic for multiples now that you have it perfected.
3/3/11 7:36 AM
Bonnie O said...
Very cute! Worth the tweak time.
3/3/11 6:03 AM
FreyaStark said...
A comfy, cosy top by the looks of it.
3/3/11 3:35 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I love your sweater. It looks great but so comfortable.
3/3/11 1:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

New Look 6470

photo
by: CMae

Review
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

More Info
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

More Info