Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: Denim Quilt (Denim Quilt) - Type:Quilts    printable version
Viewed 123 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:AllNewtoMe
photo
Friend of PR
About AllNewtoMestar
VA USA
Member since: 9/6/10
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/11 11:50 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Flying Seamstress said...
Well done, I know your Dad is so proud of his quilt! I made a "quilted blanket" recently and used this type of piecing for the long borders. Great minds think alike. :)
3/12/11 2:57 PM
sewinfrance said...
Great work! It makes me remember how my mom could never (and still can't) throw anything out, she has a whole closet of jeans which my brothers & I wore out when we were young, "...you never know, they can be used for patches...", she'd say. I'd say that your quilt is the ticket!
3/12/11 3:54 PM
lauraborealis said...
That is fantastic. Great idea!
3/12/11 4:07 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I'm saving up jeans to make just such a utilitarian quilt too. Yours came out great!
3/12/11 5:29 PM
mssewcrazy said...
That's amazing- I would have to think something like this to death. I guess it was heavy enough without a batting since you didn't mention one. It's really neat that you and Dad recycled those jeans like this and that it is dog proof a major feat.
3/12/11 6:23 PM
AllNewtoMe said...
Thank you for all of the kind comments. I know it's no technical piece of art, and I'm still so new at sewing I'm sometimes shy to post my projects here.

Re: scraps I actually saved the scraps from cutting the denim in a bag and used a lot of the scraps to fill draft dodgers I made to fit against our porch doors this winter! I figured it was cheaper than fiberfill, and wouldn't attract rodents the way rice or beans might. It looked a bit lumpy, but they're draft dodgers. Who cares? And best of all, it was still heavy enough to help keep them in place.

Re: batting No, I didn't use batting. I failed to mention where Dad lives: he lives in the dessert in Arizona without heat. It does get cold enough at night in the winter for batting, which is why he uses it over some other blankets during the winter. But winter is short, and the rest of the year, batting would be far too heavy.
3/12/11 7:41 PM
JEF said...
Very clever and nice looking too!
3/13/11 10:05 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your creativity and ambition are inspiring. It's a wonderful accomplishment.
3/13/11 10:47 AM
Patti B said...
Your dad must be enjoying his memories and the thought that his daughter did this for him -- great job!
3/13/11 11:08 AM
jso4fun said...
Good job! I love the way the different degrees of fading make such a nice pattern. I've been thinking about making a quilt like this for years. Maybe this will inspire me to get out those boxes of old jeans and finally do something with them!
3/14/11 11:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

New Look 6470
photo
Review by magoe6217 on 12/26/10
Read Review

Petite Plus 150 Pattern
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Day-to-night Drape Top Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Day-to-night Drape Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8157
photo
Review by lovenicky on 10/28/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1450 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
Simplicity 1450 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1519 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1519 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us