Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3779 (Shirred Swimsuits) thumbsup - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 573 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:heathertyfeatherty
photo
About heathertyfeathertystar
MO USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/11 3:44 PM
Last Updated:3/13/11 6:01 PM


See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sunnysewer said...
wow, I am impressed, that looks great.
3/13/11 3:51 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Great suit! Making swimwear is so easy isn't it? I was amazed how well it went for me the first time I tried it. Neat fabric you used too!
3/13/11 4:07 PM
SandyTaz said...
What a fantastic idea... making this swimsuit as a 2-piece! I am new to sewing and liked this pattern, except for it being a bodysuit. After reading your review and seeing how nice this suit is, I'm gonna have to go out and get this pattern. THANK YOU!
3/13/11 4:22 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Lovely swimsuit. I am also planning to start sewing swimmers and have some KS patterns so I was very happy to see your promising review!
3/13/11 5:59 PM
ice pink stars said...
*crossing my fingers* Please, please, please, please let me be able to do something this advanced in sewing.. at least in this lifetime! :) This is so gorgeous!!!! I don't even have a serger yet, but I dream of making things like this. Wow, it looks great. The tankini is very pretty!!
3/13/11 6:07 PM
heathertyfeatherty said...
ice pink stars, I barely used my serger at all for this suit! I only used it for the side seams. The rest went together on the regular machine, and I could have done the entire thing on it if I wanted to, so definitely give it a go!
3/13/11 6:09 PM
Julia Bobbin said...
Wowsers! You look awesome!
3/13/11 6:13 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really snazzy swimsuit. I love the fabric.
3/13/11 6:15 PM
ButtonFaith said...
What a great idea making this into a tankini! Great idea for bra cups andalso the double ruffle! Looks fab on you!
3/13/11 6:49 PM
JillyBe said...
So inspiring! Thanks for some great ideas, and a wonderful review :)
3/13/11 8:11 PM
homejewel said...
Good for you - it turned out great. I have done similar modification for bra cups and it worked fine. I love Kwik Sew swim suit patterns. I will never buy another RTW again when I can make them for less than $10 and they actually fit better!
3/13/11 10:56 PM
Raye Ann said...
Great job! I tried swimwear two summers ago( we shall call that B.B., before baby) but never completed my project. Now I need to try again....I had trouble with the elastic. Did you apply per pattern instructions?
3/13/11 11:32 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful swimsuit! Great job. Makes me want to try one.
3/14/11 0:00 AM
Carolyn.S said...
Your bathers look fantastic, well done! I adore that fabric too, the print is just gorgeous...
3/14/11 3:44 AM
PJH said...
Your swimsuit looks fantastic!
3/14/11 6:21 AM
ChristineBR said...
That is lovely, and I will tell you that Victoria's Secret is using that fabric this season. I bet you saved a bundle compared to one their suits!
3/14/11 9:35 AM
SarahSews said...
Great job! I enjoyed reading your review. Your fabric choice is great. Good job!
3/14/11 6:18 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Very cute and very flattering!
3/15/11 6:32 AM
lovenicky said...
Really great job! Thanks for this review as I've been looking at this pattern for a while.
3/15/11 8:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 1723
photo
Review by Larisa on 1/26/13
Read Review

McCalls 6231 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )
McCalls 6231 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )
McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's M5649 View B
photo
Review by Nikkij on 8/2/09
Read Review

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Fitting DVD
Pants Fitting DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us