SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3779 (Shirred Swimsuits)

9 more reviews
Viewed 577 times 
Reviewed by:heathertyfeatherty
photo

 
 
About heathertyfeathertystar
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/11 3:44 PM
Last Updated:3/13/11 6:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sunnysewer said...
wow, I am impressed, that looks great.
3/13/11 3:51 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Great suit! Making swimwear is so easy isn't it? I was amazed how well it went for me the first time I tried it. Neat fabric you used too!
3/13/11 4:07 PM
SandyTaz said...
What a fantastic idea... making this swimsuit as a 2-piece! I am new to sewing and liked this pattern, except for it being a bodysuit. After reading your review and seeing how nice this suit is, I'm gonna have to go out and get this pattern. THANK YOU!
3/13/11 4:22 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Lovely swimsuit. I am also planning to start sewing swimmers and have some KS patterns so I was very happy to see your promising review!
3/13/11 5:59 PM
ice pink stars said...
*crossing my fingers* Please, please, please, please let me be able to do something this advanced in sewing.. at least in this lifetime! :) This is so gorgeous!!!! I don't even have a serger yet, but I dream of making things like this. Wow, it looks great. The tankini is very pretty!!
3/13/11 6:07 PM
heathertyfeatherty said...
ice pink stars, I barely used my serger at all for this suit! I only used it for the side seams. The rest went together on the regular machine, and I could have done the entire thing on it if I wanted to, so definitely give it a go!
3/13/11 6:09 PM
Julia Bobbin said...
Wowsers! You look awesome!
3/13/11 6:13 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really snazzy swimsuit. I love the fabric.
3/13/11 6:15 PM
ButtonFaith said...
What a great idea making this into a tankini! Great idea for bra cups andalso the double ruffle! Looks fab on you!
3/13/11 6:49 PM
JillyBe said...
So inspiring! Thanks for some great ideas, and a wonderful review :)
3/13/11 8:11 PM
homejewel said...
Good for you - it turned out great. I have done similar modification for bra cups and it worked fine. I love Kwik Sew swim suit patterns. I will never buy another RTW again when I can make them for less than $10 and they actually fit better!
3/13/11 10:56 PM
Raye Ann said...
Great job! I tried swimwear two summers ago( we shall call that B.B., before baby) but never completed my project. Now I need to try again....I had trouble with the elastic. Did you apply per pattern instructions?
3/13/11 11:32 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful swimsuit! Great job. Makes me want to try one.
3/14/11 0:00 AM
Carolyn.S said...
Your bathers look fantastic, well done! I adore that fabric too, the print is just gorgeous...
3/14/11 3:44 AM
PJH said...
Your swimsuit looks fantastic!
3/14/11 6:21 AM
ChristineBR said...
That is lovely, and I will tell you that Victoria's Secret is using that fabric this season. I bet you saved a bundle compared to one their suits!
3/14/11 9:35 AM
SarahSews said...
Great job! I enjoyed reading your review. Your fabric choice is great. Good job!
3/14/11 6:18 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Very cute and very flattering!
3/15/11 6:32 AM
lovenicky said...
Really great job! Thanks for this review as I've been looking at this pattern for a while.
3/15/11 8:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

No Pattern Used 0000

photo
by: Renren

Review
Simplicity 2553

photo
by: Mikgirl

Review
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now