SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 1001 (Sarong Skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 463 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews: 175 (patterns: 129)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 53 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/11 6:19 AM
Last Updated:3/21/11 7:42 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mfedna said... (7/16/13 8:58 AM) Reply
The foundation shape of this pattern is "rectangular" and I am not rectangular. If you have any 'other' shape to your body that must be accommodated. For instance: a tummy means adding circumference to the top which changes the shape of the skirt. Mine looks 'like a barrel shaped skirt' and not a lean sarong.... the reason for that is I mistakenly added an even number of inches to the side seams. Now I must 'peg' the bottom. This pattern is for slim hipped individual. My opinion/experience only.
QuiltersFan said... (3/22/11 9:42 PM) Reply
Love the "happy skirt". You can whip it out at the first signs of spring. Enjoyed the review - actually I enjoy all your reviews. Thanks.
Margaret said... (3/22/11 9:40 AM) Reply
Sorry it didn't come out as clearly sarong-like as you'd wanted. It still looks like a very nice, flattering skirt in great fabric.
Christas said... (3/21/11 5:25 PM) Reply
Ahhh.... what happy fabric to welcome warmer weather! You always do the most thorough & enjoyable reviews. Even though your sarong didn't turn out quite like you would have liked, it still looks very nice on you.
Mufffet said... (3/21/11 3:23 PM) Reply
This is beautiful! SO lovely - the fabric is making me pine for Summer for sure...or the tropics! It looks A-line, yes, and any way you look at it works. :)
renren said... (3/21/11 1:17 PM) Reply
Maybe it's a case of "So long, sarong," but it is certainly heavily invested in a tropical feel. Love the fabric! I also agree about garments sans pockets--they are not as useful as the ones sporting pockets, and maybe lots of pockets. Also, not including metric measurements is a serious shortcoming. No way would I take my Burda patterns and convert from metric to US! Also, a pdf file should be easily fixable in this regard, so hopefully the LH people will pull that together if they make a more sarongified and metricized pdf!!! Anyway, enjoy the lovely skirt (with pockets!).
fourkid said... (3/21/11 12:21 PM) Reply
It is a very pretty skirt and beautiful fabric - but I can see it is not the look you were going for. Still a very nice skirt. So - are you making the other "red" version next? Thanks for the smile.
Nancy Rhodes said... (3/21/11 8:24 AM) Reply
Luau ready! my that is splashy & l like it!
happytobehere said... (3/21/11 6:57 AM) Reply
I agree, more like an A-line skirt than a sarong but it looks very attractive anyway.
sewinfrance said... (3/21/11 6:48 AM) Reply
I like your fabric, your skirt looks good even though it's not too sarongy.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Colette Patterns Meringue

photo
by: Roxthinks

Review
New Look 6198

photo
by: RIKA325

Review
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Pattern Details