SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1004 (Misses Fitting Shell size 20)

5 more reviews
Viewed 968 times 
Reviewed by:Scheri
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Scheristar
AB CANADA
Member since: 7/13/10
Reviews written: 43
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/11 9:49 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kat B. said...
It looks to me like you could have maybe started with a smaller fitting shell. But, from what I can tell, it looks like you are taking fabric out in the correct places. Keep at it, it will get there!
3/14/11 8:49 PM
Elona said...
How did you select the pattern size? It looks as though you started with one quite a bit too large. The armscye is too deep, the bust dart is too low, the shoulders are too broad, and the bust dimensions are waaay too big around.
3/14/11 9:10 PM
christinawo said...
It's hard to tell since the shell is not on you but rather on a dummy. But you may have picked the wrong size. Generally, selecting a size by the high bust measurement helps you fit through the chest and shoulders (difficult to alter), then you can adjust more easily for things like a prominent bust. In any case, you should get a fitting buddy and a good fitting and pattern alteration book. It's very hard to do by yourself. You might even consider having a dressmaker help you with fitting it on your body. Or perhaps taking a class on fitting. Most fitting patterns are pretty much the same (at least according to the Patti Palmer fitting book) so I don't think switching will help. But you may need to go down a size or even two! Good luck!
3/15/11 2:08 AM
becca a said...
It looks like you chose a fitting shell that is too large for your dressform. I used the McCall's fitting shell because it is by Palmer/Pletsch and matches the alterations in Fit for Real People. After I began, I realized that I needed to select the size by high bust measurement and start with a smaller pattern size. It looks like your alterations will be simpler if you try again with a smaller fitting shell. The advantage of a fitting shell is that it doesn't have wearing ease.
3/15/11 8:38 AM
JudyHan said...
I am working on the same pattern!! I have taken measurements and started altering the pattern pieces. From the reviews, I am moving ahead with trepidation and no expectations. I think the McCalls pattern is more user friendly and plan on picking that up. I'm glad you posted this! Thanks!
3/15/11 9:38 AM
Scheri said...
I have decided to scrap the Vogue Fitting shell and will start on the McCalls size 20. My size is Bust 42, Waist 36, Hip 44......so after review of the pattern my measurements are exact for the bust and hips just 1" over on the waist. Wish me luck
3/15/11 9:47 AM
FloraNature said...
First of all I would choose the fitting shell according to the company whose patterns you most use. Thus Vogue fitting shell for Vogue patterns. Theoretically, the alterations you make on the shell will be the same you make on the pattern. Secondly, the shell you have made looks to me to fit in places, but is loose in other places. You now have a choice of taking in the loose areas around sides and fiddling with the armhole and sleeves etc. If I were you I would choose a smaller size that fits the neckline, shoulders and high bust, then do a full bust adjustment. I draft my own fitting shell (bodice toile) and altering armholes and sleeves is very time-consuming.
3/15/11 10:19 AM
mollyshark said...
Scheri, you're not tuning in on what everyone is saying I don't think and you may have the same issue. Is your bust across the FULL point 42 or across the HIGH BUST 42? Use HIGH bust and compare that to the pattern size. If your HIGH BUST if 42, a 20 is ok, but if it is your full bust, you are choosing too large of a size. It is waaay easier to let out waist and hips in a shirt/dress than to alter the shoulders, etc. Measure high bust, match that to the pattern bust, and THAT is the size to start with.
3/15/11 11:22 AM
lcdrbetty said...
The best fitting guide I have used is Palmer Pletsch's book Fit For Real People. It's all about pattern size and pin fitting your pattern. Very helpful.
3/15/11 11:32 AM
cousue said...
I believe "Fit for Real People" says that there isn't actually all that much difference in the fitting shells for the Big 4 companies.
7/1/11 2:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Lutterloh 2005-14

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
New Look 6675

photo
by: Kiwi Natio...

Review

Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now