SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Design Magazine> 01-2008-38 (Celine Knickerbockers)

1 more reviews
Viewed 130 times 
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/11 1:11 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karendee said...
I agree with Margaret Anne, these are my favorite pair of shorts I've seen on her, and I have seen some darling pr. She has the cutest little shape ever, and looks just perfect in her new shorts she designed and you sewed. I love her fabric selection and really love the pleated fronts. That seems to be quite on trend this summer in shorts and pants and I find it quite flattering on all. The waistline fits perfectly and "oh to have the problem of too tiny a waist for the pattern size. " Please tell MA that her "fan club" just loves the picture of her modeling her new shorts. Beautiful, beautiful young lady!!!
3/19/11 2:19 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Awesome shorts, I can definitely see why they are a favorite!!!
3/19/11 2:29 PM
Annette1 said...
GREAT review, Christa, and it's no WONDER these are Margaret Anne's FAVORITE shorts. They're SO cute, and you always have the BEST facings in the contrasting fabric. All of your design and fitting changes have resulting in a truly CUSTOM fit ... WITHOUT the buttonhole elastic. Tell Miss Margaret Anne I wish I had her figure!
3/19/11 2:31 PM
Barbara V said...
Margaret Anne's FAVORITE shorts are so cute. She did a great job selecting fabric. Your changes to the waist area for better fit are right on as well as the other details for a wonderful pair of shorts.
3/19/11 2:34 PM
Catbird said...
"...they make the garment look less homemade"?! This garment doesn't look AT ALL homemade, except for the fact that it's one-of-a-kind and you can't buy it in a store. These shorts are adorable and so is Margaret Anne wearing them. Another member of her fan club here! She did a great job with the fabric and pattern planning and you did a great job on the pattern alterations and construction. The fit is extraordinary. BTW, doesn't it seem odd that they designed corduroy shorts to have a gathered waist? I like your waist treatment so much better.
3/19/11 3:08 PM
SewWil said...
I can see why these are your daughter's favorite shorts. They are so cute. I agree with you that the topstitching add a nice touch to the shorts. Great job!
3/19/11 4:05 PM
cleverkitty said...
contrasting fabric for the facings is up my alley. I really like the fitted waist, this gave Margaret Anne a true custom pair of shorts. The fabric must have been fun to work with being cute and the fact it was a nice stable twill. The top stitching is PERFECT :)
3/19/11 4:14 PM
Erin D said...
Beautiful work! I love the brown color. Thanks so much for the helpful information about Ottobre sizing. I have a hard time getting my older daughter's clothes to fit, so I probably need to check out more of their patterns.
3/19/11 5:15 PM
MamaSewing said...
Wonderful shorts! (p.s one of my sons saw the thumbnail pic and asked if it was of his little sister!)
3/19/11 5:15 PM
Peggy L said...
Perfect fit! These are really cute shorts and the fabrics and topstitching are perfect. Loved the "Shorts Album". That is a little play on words.
3/19/11 6:16 PM
Terri A said...
These are WONDERFUL! The contrasting waistband is perfect and your dd looks adorable in them.
3/19/11 10:37 PM
TanyaMT said...
those are just adorable!
3/19/11 11:35 PM
newmama said...
Thank you for all of the information you provided! My daughter isn't big enough for most of the Ottobre patterns I want to try, but I imagine she will stay slim until she is so I loved all the details. Your daughter looks adorable in her new shorts, and they are so nicely sewn.
3/20/11 8:29 AM
Diane333 said...
Thank you for your thoughtful review. All your sewing is done beautifully.
3/20/11 9:08 AM
Heatherrique said...
Margaret Anne's precious smile says it all! Mom, you did an impressive job of creating such adorable and stylish shorts, that you cannot find anywhere else.
3/20/11 12:27 PM
Levone said...
Thanks for this review! These are th cutest shorts. I often pass on certain patterns (with puff legs, etc.) so it's great to see all of the modifications that you made. Thanks for all of the other helpful tips as well.
3/21/11 11:01 AM
Christas said...
Thanks so much for the really nice comments!!! :-)
3/22/11 10:11 PM
callmeRuth said...
You certainly have been sewing! I'm catching up at PR, and It's been fun to get on see everything you've sewn. These shorts are cute, cute, cute!
4/1/11 12:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Burda 8379

photo
by: knitsewmuc...

Review
Other OOP Antoinette

photo
by: aaltje

Review
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now