Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2449 (Women's Crossover Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2819 times 77 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Hall of Fame 2007
Posted on:7/25/04 7:13 PM
Last Updated:10/22/04 11:02 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Deepika, you have such a great figure, I couldn't find a lump or bump anywhere. I'm envious! I really like this pattern. Do you think it looks a lot like CJ's new pattern? Her patterns fit my figure well.
7/25/04 7:42 PM
els said...
Deepika this top fits your figure very well, I do not think it is too big at all.
7/25/04 7:45 PM
ReneeO said...
Thank you for mentioning it's ease for beginners. I've wanted to get the pattern but was hesitant. This style looks very good on you btw!
7/25/04 7:52 PM
drsue said...
It's just beautiful. I finally relented and bought this pattern.
7/25/04 8:07 PM
SewTabby said...
I agree with DH--this is a fantastic top! Absolutely beautiful fit, and a great style, too. I have yet to try Jalie patterns, but this top has convinced me :)
7/25/04 8:22 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Deepika your DH is right! Looks fabulous on you.
7/25/04 8:38 PM
jlg said...
Deepika, the top is very becoming on you. I plan to make this as soon as I find the right fabric.
7/25/04 8:43 PM
alicia said...
I think it fits you well - looks great. very flattering.
7/25/04 8:58 PM
Karla Kizer said...
D, it looks wonderful! I like the white cami underneath too. Very sleek. Lumps and bumps..... Gimme a break. You'll get no sympathy from me.
7/25/04 9:39 PM
gtan said...
I can't see any of your lumps and bumps but I know that the almost finished version of this top on my desk is a too snug for my liking. I think I will go up a size also
7/25/04 10:01 PM
SandraB said...
Great looking top Deepika. It fits you nicely. I like the colour combo of black white and green.
7/25/04 10:04 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Deepika, I think the fit is great ... definitely not too tight with that cute figure of yours! Listen to DH -- he's right on target. Great top, and I'm so glad you enjoyed the pattern.
7/25/04 10:12 PM
Jennifer West said...
Your top looks great!
7/25/04 10:22 PM
Lori V said...
Deepika, looks great. I love the cami under the top. Your dh is right, perfect fit. I have one cut out - hope I picked the right size.
7/25/04 10:41 PM
Diane E said...
Dear Miss Lump and Bump, er, I mean Miss Deepika, listen to DH, he's got it right. However, that does not mean that you cannot go up a size if you want to! I love the cami with the top and even though I'm not sensible enough to have your modesty, I may try the Jalie cami (#965 I think?) with my wrap top next time for its fashion value ;)
7/25/04 11:29 PM
Izzie said...
Deepika, I'm thinking that the size chart on this pattern is wrong. I made this top this weekend too. If I went by my measurements, I would choose a size V. But after comparing to my Jalie 2005 pattern, it matched up to a size Y which just happens to be the size I used for the 2005 tee. If you look at the chart above the measurements, with the European and American sizing, it seems to be correct because I usually use a 44 or 46 in Euro sizes. Did anyone else notice this? Or am I crazy!? Tammy
7/25/04 11:34 PM
Diane E said...
Tammy, one difference between the two patterns (2005 and 2449) is the reccommended degree of stretch to the fabric. 2449 requires 75% two-way stretch fabric, substantially more stretch than what the designer recommends for 2005 (which only requires one-way stretch fabric). This tee is intended to be close-fitting, and the stretch required probably intended to compensate for the lack of ease. I think Deepika's idea about measuring the pattern pieces is the only way to ensure the fit you're looking for, but there's also always the wild-card effect of the specific fabric you use.
7/25/04 11:53 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Oh wow! It looks great on you, Deepika. The bands highlight the dynamic diagonal lines too--slimming. It points perfectly to your waist. What a great gift from Deb, too!
7/26/04 7:40 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
This is a great style for you! The sleeve length is perfect, and the fit looks great! DH knows what he's talking about! If you choose a larger size anyway, the shoulders may drop, and these look like they are sitting in the right spot. Your version of this pattern makes me want to get this one.
7/26/04 9:28 AM
PVA said...
Beautiful result, Deepika, you certainly have the figure for this close fit. Thank you for your review.
7/26/04 9:42 AM
sewsally said...
Don't see any lumps ! This top looks fantastic. If you feel you need slightly more ease maybe next time sew the side seam 1/4 inch out each side. That would give you and extra inch and then you could adjust from there. I find that each knit fabric sews up a little differently. Right now I have a cotton knit that I took in about 1 inch each side and it still seems baggy. Same pattern with cotton/lycra just right. I love the cotton lycras I got from spandex house too. Sally
7/26/04 3:00 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I think the top looks great on you and layering is still in! Cami looks good with the top. I have this pattern and hope in the near future to give it a try.
7/26/04 5:59 PM
LLS said...
The top looks great on you! I would love to know if anyone who has made this top figures out how to modify the back neck treatment to continue the line of the front if you use contrast. If you go to a larger size you may not want to do it in the shoulder/armscye. The cami effect looks great too.
7/26/04 7:40 PM
Amanda L said...
This top looks so great on you, you should only size up if you can't breathe or move your arms! Let's hear it for Spandex House c/l!
7/26/04 8:18 PM
Julie Culshaw said...
I agree with everyone else that the top looks terrific, doesn't look tight to me. I think Diane E. is spot on with her comment about the fabric you use. As for continuing the contrast around the back neck, why not cut off from the back piece the amount to be added by a band, then lengthen the band piece so that it can be seamed in center back, then applied to the neckline after the shoulders are sewn. Julie
7/29/04 6:43 PM
Lou. said...
Love the top Deepika. I would go up to a T...although I think your top looks fine I know I usually make a size smaller then you in KS so you'd probably want a size bigger then I would make in Jalie and I make the S.....if that makes any sense at all.
8/6/04 9:23 AM
Levone said...
I love your newest top. Cute print!
10/22/04 4:01 PM
JoleneF said...
I love the pink, they all look good but I think this version is very nice too.
10/23/04 7:27 AM
Hilary said...
That fabric is great, and looks great on you too! I really like your original black 3/4 sleeve shirt also. Thanks for sharing!
10/23/04 8:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Hollywood 1787
photo
Review by Nick D on 9/13/11
Read Review

Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8379 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Maychi on 3/15/09
Read Review

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2853 Pattern( Size SML-XLG )
McCalls 2853 Pattern( Size SML-XLG )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us