SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2449 (Women's Crossover Top)

77 more reviews
Viewed 2824 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 293 people
patterns reviewed: 255
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Hall of Fame 2007
Posted on:7/25/04 7:13 PM
Last Updated:10/22/04 11:02 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Deepika, you have such a great figure, I couldn't find a lump or bump anywhere. I'm envious! I really like this pattern. Do you think it looks a lot like CJ's new pattern? Her patterns fit my figure well.
7/25/04 7:42 PM
els said...
Deepika this top fits your figure very well, I do not think it is too big at all.
7/25/04 7:45 PM
ReneeO said...
Thank you for mentioning it's ease for beginners. I've wanted to get the pattern but was hesitant. This style looks very good on you btw!
7/25/04 7:52 PM
drsue said...
It's just beautiful. I finally relented and bought this pattern.
7/25/04 8:07 PM
SewTabby said...
I agree with DH--this is a fantastic top! Absolutely beautiful fit, and a great style, too. I have yet to try Jalie patterns, but this top has convinced me :)
7/25/04 8:22 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Deepika your DH is right! Looks fabulous on you.
7/25/04 8:38 PM
jlg said...
Deepika, the top is very becoming on you. I plan to make this as soon as I find the right fabric.
7/25/04 8:43 PM
alicia said...
I think it fits you well - looks great. very flattering.
7/25/04 8:58 PM
Karla Kizer said...
D, it looks wonderful! I like the white cami underneath too. Very sleek. Lumps and bumps..... Gimme a break. You'll get no sympathy from me.
7/25/04 9:39 PM
gtan said...
I can't see any of your lumps and bumps but I know that the almost finished version of this top on my desk is a too snug for my liking. I think I will go up a size also
7/25/04 10:01 PM
SandraB said...
Great looking top Deepika. It fits you nicely. I like the colour combo of black white and green.
7/25/04 10:04 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Deepika, I think the fit is great ... definitely not too tight with that cute figure of yours! Listen to DH -- he's right on target. Great top, and I'm so glad you enjoyed the pattern.
7/25/04 10:12 PM
Jennifer West said...
Your top looks great!
7/25/04 10:22 PM
Lori V said...
Deepika, looks great. I love the cami under the top. Your dh is right, perfect fit. I have one cut out - hope I picked the right size.
7/25/04 10:41 PM
Diane E said...
Dear Miss Lump and Bump, er, I mean Miss Deepika, listen to DH, he's got it right. However, that does not mean that you cannot go up a size if you want to! I love the cami with the top and even though I'm not sensible enough to have your modesty, I may try the Jalie cami (#965 I think?) with my wrap top next time for its fashion value ;)
7/25/04 11:29 PM
Izzie said...
Deepika, I'm thinking that the size chart on this pattern is wrong. I made this top this weekend too. If I went by my measurements, I would choose a size V. But after comparing to my Jalie 2005 pattern, it matched up to a size Y which just happens to be the size I used for the 2005 tee. If you look at the chart above the measurements, with the European and American sizing, it seems to be correct because I usually use a 44 or 46 in Euro sizes. Did anyone else notice this? Or am I crazy!? Tammy
7/25/04 11:34 PM
Diane E said...
Tammy, one difference between the two patterns (2005 and 2449) is the reccommended degree of stretch to the fabric. 2449 requires 75% two-way stretch fabric, substantially more stretch than what the designer recommends for 2005 (which only requires one-way stretch fabric). This tee is intended to be close-fitting, and the stretch required probably intended to compensate for the lack of ease. I think Deepika's idea about measuring the pattern pieces is the only way to ensure the fit you're looking for, but there's also always the wild-card effect of the specific fabric you use.
7/25/04 11:53 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Oh wow! It looks great on you, Deepika. The bands highlight the dynamic diagonal lines too--slimming. It points perfectly to your waist. What a great gift from Deb, too!
7/26/04 7:40 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
This is a great style for you! The sleeve length is perfect, and the fit looks great! DH knows what he's talking about! If you choose a larger size anyway, the shoulders may drop, and these look like they are sitting in the right spot. Your version of this pattern makes me want to get this one.
7/26/04 9:28 AM
PVA said...
Beautiful result, Deepika, you certainly have the figure for this close fit. Thank you for your review.
7/26/04 9:42 AM
sewsally said...
Don't see any lumps ! This top looks fantastic. If you feel you need slightly more ease maybe next time sew the side seam 1/4 inch out each side. That would give you and extra inch and then you could adjust from there. I find that each knit fabric sews up a little differently. Right now I have a cotton knit that I took in about 1 inch each side and it still seems baggy. Same pattern with cotton/lycra just right. I love the cotton lycras I got from spandex house too. Sally
7/26/04 3:00 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I think the top looks great on you and layering is still in! Cami looks good with the top. I have this pattern and hope in the near future to give it a try.
7/26/04 5:59 PM
LLS said...
The top looks great on you! I would love to know if anyone who has made this top figures out how to modify the back neck treatment to continue the line of the front if you use contrast. If you go to a larger size you may not want to do it in the shoulder/armscye. The cami effect looks great too.
7/26/04 7:40 PM
Amanda L said...
This top looks so great on you, you should only size up if you can't breathe or move your arms! Let's hear it for Spandex House c/l!
7/26/04 8:18 PM
Julie Culshaw said...
I agree with everyone else that the top looks terrific, doesn't look tight to me. I think Diane E. is spot on with her comment about the fabric you use. As for continuing the contrast around the back neck, why not cut off from the back piece the amount to be added by a band, then lengthen the band piece so that it can be seamed in center back, then applied to the neckline after the shoulders are sewn. Julie
7/29/04 6:43 PM
Lou. said...
Love the top Deepika. I would go up to a T...although I think your top looks fine I know I usually make a size smaller then you in KS so you'd probably want a size bigger then I would make in Jalie and I make the S.....if that makes any sense at all.
8/6/04 9:23 AM
Levone said...
I love your newest top. Cute print!
10/22/04 4:01 PM
JoleneF said...
I love the pink, they all look good but I think this version is very nice too.
10/23/04 7:27 AM
Hilary said...
That fabric is great, and looks great on you too! I really like your original black 3/4 sleeve shirt also. Thanks for sharing!
10/23/04 8:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2011-117

photo
by: jennybaxt

Review
Vogue Patterns 8837

photo
by: sfshaza

Review
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now