Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sure-Fit Designs: Dress Kit (Sure Fit Designs Dress Kit) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 630 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 30 people   
Reviewed by:Plantwizard
photo
About Plantwizardstar
OR USA
Member since: 2/14/03
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/11 11:58 PM
Last Updated:3/29/11 0:05 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
This is a very interesting review. Thanks:-) I think your shirt turned out great and the hem looks really very nice the way it is.
3/29/11 2:40 AM
Denise L Perry said...
Very helpful review and I am so impressed with your quest for a great fit. I am just recently trying to sew for my aging body and have become overwhelmed with the number of alterations needed. You are the inspiration I was looking for! The shirt is perfect!
3/29/11 4:54 AM
pinemeadows said...
Thank you for a well-written review. The blouse looks like it fits you very well. I enjoyed reading about the fitting challenges and design opportunities with that system.
3/29/11 5:55 AM
ryan's mom said...
Your top looks terrific! And what a detailed review on Glenda and SureFit Designs. It sure has produced a top with a superior fit and looks great!
3/29/11 8:27 AM
RLL said...
I'm impressed with your efforts and review. Your top looks great and you have a base pattern to work with now. And, OMG, I have the same problem with the sleeve and had tried rotating in the armseye as well to no avail. I never considered it being how my elbow lays. Thank you!
3/29/11 9:00 AM
Sewing Chick said...
Thanks for the excellent review. I'm planning to get this for my birthday next month. Your review was very helpful.
3/29/11 9:01 AM
Patti B said...
If reviews were given letter grades, this one would earn an A+! Excellent review of your pretty, well-fitting blouse AND of the process.
3/29/11 9:19 AM
Kathy7661 said...
I just received my Sure-Fit Designs System a few days ago. I hope to dive into it this coming weekend. You did a great job addresses your fitting issues, your top looks great! Your review was very helpful. Thanks
3/29/11 11:00 AM
Irene said...
Congratulations on your great fitting sleeve. Your review tells the story beautifully.
3/30/11 1:34 AM
Renren said...
Beautiful, perfectly fitted top! I enjoyed reading about how you tracked down the twisting sleeve problem! Quite impressive review and intro to this fitting system.
3/30/11 4:32 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Great review and thank you for the tip on the sleeves. I sometimes have this problem too, with a lot of tight fitting blouses and jackets. I refer to it as "one of those Popeye characters" and have tried many ways to fix it. It's interesting about the Leichty book; it's the same fix as for bow legs. I'm putting your review in my Favorites so I can review it often. By the way, how did you know how much to change? From the width of the fold?
3/30/11 8:27 AM
lorrwill said...
GREAT REVIEW. Just the main picture alone speaks volumes. I think your test shirt looks great (even with the straight hem). I am just tracking of my first pair of pants with SFD and am very optimistic. Unfortunately, I can not attend any of Glenda's workshops because of distance. But I would if I could.
3/31/11 0:01 AM
Plantwizard said...
Thank you all for your supportive comments. It's nice to have something work out for a change. Miss Fairchild you asked how much to change on the sleeve. To be honest I just SWAGed it (scientific wild ass guess) and went with my gut. Adding or subtracting 1" in width at the wrist level worked for me. I think I could even have gotten away with a little more, actually. You'll just have to experiment. It also takes some experimenting to get the adjusted seams to line up. Just warning you..... Lorrwill, if you have any concerns about the fit email Glenda with pictures or arrange a Skype meeting. If you don't know how to Skype your local teenager can probably help you.
3/31/11 0:47 AM
canei said...
Very nice. I love the color.
4/4/11 1:17 PM
grey ann said...
Thank you so much for this lengthy and thorough review. From your picture, it seems like we have the same body types (except your elbows!) I have seriously considered buying the Sure-Fit system. I think I will, this summer when I have time to sew. Your blouse fits well in the shoulders and neck - that is so important. It looks nive on you, although I agree that a rounded hem would be even more flattering. Thanks again.
4/24/11 10:43 PM
bananaoil said...
EXCELLENT REVIEW! All caps rage entirely called for. The sleeve fix blew me away. All the Sure Fit reviews are helpful and yours has been the most helpful to me. Please keep up the posting of your work with the system, very encouraging. Thank you.
11/8/11 12:38 PM
chenille said...
Thank you for this excellent review, detail fixes and resources for the dreaded twisty sleeve !
3/23/14 1:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 7997 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by mimi g. on 2/11/14
Read Review

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 603 Pattern
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Manequim 04-2012-2211 Skirt (Saia)
photo
Review by Kathhhhhy on 11/19/13
Read Review

Jalie 2787 Pattern
Jalie 2787 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6106 Pattern ( Size 42-44 )
McCalls 6106 Pattern ( Size 42-44 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us