SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Sure-Fit Designs> Dress Kit (Sure Fit Designs Dress Kit)

19 more reviews
Viewed 654 times 
Reviewed by:Plantwizard
photo

 
 
About Plantwizardstar
OR USA
Member since: 2/14/03
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/11 11:58 PM
Last Updated:3/29/11 0:05 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 31 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
This is a very interesting review. Thanks:-) I think your shirt turned out great and the hem looks really very nice the way it is.
3/29/11 2:40 AM
Denise L Perry said...
Very helpful review and I am so impressed with your quest for a great fit. I am just recently trying to sew for my aging body and have become overwhelmed with the number of alterations needed. You are the inspiration I was looking for! The shirt is perfect!
3/29/11 4:54 AM
pinemeadows said...
Thank you for a well-written review. The blouse looks like it fits you very well. I enjoyed reading about the fitting challenges and design opportunities with that system.
3/29/11 5:55 AM
ryan's mom said...
Your top looks terrific! And what a detailed review on Glenda and SureFit Designs. It sure has produced a top with a superior fit and looks great!
3/29/11 8:27 AM
RLL said...
I'm impressed with your efforts and review. Your top looks great and you have a base pattern to work with now. And, OMG, I have the same problem with the sleeve and had tried rotating in the armseye as well to no avail. I never considered it being how my elbow lays. Thank you!
3/29/11 9:00 AM
Sewing Chick said...
Thanks for the excellent review. I'm planning to get this for my birthday next month. Your review was very helpful.
3/29/11 9:01 AM
Patti B said...
If reviews were given letter grades, this one would earn an A+! Excellent review of your pretty, well-fitting blouse AND of the process.
3/29/11 9:19 AM
Kathy7661 said...
I just received my Sure-Fit Designs System a few days ago. I hope to dive into it this coming weekend. You did a great job addresses your fitting issues, your top looks great! Your review was very helpful. Thanks
3/29/11 11:00 AM
Irene said...
Congratulations on your great fitting sleeve. Your review tells the story beautifully.
3/30/11 1:34 AM
Renren said...
Beautiful, perfectly fitted top! I enjoyed reading about how you tracked down the twisting sleeve problem! Quite impressive review and intro to this fitting system.
3/30/11 4:32 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Great review and thank you for the tip on the sleeves. I sometimes have this problem too, with a lot of tight fitting blouses and jackets. I refer to it as "one of those Popeye characters" and have tried many ways to fix it. It's interesting about the Leichty book; it's the same fix as for bow legs. I'm putting your review in my Favorites so I can review it often. By the way, how did you know how much to change? From the width of the fold?
3/30/11 8:27 AM
lorrwill said...
GREAT REVIEW. Just the main picture alone speaks volumes. I think your test shirt looks great (even with the straight hem). I am just tracking of my first pair of pants with SFD and am very optimistic. Unfortunately, I can not attend any of Glenda's workshops because of distance. But I would if I could.
3/31/11 0:01 AM
Plantwizard said...
Thank you all for your supportive comments. It's nice to have something work out for a change. Miss Fairchild you asked how much to change on the sleeve. To be honest I just SWAGed it (scientific wild ass guess) and went with my gut. Adding or subtracting 1" in width at the wrist level worked for me. I think I could even have gotten away with a little more, actually. You'll just have to experiment. It also takes some experimenting to get the adjusted seams to line up. Just warning you..... Lorrwill, if you have any concerns about the fit email Glenda with pictures or arrange a Skype meeting. If you don't know how to Skype your local teenager can probably help you.
3/31/11 0:47 AM
canei said...
Very nice. I love the color.
4/4/11 1:17 PM
grey ann said...
Thank you so much for this lengthy and thorough review. From your picture, it seems like we have the same body types (except your elbows!) I have seriously considered buying the Sure-Fit system. I think I will, this summer when I have time to sew. Your blouse fits well in the shoulders and neck - that is so important. It looks nive on you, although I agree that a rounded hem would be even more flattering. Thanks again.
4/24/11 10:43 PM
bananaoil said...
EXCELLENT REVIEW! All caps rage entirely called for. The sleeve fix blew me away. All the Sure Fit reviews are helpful and yours has been the most helpful to me. Please keep up the posting of your work with the system, very encouraging. Thank you.
11/8/11 12:38 PM
chenille said...
Thank you for this excellent review, detail fixes and resources for the dreaded twisty sleeve !
3/23/14 1:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity 2313

photo
by: sandysewin

Review
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Buy Now