Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Decades of Style: 4004 (1940s Empire Waist Trousers) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 455 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Sewin in the Rain
photo
About Sewin in the Rainstar
NY USA
Member since: 5/1/10
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/11 9:17 PM
Last Updated:4/1/11 9:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
21wale said...
These are adorable. I think the height of the waist looks good. I feel the same way about high waists, but it may be more of a comfort thing than proportions, I don't know.
4/1/11 9:35 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your pants looks gorgeous!! Thanks for posting your review, it sounds like a wonderful pattern.
4/1/11 10:52 PM
Elona said...
I looked at the line drawing and loved the way the base of the bum was lower than the front of the crotch curve. This is a TERRIFIC anatomical observation!
4/1/11 11:38 PM
ChristmasHills said...
I love your pants too. Well done.
4/2/11 1:11 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Congratulations! Loved the pics on your blog. Now you are off and running (maybe shashaying, not running) with making trousers. Your Grandpa would have burst with pride if he only could look into the future and see yours and his pictures side by side! Great review.
4/2/11 2:02 AM
FreyaStark said...
They're fabulous pants and very smart, especially in that colour. Lowering the waist was a good idea.
4/2/11 3:36 AM
sewpatty said...
Very nice trousers and they look great on you. Congrats!!
4/2/11 4:51 AM
MNBarb said...
I especially love the photo of you sitting on the porch with your sailor's cap. In high school I wore my dad's Navy-issued saior pants and they were so flattering. These do the same thing for you. I think you made the right decision to shorten the crotch length if your torso is short. This is a wonderful pair of pants, congratulations! I'll PM you a tutorial for the zipper that I found helpful.
4/2/11 7:32 AM
Paris75008 said...
Very cute. Successful alteration on the waistline. Looks much better than the high waist on the pattern cover. Congratulations on a really great first pair of pants
4/2/11 9:03 AM
Patti B said...
These look fabulous on you -- make more! I puzzled over the 'empire waist' until I read your changes.
4/2/11 9:33 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Beautifully done!
4/2/11 9:56 AM
pammieh said...
Wow! Thanks for the review - I'm going to add this pattern to my stash!
4/2/11 12:44 PM
JillyBe said...
Your first pants pattern? What a great job! I'm always happy to see DOS patterns reviewed - love the styles :)
4/2/11 3:30 PM
Sewin in the Rain said...
Thank you very much, ladies! I should've mentioned that these were made as part of a very informative sew-along by Sunni from www.cupcakegoddess.com. She used a different pattern, but her instruction was invaluable as I made these. Lee Ann, thanks for the comment about my Grandpa :) I'd like to think he'd be proud, too! MNBarb, how cool you have your dad's sailor pants! And thank you for sending me that tutorial.
4/2/11 11:34 PM
Sewin in the Rain said...
And 21wale, I think you're right. You have to be pretty confident to wear that empire waist. I feel like the natural waist is much more versatile for more daily wear.
4/2/11 11:36 PM
Schnauzer said...
Fabulous pants!
4/3/11 5:44 AM
Christas said...
These are lovely trousers; they look wonderful on you!
4/3/11 9:45 AM
Annette1 said...
FANTASTIC pants, so flattering and chic. Great review, too!
4/4/11 2:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Butterick 5435 APRONS
photo
Review by talesofawa... on 1/11/11
Read Review

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (5-12) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (5-12) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2817
photo
Review by engk916 on 10/26/13
Read Review

Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5789 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5789 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us