SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Decades of Style> 4004 (1940s Empire Waist Trousers)

1 more reviews
Viewed 466 times 
Reviewed by:Sewin in the Rain
photo

 
 
About Sewin in the Rainstar
NY USA
Member since: 5/1/10
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/11 9:17 PM
Last Updated:4/1/11 9:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
21wale said...
These are adorable. I think the height of the waist looks good. I feel the same way about high waists, but it may be more of a comfort thing than proportions, I don't know.
4/1/11 9:35 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your pants looks gorgeous!! Thanks for posting your review, it sounds like a wonderful pattern.
4/1/11 10:52 PM
Elona said...
I looked at the line drawing and loved the way the base of the bum was lower than the front of the crotch curve. This is a TERRIFIC anatomical observation!
4/1/11 11:38 PM
ChristmasHills said...
I love your pants too. Well done.
4/2/11 1:11 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Congratulations! Loved the pics on your blog. Now you are off and running (maybe shashaying, not running) with making trousers. Your Grandpa would have burst with pride if he only could look into the future and see yours and his pictures side by side! Great review.
4/2/11 2:02 AM
FreyaStark said...
They're fabulous pants and very smart, especially in that colour. Lowering the waist was a good idea.
4/2/11 3:36 AM
sewpatty said...
Very nice trousers and they look great on you. Congrats!!
4/2/11 4:51 AM
MNBarb said...
I especially love the photo of you sitting on the porch with your sailor's cap. In high school I wore my dad's Navy-issued saior pants and they were so flattering. These do the same thing for you. I think you made the right decision to shorten the crotch length if your torso is short. This is a wonderful pair of pants, congratulations! I'll PM you a tutorial for the zipper that I found helpful.
4/2/11 7:32 AM
Paris75008 said...
Very cute. Successful alteration on the waistline. Looks much better than the high waist on the pattern cover. Congratulations on a really great first pair of pants
4/2/11 9:03 AM
Patti B said...
These look fabulous on you -- make more! I puzzled over the 'empire waist' until I read your changes.
4/2/11 9:33 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Beautifully done!
4/2/11 9:56 AM
pammieh said...
Wow! Thanks for the review - I'm going to add this pattern to my stash!
4/2/11 12:44 PM
JillyBe said...
Your first pants pattern? What a great job! I'm always happy to see DOS patterns reviewed - love the styles :)
4/2/11 3:30 PM
Sewin in the Rain said...
Thank you very much, ladies! I should've mentioned that these were made as part of a very informative sew-along by Sunni from www.cupcakegoddess.com. She used a different pattern, but her instruction was invaluable as I made these. Lee Ann, thanks for the comment about my Grandpa :) I'd like to think he'd be proud, too! MNBarb, how cool you have your dad's sailor pants! And thank you for sending me that tutorial.
4/2/11 11:34 PM
Sewin in the Rain said...
And 21wale, I think you're right. You have to be pretty confident to wear that empire waist. I feel like the natural waist is much more versatile for more daily wear.
4/2/11 11:36 PM
Schnauzer said...
Fabulous pants!
4/3/11 5:44 AM
Christas said...
These are lovely trousers; they look wonderful on you!
4/3/11 9:45 AM
Annette1 said...
FANTASTIC pants, so flattering and chic. Great review, too!
4/4/11 2:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Stretch & Sew 1276

photo
by: dakotasews

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Burda 8768

photo
by: Marge99

Review