SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1220 (misses dress and belt)

35 more reviews
Viewed 1686 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 195 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:4/12/11 10:12 AM
Last Updated:4/19/11 6:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
69 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
denese said...
ps. do you think a wide leather belt would. work
1/2/12 5:07 AM
denese said...
hi barbara, as usual so so nice , your reviews are so detailed. I would love to try this pattern, but no sure about size 18 (16) off the hook. has any one else made this with my shape
1/2/12 5:03 AM
JodieT said...
Thank you for both reviews. I am not sure which dress I like better. I have a tendency to want to cover up my skinny 50 year old arms. So I like the sleeves and color on first one. The bias cut looks GREAT on you. That's a lot of time for me. I barely get to sew for myself with two daughters, two step daughters and 3 grandchildren. I am going to get my pattern out now. I think this would be great fall dress in the south.
9/15/11 5:03 PM
kias2 said...
I have to say I have nothing but admiration for all you out there that not only sew quite complicated patterns, but also find the time to photo and review them!! I am myself struggling along with this pattern ( it has it all -pivots, pleats, set in sleeves, buttonholes), but seeing all these great reviews keeps me going. Both dresses look great on you.
8/16/11 1:15 PM
Annette1 said...
Don't you ever get tired of being a GORGEOUSLY CLASSY LADY? I think I need to bring you down to my level just for a change of pace! :o) BOTH of these dresses are SO nice, and I ESPECIALLY like the bias-cut version with the muted stripes. Truly SUPERB! I never even NOTICED this pattern until NOW. :o)
7/17/11 4:32 AM
jewelea said...
I haven't made/worn dresses much since I stopped working, but have been thinking about doing so again. I doubt that I would have considered this pattern, but seeing how great it looks on you, especially the grey version, I may do so. Isn't is wonderful to be able to sew and make something so special! An informative review also.
5/19/11 10:03 AM
TMathews said...
Wow, I am so inspired! I literally ran to the store to buy this pattern when it came out, but that bias conversion you hit on is amazing!! I can't wait to try it. This is one of the greatest reviews ever. Thank you
4/24/11 1:53 PM
cmarie12 said...
It was so much fun to read through your review of both dresses. They are awesome...love how you took the 2nd dress to the next level! Totally stunning!
4/22/11 6:47 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Wow thank you for sharing the results of your experiment with us, the result is wonderful and very inspiring.
4/21/11 1:34 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
YOU ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
4/20/11 2:11 PM
Barbara V said...
Wow, my goodness! THANK YOU for the many lovely comments! Karenino, I purchased 3 1/2 yards of 48" wide fabric. The additional length was used for the basic tie, not the larger/longer bow tie from the pattern. Depending on the width of the fabric, you may be able to fit the pieces on the diagonal with the tie placed along the side edge. In that case 3 yds. should be enough. If you plan to cut out sleeves, then you would need the extra 1/2 yd. length. And if you plan to cut the original bow tie, then it will require quite a bit more because that bow tie is quite long and cut on the fold. With these variables and not knowing the width of your fabric, I think it would be best to lay out the pattern pieces to obtain a better idea of how much is needed. Hope this is helpful. Probably the best thing I could suggest is when in doubt, buy a little more for assurance.
4/20/11 1:57 PM
Karenino said...
Barbara: The idea to cut on the bias is so very clever! I have a bunch of burnt-orange silk dupioni and, inspired by your grey version, I might try it this way. Did you find that you used about the same amount of fabric for the grey bias cut (minus the sleeves, of course)? Thank you for your wonderful reviews!
4/20/11 10:39 AM
optimistic said...
Love both versions. Great work on the version 2 changes especially!
4/20/11 10:18 AM
MamaSewing said...
Another Fabulous dress! I need this pattern now - because of you!
4/20/11 10:12 AM
Catbird said...
Oh my goodness! You and this incredible grey linen dress belong on the cover of that pattern envelope, on the cover of Vogue Patterns magazine, on the cover of VOGUE itself! I absolutely love it and wish I owned it. Beautiful, beautiful work, conception and execution.
4/20/11 9:06 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - almost makes me want to get back into wearing dresses. Like this colour and it looks really nice on you
4/20/11 8:34 AM
AuntieShel said...
Whoa--52 comments!! I think that says it all. Absolutely beautiful, both of them!! You are so creative!!
4/20/11 8:20 AM
Lili123 said...
very beautiful dress, i love the way you changed it.
4/20/11 7:36 AM
FreyaStark said...
The grey version is an(other) original and elegant dress, and demonstrates the possibilities of this pattern.
4/20/11 6:29 AM
SusiM said...
Both dresses are spectacular! Everyone else has already said everything I would have. Thanks for the great review!
4/20/11 0:35 AM
Raye Ann said...
I love this dress on you; This linen diagonal striped version is perfection. So chic! I wish I could sew at your elbow and learn a few things from you. I am always inspired by your garments!
4/19/11 11:24 PM
mm said...
You are so creative. It looks marvelous.
4/19/11 10:30 PM
Kat B. said...
I agree! This pattern looks fabulous in the pin stripe. You have a lot of talent!
4/19/11 9:16 PM
21wale said...
Such a lovely dress - both version!
4/19/11 9:06 PM
SewWil said...
I love the sleeveless version. Great as a jumper or not.
4/19/11 8:24 PM
JanElise said...
This is such a nicely designed dress. This dress looks better on you than the one shown on the pattern front.
4/19/11 7:45 PM
Christas said...
How VERY cute! I loved it as a dress, and it also looks absolutely wonderful as a jumper. You really have an "eye" to visualize lovely garments and then sew them up in terrific fabrics.
4/19/11 7:09 PM
CarolynGM said...
I never even noticed this pattern until now. It looks very nice on you -- great lines and proportion.
4/17/11 11:57 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Love, love, love this dress and the color. I am not crazy about this pattern but you made it FABULOUS! I like what you did with the tie belt! Very nice work!
4/16/11 7:07 PM
Knitters Delight said...
No wonder you have received so many compliments. It looks great on you. I think I will try a drapier fabric for this one. Picked up the pattern last night! Yay
4/15/11 1:56 PM
optimistic said...
Absolutely lovely! Is it as comfy as it looks?
4/14/11 9:55 AM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful dress and it looks so good on you. I like your changes - cumberbund vs. bow.
4/13/11 1:01 PM
Sew Forth said...
Incredibly chic! Love the color.. love the sash!
4/13/11 11:15 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful dress.
4/13/11 11:01 AM
bunnysmith said...
OK, that's it. I've had this pattern for a couple of weeks, and now you've inspired me to make it!
4/13/11 10:55 AM
eugenia123 said...
Beautiful! I love this interesting style and you have certainly done it justice, it looks wonderful on you.
4/13/11 9:52 AM
mesewlot said...
Wow, you did a fantastic job~ and the color is great on you!!
4/13/11 8:39 AM
Fran G said...
I have loved this dress from first glance ! Beautiful work..and color!..Looks super on you!
4/13/11 7:46 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Gorgeous version of this pattern, which I fell in love with as soon as it came out. I have some fabric earmarked for this that is almost the same colour as yours so now I am impatient to get on with it!
4/13/11 1:58 AM
pdiddly said...
this is the 2nd time I have seen this dress made up and they both looked great - I like the cumberband look to yours - feel like a pattern purchase coming on.
4/13/11 1:20 AM
SueV said...
holy smokes, I love this dress! Looks great on you, the color is perfect. your tie looks so much better too
4/13/11 0:19 AM
Nan Kay said...
The cumber bund is so much better than the bow. Brilliant change! Really like how this looks on you and your construction is perfect, as usual.
4/12/11 11:18 PM
Heatherrique said...
Delectable color and sensational style on you, Barbara!
4/12/11 10:23 PM
Sarsez said...
Lovely. I can't wait to make this dress up.
4/12/11 10:13 PM
Jane S said...
This dress was just made for you. It may feel a little stiff but it looks absolutely perfect. Great proportions and delightful details.
4/12/11 10:11 PM
Scheri said...
I love this pattern and hope to make this one day. Your choice of color looks so nice on you. The dress looks sharp and you look beautiful :)
4/12/11 10:07 PM
mm said...
Lovely dress and it suits you very well.
4/12/11 7:31 PM
Sheseams said...
Gorgeous!
4/12/11 6:35 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really stylish dress in a gorgeous colour. The extra length and knotted belt are improvements.
4/12/11 6:28 PM
marec said...
Wow, this dress is very flattering on you. You ALWAYS look stylish and lovely...but this is so "you". Make more.
4/12/11 6:03 PM
Ann Smith said...
I think it looks wonderful. You are noticing how it poofs out at the hips but I'm noticing how small it makes your waist look. I like the crispness.
4/12/11 4:39 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Beautiful! This color looks good on you.
4/12/11 4:01 PM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous dress! I love it with the cummerbund.
4/12/11 3:07 PM
Lori V said...
Your dress is so gorgeous.
4/12/11 2:56 PM
Marge99 said...
That's really lovely. I have this pattern and want to lengthen it to below the knee as well - nice to see it like that on somebody else first.
4/12/11 1:54 PM
Christas said...
Barbara, this is such a pretty dress on you! Your changes look so nice too, as I think the cumber bund looks much better than the bow. Lovely work and review!
4/12/11 1:38 PM
Kim12469 said...
Very pretty! It looks wonderful on you.
4/12/11 1:25 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful dress. I think it looks great in the broadcloth. I like the nice, crisp look. However, I'm sure it will soften up after a few launderings, and then it may feel like a totally different dress - just as lovely, I'm sure.
4/12/11 12:27 PM
SewWil said...
Love your dress! It looks great on you. The pockets are wonderful. I agree with other reviewers, the bow was a bit much but the way you tied the belt is very nice.
4/12/11 12:17 PM
Twinset said...
Beautiful dress! It really is your style and is so flattering!
4/12/11 12:10 PM
lamstu said...
What a beautiful color and style for you! I thought this design might overwhelm a small frame, but it looks really fantastic. The plain tie is much more stylish than the bow. Great dress! I bet it would be beautiful in dupioni silk, but I think almost everything looks great in that fabric :)
4/12/11 11:58 AM
sergette said...
Very nice! I like the way you tied the sash. I thought the bow on the Vogue pic was too fussy, but you styled it beautifully.
4/12/11 11:58 AM
sergette said...
Very nice! I like the way to tied the sash. I thought the bow on the Vogue pic was too fussy, but you styled it beautifully.
4/12/11 11:55 AM
Riversinger said...
I'm glad to see how yours looks with the cumberbund. I'm almost finished with one in a soft, lightweight denim. I was planning to make the belt with a buckle or snaps, rather than the big bow. Just can't see a bow like that fitting in my lifestyle. I like how yours looks, with the flatter front without that bow. I'm thinking about making another dress in a firm knit. I think the lines would hold, and it would be really comfortable. Maybe even long sleeves. It's a great dress, basic, but with wonderful lines.
4/12/11 11:45 AM
callmeRuth said...
Beautiful dress, and you look fab. I love the lines of the dress---it's a lovely pattern.
4/12/11 11:29 AM
MamaSewing said...
Lovely dress, I like the color on you and the change from the bow. Your dress looks so much better tnan the pattern envelope to me!
4/12/11 11:14 AM
GoSewGirl said...
This is such a cute dress. I like the look of the fabric on you - it doesn't look too stiff - and the color is great. I have this pattern and look forward to making it up!
4/12/11 10:32 AM
Mary D'Agostino said...
What a great dress! Interesting about the stretch broadcloth being a bit too stiff. I don't need any extra poofing on this body.
4/12/11 10:22 AM
Patti B said...
Oh, I like this on you! I prefer the cumberbund to the bow; it's a little more sophisticated look. It must have been fun to sew with the seaming.
4/12/11 10:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

McCall's 6278

photo
by: jossyp

Review
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Buy Now