Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2004-111 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2001 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Oziroo
photo
Friend of PR
About Oziroostar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/7/03
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/04 6:32 AM
Last Updated:8/2/04 9:14 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Doris Stewart said...
Love your top - beautiful colour
8/2/04 9:32 AM
touran said...
Fabulous top! Burda WOF has such gems in it sometimes. You did a great job.
8/2/04 9:50 AM
slee said...
I love your top! I have this pattern too. I think I will give it a try. Thanks for the review.
8/2/04 10:04 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Your top is beautiful! Very lovely on you.
8/2/04 10:13 AM
Liana said...
Very nice design, and it looks so nice on you!
8/2/04 10:20 AM
PVA said...
What a beautiful result! Thanks for the review! I love the color on you, and it appears the fit is just great!
8/2/04 10:21 AM
LindaS. said...
Oziroo, the extra fullness you mention in the yoke does not show up in the picture. I think you've got a great fit already with the tweaking you've done. And I agree that the front slit was too long, at least it would be for me. I guess it all depends on how much you want to show. You made need to shorten it further as I think I see a touch of white (your bra I guess) peeking through. Otherwise. it's a perfectly fitted, flattering top.
8/2/04 10:26 AM
Englebert said...
Very very nice!! Thanks for sharing this review!
8/2/04 1:23 PM
jlg said...
Very nice. I seriously considered making this when I saw it. Yours turned out great.
8/2/04 2:02 PM
Mel.J said...
I just got my copy of this a couple of days ago & am planning to make it sometime. Yours looks great - really stylish & shows off your fit physique. You're right about the split, it does still look low. Do you think the sleeves are very narrow? I was wondering if they'd be too tight on me.
8/2/04 7:30 PM
SandraB said...
This top looks great on you. Thanks for reviewing it. When I saw the design in the magazine I was wondering how this would turn out. Now I know. Great job.
8/2/04 9:30 PM
Levone said...
Your top turned out great and fits very nicely.
8/2/04 10:19 PM
Judy Williment said...
I'm going to make this one too, so thanks for a very timely review! I personally like your version better than the one in the magazine - looks fantastic on you.
8/2/04 11:53 PM
Oziroo said...
Hello Mel,I guess the sleeves would be tight for some folks. The whole design is very neat, with the possible exception of the "armhole" which of course is part of the yoke and body. Would the sleeve be difficult to alter a bit? I really don't know - I'm a novice at alterations. Thanks folks for the nice comments!
8/3/04 3:50 AM
Oziroo said...

8/3/04 3:52 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Wow, you look amazing! It shows off you fit physique wonderfully. It's astonishing too that this pattern was easy to sew. Looks so complicated. Is poly lycra hot in long sleeves?
8/3/04 8:40 AM
Peggy L said...
Great, stylish top!! I just starting getting this magazine. Hope to try something soon.
8/4/04 5:02 PM
Tesla121 said...
beautiful top - beautiful color - very flattering
8/4/04 9:11 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Great top and color! I've been eying this pattern too, along with the Simp.
8/5/04 0:32 AM
KathleenS said...
Looks fantastic! Great colour for you too, much better than beige.
8/5/04 3:49 AM
kellyt said...
Your top is beautiful, I wish I had that issue! I have been wanting to make a top like that. Thanks for the great review!
1/23/05 1:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Butterick 5297 Fast & Easy
photo
Review by CreativeDi... on 2/24/10
Read Review

Margo Handbag
Margo Handbag

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)
Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3835
photo
Review by Yippy4Skip... on 4/14/10
Read Review

Burda 7136 Pattern
Burda 7136 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0173 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0173 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us