Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1108 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 995 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/11 1:08 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
joanico said...
WOW! What a wonderful dress!
4/21/11 2:42 AM
LynneMR said...
Fabulous dress - it's an elegant style, a lovely fabric and colour, and a great fit!
4/21/11 4:04 AM
trinicity said...
just stunning, I love it
4/21/11 5:17 AM
lamstu said...
Absolutely stunning! I think it's much better as a full length gown than as the short dress, although I suspect the designer reasons that not many women wear gowns nowadays. The fabric is perfect for the style and in one of my favorite colors. Now maybe I will get this pattern, seeing your version. Good to know that it's not so difficult to sew and your tweaks to the design are helpful too. I trust the party was as much fun as your dress is gorgeous!
4/21/11 6:06 AM
Rlkataja said...
GORGEOUS!!! it looks amazing on you and the fabric is so pretty!
4/21/11 6:22 AM
merteuil said...
Fabulous dress! It fits you beautifully and your fabric choice and length alteration produced an absolutely stunning result.
4/21/11 7:00 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!! Gorgeous ;)
4/21/11 7:43 AM
ConnieBJ said...
A beautiful dress!
4/21/11 8:19 AM
Gelbean said...
Your dress is gorgeous!
4/21/11 8:43 AM
Kim12469 said...
I can't believe you made this in a week. It's gorgeous!
4/21/11 8:51 AM
CTBarb said...
OMG... this is gorgeous. The thumbnail stopped me in my tracks. Great dress!
4/21/11 9:04 AM
optimistic said...
Fabulous
4/21/11 9:11 AM
Kat B. said...
Beautiful! Great color and the style looks fabulous on you.
4/21/11 9:17 AM
Barbara V said...
Most magnificent! You look so beautiful in your perfectly fitted dress in that gorgeous fabric and color. Your changing it to a long formal dress was very effective and successful - Super work!
4/21/11 10:34 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful and timeless.
4/21/11 10:52 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Beautiful, the dress looks better on you then the dress form so I'm glad you posted both. Excellent and beautiful job!
4/21/11 10:55 AM
persevering said...
Thank you so much for your informative and helpful review. You look GORGEOUS in your STUNNING gown! Can you please tell us how long the opening of the side slit? Also could one dance in it?
4/21/11 10:58 AM
RoseFromThule said...
Stunning !
4/21/11 1:21 PM
rivergum said...
Fabulous dress! I considered making it and decided not to, and now I'm sorry! It looks great on you.
4/21/11 1:32 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Stunning!
4/21/11 3:17 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
You look fabulous!
4/22/11 0:00 AM
Christas said...
Absolutely GORGEOUS!!!
4/22/11 1:00 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Wowie wow! Beautiful
4/22/11 5:11 AM
paulakiss said...
Wow. Just gorgeous! Last weekend, I looked at a similar dress at the mall for almost $500, and it wasn't even as pretty. Of course your's is priceless because you made it and it fits you like a glove! It looked pretty on your dress form, but seeing it on you, it's just stunning! Great job. Love your fabric choice and great idea with the slit up the side!
4/22/11 6:25 AM
becca a said...
What a fabulous dress! You look amazing!
4/22/11 7:30 AM
Dianne22 said...
Beautiful! Allie, after looking at your photo album, I think it's time to update your bio. You are way past "intermediate" in your skills. This turned out fabulous.
4/22/11 9:14 AM
Judy Kski said...
This is a definitely a show stopper.
4/22/11 10:12 AM
DorothyK said...
Stunning... you look beautiful.
4/22/11 11:48 AM
Kay Y said...
Your dress is truly fantastic - great fit, perfect fabric!
4/22/11 1:54 PM
Mahler said...
ahhh huge sigh here. You are sooo elegant, gorgeous, chic and so forth. Excellent idea to have made it floor lenght. Wonderul choice.
4/22/11 4:20 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! You look stunning in your dress. Great job!
4/23/11 6:24 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Thanks everyone for the comments, it's always fun making a dress like this. To answer a couple of questions, the slit came up to about my knee and yes it is possible to dance (not that I am much of a mover) in the dress. Obviously with this style there is some arm restriction so waving you arms above your head is a bit tricky!
4/27/11 1:46 AM
salsera7 said...
You've really outdone yourself with this one. This is so much more elegant than the shorter version. It looks absolutely splendid on you.
6/11/11 10:41 AM
Scheri said...
Bamb. wow this dress is beautiful on you
3/22/12 3:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Butterick 5756 Misses Skirt
photo
Review by mimi g. on 3/9/12
Read Review

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1649 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1649 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 1812
photo
Review by Sblk211 on 8/10/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us