SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1108 (MISSES' DRESS)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1038 times 
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/11 1:08 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Scheri said...
Bamb. wow this dress is beautiful on you
3/22/12 3:56 AM
salsera7 said...
You've really outdone yourself with this one. This is so much more elegant than the shorter version. It looks absolutely splendid on you.
6/11/11 10:41 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Thanks everyone for the comments, it's always fun making a dress like this. To answer a couple of questions, the slit came up to about my knee and yes it is possible to dance (not that I am much of a mover) in the dress. Obviously with this style there is some arm restriction so waving you arms above your head is a bit tricky!
4/27/11 1:46 AM
SewWil said...
Wow! You look stunning in your dress. Great job!
4/23/11 6:24 PM
Mahler said...
ahhh huge sigh here. You are sooo elegant, gorgeous, chic and so forth. Excellent idea to have made it floor lenght. Wonderul choice.
4/22/11 4:20 PM
Kay Y said...
Your dress is truly fantastic - great fit, perfect fabric!
4/22/11 1:54 PM
DorothyK said...
Stunning... you look beautiful.
4/22/11 11:48 AM
Judy Kski said...
This is a definitely a show stopper.
4/22/11 10:12 AM
Dianne22 said...
Beautiful! Allie, after looking at your photo album, I think it's time to update your bio. You are way past "intermediate" in your skills. This turned out fabulous.
4/22/11 9:14 AM
becca a said...
What a fabulous dress! You look amazing!
4/22/11 7:30 AM
paulakiss said...
Wow. Just gorgeous! Last weekend, I looked at a similar dress at the mall for almost $500, and it wasn't even as pretty. Of course your's is priceless because you made it and it fits you like a glove! It looked pretty on your dress form, but seeing it on you, it's just stunning! Great job. Love your fabric choice and great idea with the slit up the side!
4/22/11 6:25 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Wowie wow! Beautiful
4/22/11 5:11 AM
Christas said...
Absolutely GORGEOUS!!!
4/22/11 1:00 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
You look fabulous!
4/22/11 0:00 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Stunning!
4/21/11 3:17 PM
rivergum said...
Fabulous dress! I considered making it and decided not to, and now I'm sorry! It looks great on you.
4/21/11 1:32 PM
RoseFromThule said...
Stunning !
4/21/11 1:21 PM
persevering said...
Thank you so much for your informative and helpful review. You look GORGEOUS in your STUNNING gown! Can you please tell us how long the opening of the side slit? Also could one dance in it?
4/21/11 10:58 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Beautiful, the dress looks better on you then the dress form so I'm glad you posted both. Excellent and beautiful job!
4/21/11 10:55 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful and timeless.
4/21/11 10:52 AM
Barbara V said...
Most magnificent! You look so beautiful in your perfectly fitted dress in that gorgeous fabric and color. Your changing it to a long formal dress was very effective and successful - Super work!
4/21/11 10:34 AM
Kat B. said...
Beautiful! Great color and the style looks fabulous on you.
4/21/11 9:17 AM
optimistic said...
Fabulous
4/21/11 9:11 AM
CTBarb said...
OMG... this is gorgeous. The thumbnail stopped me in my tracks. Great dress!
4/21/11 9:04 AM
Kim12469 said...
I can't believe you made this in a week. It's gorgeous!
4/21/11 8:51 AM
Gelbean said...
Your dress is gorgeous!
4/21/11 8:43 AM
ConnieBJ said...
A beautiful dress!
4/21/11 8:19 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!! Gorgeous ;)
4/21/11 7:43 AM
merteuil said...
Fabulous dress! It fits you beautifully and your fabric choice and length alteration produced an absolutely stunning result.
4/21/11 7:00 AM
Rlkataja said...
GORGEOUS!!! it looks amazing on you and the fabric is so pretty!
4/21/11 6:22 AM
lamstu said...
Absolutely stunning! I think it's much better as a full length gown than as the short dress, although I suspect the designer reasons that not many women wear gowns nowadays. The fabric is perfect for the style and in one of my favorite colors. Now maybe I will get this pattern, seeing your version. Good to know that it's not so difficult to sew and your tweaks to the design are helpful too. I trust the party was as much fun as your dress is gorgeous!
4/21/11 6:06 AM
trinicity said...
just stunning, I love it
4/21/11 5:17 AM
LynneMR said...
Fabulous dress - it's an elegant style, a lovely fabric and colour, and a great fit!
4/21/11 4:04 AM
joanico said...
WOW! What a wonderful dress!
4/21/11 2:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Butterick 4985

photo
by: aprilsweet...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 235056-1004

photo
by: Quickie

Review
Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Buy Now