SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4790 (Retro '52 Wrap Dress)

80 more reviews
Viewed 600 times 
Reviewed by:AnnaL
photo

 
 
About AnnaL
Member since: 4/21/11
Reviews: 12 (patterns: 12)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:4/23/11 0:13 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
JETrinity said... (4/26/11 3:48 PM) Reply
Congratulations on your first review and your first dress. It looks great.
Noiresque said... (4/25/11 1:47 AM) Reply
You look proto-rockabilly without being at all costumey. It fits you like a glove. Congrats!
moonthirty said... (4/24/11 11:35 AM) Reply
Love how your dress turned out! Very cute.
PittyPat said... (4/24/11 10:43 AM) Reply
I made this dress back in the 50's and loved it then. It still is a great dress pattern. Congrats on it being your first dress.
TracyTheMaterialGirl said... (4/24/11 4:35 AM) Reply
A lovely glamorous dress - well done you've done an excellent job - I wish my first few dresses had come out so well!
pammieh said... (4/24/11 0:12 AM) Reply
Congratulations on your first dress - and with a good result! I've been dying to make this - now that I have more confidence due to your review - I'll try it!
AnnaL said... (4/23/11 11:24 PM) Reply
Thanks Everyone!!! :) Violet, I was surprised how easy I found it! I knew I wanted the dress to match my shoes, so picking the fabric was easy. You'll have to "tweek" the dress a bit for it to work for your body, but it was a great first dress pattern. Has me looking forward to trying another pattern very soon! :)
SewWil said... (4/23/11 6:33 PM) Reply
Your dress turned out very well!
Violet777 said... (4/23/11 5:58 PM) Reply
Great job! I have this pattern too, but I can't decide what fabric to use. I've never made a dress either, so the fact that you accomplished it so well gives me courage to try it!
FreyaStark said... (4/23/11 8:19 AM) Reply
Chic and distinctive, and a great fit.
Scheri said... (4/23/11 2:07 AM) Reply
Congratulations on your first dress. Good work :)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Deer&Doe Plantain T-shirt

photo
by: Mmmberry

Review
Vogue Patterns V8789

photo
by: LCasa

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Cape Super Express

Islander Sewing Systems Cape Super Express

Pattern Details