SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Prairie Rose (Prairie Rose)

Viewed 207 times 
Reviewed by:Jenny Jo
photo

 
 
About Jenny Jostar
NE USA
Member since: 4/28/09
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/11 5:23 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Saint Nolt Sews said...
I think the dresses are beautiful. One note is that many smocking patterns are made to Australian sizing, which is very large on our children. My skinny daughter is 7 and if I made her a 7 she would float in it. I usually make a 6 and add length and she will wear it for a few years. Not all smocking patterns are great for beginners, they assume you have already done it before. Sorry, but keep on trying, your dresses look great.
4/26/11 6:21 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Oh, your girls look lovely! Old-fashioned sweet. Your headache turned out beautiful.
4/26/11 6:34 PM
Knitters Delight said...
That sounds like a TON of work on your part. Still, the outcome looks amazing! Glad your stuck it out.
4/26/11 7:01 PM
Raye Ann said...
the girls look beautiful and so do the dresses! sorry for your experience with this pattern. it will be nice for other beginners to know that this one isn't as easy as it looks!
4/26/11 7:20 PM
LorrieAnn said...
Your girls are beautiful, and so are their dresses and hair ornaments. I think you did very very well; they look so sweet.
4/26/11 7:51 PM
solosmocker said...
First, your dresses are gorgeous and you certainly have overcome any of the patterns pitfalls. I agree with the first poster that many smocking patterns run large. Don't ask me why. My 5 yr old DGD wears a 3 perfectly in the AS&E patterns. My suggestion: Many of these smaller designers have "testers". You sound like you would make a great tester. They give you the pattern for free and then you critique it after sewing. I think your critique here is very well written and while I sense you are disappointed, your criticisms seem constructive to me. I would have a discussion with Anastasia, whose designs I love by the way, and offer to test and critique her patterns. I am sure she would really appreciate it. As far as different fabric weights, I don't know of any smocking patterns that address these variances. It is something that comes with experience and a few hard knocks, unfortunately like a lot of sewing. I commend you as a beginner in attempting such an ambitious project and admire your tenacity. Please stick with it. Smocking is such a wonderful art form. Another suggestion would be to look into SAGA membership. SAGA stands for Smocking Arts Guild of America. They offer correspondence course by mail at all levels that you may be interested. As far as your needing to know what to do when things don't work out right I would suggest you search out a great forum devoted to this type of sewing, it is www.everythingsewing.net . There are many beginners there and lots very experienced smockers and heirloom sewists who generously will answer all your questions. I guarantee you they would welcome your visits. Also feel free to stop by my blog as I often feature heirloom garments and smocking, http://lasewist.blogspot.com. There is a tutorial on piping there. Hope this all helps. Again, your girls are beautiful in their lovely dresses.
4/26/11 8:38 PM
JanElise said...
Your little girls are adorable in their dresses. I can't tell a fitting problem in this picture. Thanks for the detailed review; sorry you had problems.
4/26/11 8:43 PM
Twinset said...
Honestly, by looking at your picture I cannot tell that the bodices are gaping. That photo is striking - almost like a painting, your girls are beautiful and the whole ensemble is very poetic.
4/26/11 10:08 PM
Aroura said...
Beautiful dresses on beautiful girls. I also would never have guessed you had such issues.
4/26/11 10:19 PM
Barbara V said...
Your daughters look so precious and beautiful in their sweet dresses. The smocking is lovely and the dresses look like they fit well.
4/26/11 10:59 PM
Judy Kski said...
What a precious set of dresses you have made for your girls. You do some amazing work.
4/26/11 11:03 PM
MamaSewing said...
Despite all the problems with the pattern your daughters and their dresses look beautiful! The fabrics suit their coloring perfectly and your adjustments looks like they saved the dress.
4/27/11 10:33 AM
SILVIA said...
i think you did an awesome job.... that fact that you overcome difficulties says a lot. One question though, the headbands were those also made by yourself? if so do you have any suggestions, or instructions?
4/27/11 2:37 PM
Jenny Jo said...
Yes, I made the headbands. The pink one is made with yo-yos, a silk flower, and a button. The blue one is a rolled rose that I made using this tutorial: http://portabellopixie.typepad.com/RolledRosesTutorial.pdf
4/27/11 9:42 PM
Cook Mae said...
Oh, this is so adorable! I will have to add this to my stash of patterns. Thank you for the review.
5/23/11 2:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Stitch Magazine 12-2011-dahliapurse

photo
by: the thread...

Review
J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now