Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Prairie Rose (Prairie Rose) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 204 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Jenny Jo
photo
About Jenny Jostar
NE USA
Member since: 4/28/09
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/11 5:23 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Saint Nolt Sews said...
I think the dresses are beautiful. One note is that many smocking patterns are made to Australian sizing, which is very large on our children. My skinny daughter is 7 and if I made her a 7 she would float in it. I usually make a 6 and add length and she will wear it for a few years. Not all smocking patterns are great for beginners, they assume you have already done it before. Sorry, but keep on trying, your dresses look great.
4/26/11 6:21 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Oh, your girls look lovely! Old-fashioned sweet. Your headache turned out beautiful.
4/26/11 6:34 PM
Knitters Delight said...
That sounds like a TON of work on your part. Still, the outcome looks amazing! Glad your stuck it out.
4/26/11 7:01 PM
Raye Ann said...
the girls look beautiful and so do the dresses! sorry for your experience with this pattern. it will be nice for other beginners to know that this one isn't as easy as it looks!
4/26/11 7:20 PM
LorrieAnn said...
Your girls are beautiful, and so are their dresses and hair ornaments. I think you did very very well; they look so sweet.
4/26/11 7:51 PM
solosmocker said...
First, your dresses are gorgeous and you certainly have overcome any of the patterns pitfalls. I agree with the first poster that many smocking patterns run large. Don't ask me why. My 5 yr old DGD wears a 3 perfectly in the AS&E patterns. My suggestion: Many of these smaller designers have "testers". You sound like you would make a great tester. They give you the pattern for free and then you critique it after sewing. I think your critique here is very well written and while I sense you are disappointed, your criticisms seem constructive to me. I would have a discussion with Anastasia, whose designs I love by the way, and offer to test and critique her patterns. I am sure she would really appreciate it. As far as different fabric weights, I don't know of any smocking patterns that address these variances. It is something that comes with experience and a few hard knocks, unfortunately like a lot of sewing. I commend you as a beginner in attempting such an ambitious project and admire your tenacity. Please stick with it. Smocking is such a wonderful art form. Another suggestion would be to look into SAGA membership. SAGA stands for Smocking Arts Guild of America. They offer correspondence course by mail at all levels that you may be interested. As far as your needing to know what to do when things don't work out right I would suggest you search out a great forum devoted to this type of sewing, it is www.everythingsewing.net . There are many beginners there and lots very experienced smockers and heirloom sewists who generously will answer all your questions. I guarantee you they would welcome your visits. Also feel free to stop by my blog as I often feature heirloom garments and smocking, http://lasewist.blogspot.com. There is a tutorial on piping there. Hope this all helps. Again, your girls are beautiful in their lovely dresses.
4/26/11 8:38 PM
JanElise said...
Your little girls are adorable in their dresses. I can't tell a fitting problem in this picture. Thanks for the detailed review; sorry you had problems.
4/26/11 8:43 PM
Twinset said...
Honestly, by looking at your picture I cannot tell that the bodices are gaping. That photo is striking - almost like a painting, your girls are beautiful and the whole ensemble is very poetic.
4/26/11 10:08 PM
Aroura said...
Beautiful dresses on beautiful girls. I also would never have guessed you had such issues.
4/26/11 10:19 PM
Barbara V said...
Your daughters look so precious and beautiful in their sweet dresses. The smocking is lovely and the dresses look like they fit well.
4/26/11 10:59 PM
Judy Kski said...
What a precious set of dresses you have made for your girls. You do some amazing work.
4/26/11 11:03 PM
MamaSewing said...
Despite all the problems with the pattern your daughters and their dresses look beautiful! The fabrics suit their coloring perfectly and your adjustments looks like they saved the dress.
4/27/11 10:33 AM
SILVIA said...
i think you did an awesome job.... that fact that you overcome difficulties says a lot. One question though, the headbands were those also made by yourself? if so do you have any suggestions, or instructions?
4/27/11 2:37 PM
Jenny Jo said...
Yes, I made the headbands. The pink one is made with yo-yos, a silk flower, and a button. The blue one is a rolled rose that I made using this tutorial: http://portabellopixie.typepad.com/RolledRosesTutorial.pdf
4/27/11 9:42 PM
Cook Mae said...
Oh, this is so adorable! I will have to add this to my stash of patterns. Thank you for the review.
5/23/11 2:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 7997 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by mimi g. on 2/11/14
Read Review

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 603 Pattern
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Manequim 04-2012-2211 Skirt (Saia)
photo
Review by Kathhhhhy on 11/19/13
Read Review

Jalie 2787 Pattern
Jalie 2787 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6106 Pattern ( Size 42-44 )
McCalls 6106 Pattern ( Size 42-44 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us