SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5611 (Misses's Shirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 380 times 
Reviewed by:KathySews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KathySewsstar
MI USA
Member since: 10/1/06
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/11 12:49 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
But isn't it rewarding to have a loose-fitting, cool, seersucker blouse to wear on a hot summer day? It sounds like you did learn what you don't want for the next top.
5/2/11 1:07 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I think a fitted shoulder would look better, but this one has some redeeming features as well. The stripe is pretty, the top fits nicely, and it could fit just a tad better maybe with some underbust darts. If you didn't want to do that, than you can just remove the sleeves and have a nice cap sleeve summer top. Use some bias tape to finish off the armhole.
5/2/11 2:26 PM
KathySews said...
Something to think about....let it hand and think about a makeover
5/2/11 4:17 PM
KathySews said...
oops....I meant ..... let it hang
5/2/11 4:18 PM
carolynw said...
Hi Kathy - I am just finishing up my shirt from this pattern. It runs big - looked at the measurements on the pattern pieces and went down a size and guess another size down would not have hurt. I agree with others - this will be a great shirt for a hot summer and as Sherril says you can remove the sleeves for the cap sleeve version - anyway I don't think you should call this a wadder - it does look nice on you
5/3/11 2:37 PM
annie1129 said...
It looks nice on you, but I think the sleeve length is too long for you. I think that once you address that issue, it will make a world of difference -- in any case it makes a BIG difference on me. I have short arms (I'm short period) but sleeve length is super important for me.
5/4/11 10:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now