SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6429 (Misses' Knit Dress)

57 more reviews
Viewed 732 times 
Reviewed by:sunnysewer
photo

 
 
About sunnysewerstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/3/09
Reviews written: 93
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/5/11 0:45 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mesewlot said...
Love it~ beautiful colors!!
5/5/11 1:43 AM
Bonnie O said...
Your dress is great! I actually love this pattern and have made several as they are so comfy yet flattering. I completely agree about facings with knits.
5/5/11 6:52 AM
MamaSewing said...
I really like the fabric, the colors are great and your dress looks beautiful.
5/5/11 9:31 AM
LynneMR said...
I love your dress - great style and I love the colour and pattern of your fabric.
5/5/11 9:47 AM
Gelbean said...
Love your dress! This is one of my favorite patterns!
5/5/11 10:17 AM
Norsecross said...
I like your sash improvement, good move. I am not a knit fan either, yet somehow feel left out so I to made one...and will now go back to my beloved cottons and India silks :) Skipping the top stitching was also a good move, they make little dresses seem so industrial strength! You make me laugh about ending up with a reverse image from the pattern, I have fallen into that a few times myself, Ha, no harm. The pattern police did not come for me.
5/5/11 10:19 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! I love your choice of fabric for it.
5/5/11 10:33 AM
2takeKate said...
Lovely fabric and what a match for your leather coat! My machine has an adjustable pressure presser foot (sort of "spring-loaded") which helps tremendously with sewing knits in general, especially topstitching. But I think your collar looks good without it. I am just finishing my second version of this dress pattern (sleeveless, no collar) and am having the unruly facings problem. Thanks for the Steam a Seam reminder ;-). I know I will make this one again, too... and will post a review when I'm done!
5/5/11 4:00 PM
AlexaNJ said...
Beautiful! I'm new to knits as well, but I am really starting to love them!
5/5/11 4:18 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
I love how this turned out. What gorgeous fabric!
5/5/11 8:28 PM
pdiddly said...
the fabric is lovely and any difficulty you had doesn't show.
5/6/11 2:51 AM
mochimo said...
I like your dress! This pattern has been in my to-sew list for a couple of years and I continue to buy fabric to make this dress and then end up using the fabric to sew something else. Maybe I should finally make it...
6/8/11 4:11 PM
sevoo said...
I reversed the sides, too, and I figured out why: The cutting diagram doesn't mark which side of the fabric is which. The text says "for single layer - pin pattern on right side of fabric" but the diagram shows the fabric unshaded, which is "wrong side" in the fabric key. Looking more closely I can see in the cutting layouts where the fabric is folded, they still don't shade one side, so it's just information they omitted from the diagram altogether. I even double-checked, saw that the fabric in the diagram was not-shaded, and said "oops, that's supposed to be pinned on the wrong side" -- and flipped it over. I figured I should say something after I saw all the reviews that talked about cutting it backwards, but nobody explaining *how* it happened so we could avoid it in the future!
1/23/12 8:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 114A Top

photo
by: DianaSewLe...

Review
Farbenmix El Porto

photo
by: Ghainskom

Review
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now