SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1220 (misses dress and belt)

35 more reviews
Viewed 604 times 
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:5/23/11 10:55 PM
Last Updated:5/23/11 10:59 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
Your dress looks great on you. The tencel denim is beautiful and has a lovely drape. So interesting to see all the versions of the belt. Yours turned out really nice.
5/23/11 11:54 PM
mad stash said...
That's a heck of a nice looking muslin, and it fits you perfectly! . Rotten deal - even for a muslin - for the fabric to turn white where there's strain on the seams. Especially since it turned out so well and looks like a labor intensive pattern. It certainly is cute enough to warrant at least two dresses per closet, at least. :) . Regarding the loser instructions for the concealed button placket - I had the EXACT experience with another Vogue dress pattern, only it's one that's been out of print for several years. After spending hours on the darn thing I chalked it up to my lack of experience and just punched snaps through all the layers! Now I think it's an instruction flaw, because you're way more skilled than I. I'm also suprised that this happened on a designer pattern, as my experience was with a regular Vogue pattern. Marked "Very Easy", I must add. . As far as the muslin material, maybe you could dye it black to better penetrate the fibers. Supposedly you can drop an unopened bag of "idye" (for natural fibers) or "idye Poly" for synthetics into the washing machine with your clothes,run through a complete cycle & no dye will be left in the washing machine afterward to stain future loads of laundry. I say "supposedly" because such well-behaving dye seems too good to be true. . I've used this dye in the basement bathroom ceramic sink (in that horrid, circa 1970 color called "Harvest Gold" that they used on EVERYTHING back then: appliances, house paint, shag carpet, pots and pans, thermoses, upholstry - the list is ruthless) so no big deal if it stained - But it performed as promised. Nonetheless, I'm still not willing to risk future loads of laundry by using it in the washing machine. The college memory of my landlord and fellow tennants freaking out their laundry being ruined load after load after a mysterious someone who shall remain unnamed to this day dyed something directly in the communiuty washing machine.
5/24/11 1:06 AM
marec said...
OMGosh, that is a wonderful design. I couldn't visualize this on a real person when looking at the pattern. Your work makes the dress come to life!
5/24/11 1:36 AM
UrbanSeamstress said...
That surely is one very classy muslin! ;) I've been looking at this pattern ever since it came out, but maybe I should just jump in and get it as a little post-partum present for myself. It will be going on winter by then, but hey, it's always the season for a nice dress and this design looks forgiving enough in the front to be of service to me then ;) Personally I'm not a fan of this kind of sleeves, though, but that is easily fixed. The neckline and other detailing are, indeed, absolutely lovely.
5/24/11 2:36 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
So glad to see this design on a petite figure. Your dress is wonderful!
5/24/11 8:34 AM
21wale said...
This is really lovely dress! It has a great shape with the belt.
5/24/11 4:51 PM
Kay Y said...
Your dress looks great! I have this pattern and love every version I have seen.
5/24/11 10:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Simplicity 5122 - vintage

photo
by: cabb77

Review
Maggie

Maggie

Buy Now
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Buy Now