Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1220 (misses dress and belt) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 598 times 35 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:5/23/11 10:55 PM
Last Updated:5/23/11 10:59 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
Your dress looks great on you. The tencel denim is beautiful and has a lovely drape. So interesting to see all the versions of the belt. Yours turned out really nice.
5/23/11 11:54 PM
mad stash said...
That's a heck of a nice looking muslin, and it fits you perfectly! . Rotten deal - even for a muslin - for the fabric to turn white where there's strain on the seams. Especially since it turned out so well and looks like a labor intensive pattern. It certainly is cute enough to warrant at least two dresses per closet, at least. :) . Regarding the loser instructions for the concealed button placket - I had the EXACT experience with another Vogue dress pattern, only it's one that's been out of print for several years. After spending hours on the darn thing I chalked it up to my lack of experience and just punched snaps through all the layers! Now I think it's an instruction flaw, because you're way more skilled than I. I'm also suprised that this happened on a designer pattern, as my experience was with a regular Vogue pattern. Marked "Very Easy", I must add. . As far as the muslin material, maybe you could dye it black to better penetrate the fibers. Supposedly you can drop an unopened bag of "idye" (for natural fibers) or "idye Poly" for synthetics into the washing machine with your clothes,run through a complete cycle & no dye will be left in the washing machine afterward to stain future loads of laundry. I say "supposedly" because such well-behaving dye seems too good to be true. . I've used this dye in the basement bathroom ceramic sink (in that horrid, circa 1970 color called "Harvest Gold" that they used on EVERYTHING back then: appliances, house paint, shag carpet, pots and pans, thermoses, upholstry - the list is ruthless) so no big deal if it stained - But it performed as promised. Nonetheless, I'm still not willing to risk future loads of laundry by using it in the washing machine. The college memory of my landlord and fellow tennants freaking out their laundry being ruined load after load after a mysterious someone who shall remain unnamed to this day dyed something directly in the communiuty washing machine.
5/24/11 1:06 AM
marec said...
OMGosh, that is a wonderful design. I couldn't visualize this on a real person when looking at the pattern. Your work makes the dress come to life!
5/24/11 1:36 AM
UrbanSeamstress said...
That surely is one very classy muslin! ;) I've been looking at this pattern ever since it came out, but maybe I should just jump in and get it as a little post-partum present for myself. It will be going on winter by then, but hey, it's always the season for a nice dress and this design looks forgiving enough in the front to be of service to me then ;) Personally I'm not a fan of this kind of sleeves, though, but that is easily fixed. The neckline and other detailing are, indeed, absolutely lovely.
5/24/11 2:36 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
So glad to see this design on a petite figure. Your dress is wonderful!
5/24/11 8:34 AM
21wale said...
This is really lovely dress! It has a great shape with the belt.
5/24/11 4:51 PM
Kay Y said...
Your dress looks great! I have this pattern and love every version I have seen.
5/24/11 10:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2377
photo
Review by Yoggod on 2/2/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used curtains curtains
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 1/5/10
Read Review

McCalls 6283 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6283 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8146 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8146 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us