SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5356 (Vintage 1960 Dress)

1 more reviews
Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest
Viewed 452 times 
Reviewed by:PittyPat
photo

 
 
About PittyPatstar
NM USA
Member since: 2/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/11 12:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ladybegood said...
I love all the detailed work that you did. Thanks for the pictures and the great review!
7/13/11 10:51 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
That's an interesting technique- ading the wire. Love the buttons! Very nice work!
7/2/11 10:45 PM
fourkid said...
Wow - very nicely done. I love that fabric and the poof of the skirt is just perfect.
7/2/11 3:26 PM
AnneM said...
What an absolutely beautiful dress. Great job resizing it.
7/2/11 10:56 AM
DoggyGirl said...
How much fun it must have been to remake this dress! It's wonderful.
7/1/11 7:05 PM
StitchQueen101 said...
You look fabulous! Great dress and review!
6/30/11 1:00 AM
Heatherrique said...
You look fun, fabulous, and fashionable! Who would believe this dress came from a 1960 pattern? I enjoyed your meticulous review.
6/29/11 10:18 PM
loral15 said...
Very lovely dress! You'll look so stylish this summer!
6/29/11 1:36 PM
CAgirl said...
What a beautiful summer dress - so very feminine. I miss this era when we all looked lady-like. I found your sewing tips valuable, especially on grading up the pattern - excellent visual. Hope your shoulder heals quickly!
6/23/11 9:00 AM
indianajoni said...
Great job with the alterations! And that pattern is just darling.
6/9/11 5:27 PM
Moxie Carol said...
What a wonderful, educational review, full of interesting details and vintage sewing techniques. Your dress is really lovely, and the hat's a great finishing touch. I just read an article on how to make a petticoat, which is becoming popular again - you are vintage and on trend at the same time!
5/26/11 9:11 PM
Renren said...
Very beautiful and a great review, too!!!
5/14/11 9:26 AM
sunflower2306 said...
Love this dress! You did a wonderful job on it! :)
5/13/11 12:21 PM
ggf2005 said...
adorable!
5/11/11 12:44 PM
marec said...
This is a beautiful dress, and is set off by your pretty hat. The collar and trim are very nice, and the fabric! Perfect choice.
5/11/11 10:58 AM
LynneMR said...
Fabulous detailed review and fabulous dress! I love the style of the dress and the fabric you chose. Great styling with the hat and shoes as well.
5/11/11 3:50 AM
katlew03 said...
I absolutely love this fabric. Makes me think of wisteria in the spring. Your dress looks so dainty -- not at all your usual purples and reds, but absolutely gorgeous. You look great.
5/10/11 6:51 PM
Margaret said...
Lovely, summery dress! The trim on the collar looks so nice. Glad you were able to tame the fraying. Thanks for the details about the wire and the seam tape on the curved seam. I do like dolman sleeves and have had problems with fraying in the past, so might end up using that technique one of these days.
5/10/11 3:32 PM
MamaSewing said...
Oh I love your dress, you look great!
5/10/11 10:20 AM
beth5646 said...
Your dress is just beautiful and looks gorgeous on you. I appreciate all the detail you put into your review, such as the 50-60's techniques that are no longer commonly used (zipper). Your fabric is beautiful too and thanks for all the good tips on how you handled the ravely fabric. I love the vintage styles, to me they look so refreshing. Thanks for your great review.
5/10/11 5:50 AM
beth5646 said...
Your dress is just beautiful and looks gorgeous on you. I appreciate all the detail you put into your review, such as the 50-60's techniques that are no longer commonly used (zipper). Your fabric is beautiful too and thanks for all the good tips on how you handled the ravely fabric. I love the vintage styles, to me they look so refreshing. Thanks for your great review.
5/10/11 5:50 AM
Aroura said...
Gorgeous dress, you did a really fabulous job! I do love that collar.
5/9/11 8:51 PM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely gorgeous!!!
5/9/11 3:09 PM
jannw said...
Beautiful dress! very interesting about the wire..thanx for all the closeup details...
5/9/11 2:31 PM
bananaoil said...
Your dress is lovely. And you have a hat!!! THe dress I'm doing for the contest also has that "Y" front detail. In my case, the bust darts have been rotated to the center seam.
5/9/11 1:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3142

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

More Info