Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5356 (Vintage 1960 Dress) - Type:Out of Print Classics
Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 445 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:PittyPat
photo
About PittyPatstar
NM USA
Member since: 2/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/11 12:57 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bananaoil said...
Your dress is lovely. And you have a hat!!! THe dress I'm doing for the contest also has that "Y" front detail. In my case, the bust darts have been rotated to the center seam.
5/9/11 1:34 PM
jannw said...
Beautiful dress! very interesting about the wire..thanx for all the closeup details...
5/9/11 2:31 PM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely gorgeous!!!
5/9/11 3:09 PM
Aroura said...
Gorgeous dress, you did a really fabulous job! I do love that collar.
5/9/11 8:51 PM
beth5646 said...
Your dress is just beautiful and looks gorgeous on you. I appreciate all the detail you put into your review, such as the 50-60's techniques that are no longer commonly used (zipper). Your fabric is beautiful too and thanks for all the good tips on how you handled the ravely fabric. I love the vintage styles, to me they look so refreshing. Thanks for your great review.
5/10/11 5:50 AM
beth5646 said...
Your dress is just beautiful and looks gorgeous on you. I appreciate all the detail you put into your review, such as the 50-60's techniques that are no longer commonly used (zipper). Your fabric is beautiful too and thanks for all the good tips on how you handled the ravely fabric. I love the vintage styles, to me they look so refreshing. Thanks for your great review.
5/10/11 5:50 AM
MamaSewing said...
Oh I love your dress, you look great!
5/10/11 10:20 AM
Margaret said...
Lovely, summery dress! The trim on the collar looks so nice. Glad you were able to tame the fraying. Thanks for the details about the wire and the seam tape on the curved seam. I do like dolman sleeves and have had problems with fraying in the past, so might end up using that technique one of these days.
5/10/11 3:32 PM
katlew03 said...
I absolutely love this fabric. Makes me think of wisteria in the spring. Your dress looks so dainty -- not at all your usual purples and reds, but absolutely gorgeous. You look great.
5/10/11 6:51 PM
LynneMR said...
Fabulous detailed review and fabulous dress! I love the style of the dress and the fabric you chose. Great styling with the hat and shoes as well.
5/11/11 3:50 AM
marec said...
This is a beautiful dress, and is set off by your pretty hat. The collar and trim are very nice, and the fabric! Perfect choice.
5/11/11 10:58 AM
ggf2005 said...
adorable!
5/11/11 12:44 PM
sunflower2306 said...
Love this dress! You did a wonderful job on it! :)
5/13/11 12:21 PM
Renren said...
Very beautiful and a great review, too!!!
5/14/11 9:26 AM
Moxie Carol said...
What a wonderful, educational review, full of interesting details and vintage sewing techniques. Your dress is really lovely, and the hat's a great finishing touch. I just read an article on how to make a petticoat, which is becoming popular again - you are vintage and on trend at the same time!
5/26/11 9:11 PM
indianajoni said...
Great job with the alterations! And that pattern is just darling.
6/9/11 5:27 PM
CAgirl said...
What a beautiful summer dress - so very feminine. I miss this era when we all looked lady-like. I found your sewing tips valuable, especially on grading up the pattern - excellent visual. Hope your shoulder heals quickly!
6/23/11 9:00 AM
loral15 said...
Very lovely dress! You'll look so stylish this summer!
6/29/11 1:36 PM
Heatherrique said...
You look fun, fabulous, and fashionable! Who would believe this dress came from a 1960 pattern? I enjoyed your meticulous review.
6/29/11 10:18 PM
StitchQueen101 said...
You look fabulous! Great dress and review!
6/30/11 1:00 AM
DoggyGirl said...
How much fun it must have been to remake this dress! It's wonderful.
7/1/11 7:05 PM
AnneM said...
What an absolutely beautiful dress. Great job resizing it.
7/2/11 10:56 AM
fourkid said...
Wow - very nicely done. I love that fabric and the poof of the skirt is just perfect.
7/2/11 3:26 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
That's an interesting technique- ading the wire. Love the buttons! Very nice work!
7/2/11 10:45 PM
ladybegood said...
I love all the detailed work that you did. Thanks for the pictures and the great review!
7/13/11 10:51 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8696
photo
Review by mimi g. on 11/8/12
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8932
photo
Review by sensorydeb on 1/16/14
Read Review

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6913 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
McCalls 6913 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8670 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8670 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us