SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> Sporty Sarong Short (Sporty Sarong Short)

2 more reviews
Viewed 607 times 
Reviewed by:loti
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lotistarstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 5/27/04
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:5/13/11 8:47 PM
Last Updated:5/14/11 12:33 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
I think it looks fantastic on you. I really want to make this for summer activities. It HAS to be cheaper than the Terry athletic shorts I got on clearance. (Price is okay on clearance, but the standard price is jaw dropping.)
5/13/11 8:54 PM
michellep74 said...
These are really cute on you--I think you've sold me! I like wearing shorts on weekends but hate how casual they look--I think these would solve that problem.
5/13/11 9:55 PM
SexiSadi said...
I was just asking today if anyone really knew if it was true that this pattern took 2.75 yards of fabric. Imagine my happiness when I saw this review on the main page! :) THEN, imagine my sadness when I read that you didn't know the yardage because you used scraps. :( lol ANyway, I may just have to break down and buy some of the $3 a yard chiffon clearance from fabric.com to get some cheap yardage to try this out. lol Thanks for the review!
5/13/11 10:05 PM
Riesie said...
I'm so glad you submitted this review. I saw the pattern on the fabric.com website and was dithering. Thanks for helping me decide to download it after all.
5/13/11 10:08 PM
katlew03 said...
Hey, you beat me to it. I was going to make this today but too much other stuff got in the way. I think your shorts turned out really nice and will definitely try to make them very soon.
5/13/11 10:54 PM
jannw said...
very cute...that is a lot of fabric in those!
5/13/11 11:04 PM
Renren said...
Love 'em, Loti! They look great! Congratz on being the first to review them, too, and based on the comments, these might get sewn a lot this summer.
5/13/11 11:36 PM
Raye Ann said...
thank you, loti! i downloaded this today but hadn't looked up the missing size chart yet:) I hate tucking tops into elastic, so what is your verdict on the drapey, flared shorts without the skirt??
5/13/11 11:41 PM
loti said...
Raye Ann, sorry I didn't try them on until the skirt was attached and the elastic was inserted. I plan on wearing them with a tank top. Katelew - LOL sorry, when you posted about it, I suddenly found myself at fabric.com downloading. Thank you everyone for your comments, I decided to turn up the serged edge and stitch, I think it looks a bit nicer now.
5/13/11 11:48 PM
bananaoil said...
Thanks, I downloaded this too. Now, I might make it up. Yours look nice.
5/14/11 1:22 AM
LynneMR said...
This looks super cute - thanks for the great review.
5/14/11 3:46 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thanks for the review I was very curious about this pattern. Nice result!
5/14/11 5:40 AM
Margaret said...
Interesting pattern and fabric, looks very cute on you!
5/14/11 6:30 AM
eruuska said...
I downloaded this, but haven't gone any farther. I think I'll go stash diving after seeing yours! Thanks for the tip about the fabric and seaming the ties as a possibility
5/14/11 8:44 AM
psm484 said...
I'm wondering how it would be to make the over skirt detachable? You could have more than one over skirt this way. Maybe it wouldn't be as comfortable though. ?
5/14/11 10:44 AM
Nancywin said...
Wow! that was quick Loti! Really cute shorts and they look great on you!
5/14/11 3:25 PM
Raye Ann said...
Loti, thank you so much!! Ingenious solution;)
5/14/11 7:35 PM
cerulean said...
It looks really cute and they are a really nice change of style from the usual running shorts! Great job!
5/15/11 6:21 PM
marec said...
These are wonderful!
5/31/11 3:50 PM
marec said...
These are wonderful!
5/31/11 3:50 PM
sandysewin said...
Thanks for the tip on making this out of knit. I'd made one out of rayon, but wondered if it would groooooowwwww when made out of knit. I LOVE the idea of making the shorts back out of a completely different fabric!
7/23/11 8:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Jalie 2566

photo
by: Sharonspil...

Review

Pattern

New Look 6150

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now