Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3885 (Misses' Hats) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 307 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Ericaeli
photo
Friend of PR
About Ericaelistar
NV USA
Member since: 6/23/09
Reviews written: 20
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/16/11 8:01 PM
Last Updated:5/30/11 2:42 PM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Wow, what a great binge of hat-making. I like 'em all, but love the huge, wire-rimmed one. In your photos, it's clear that that one gives you DEEP shade, and being pale as a ghost, that's what I need. It's also the first hat pattern I've ever seen that uses wire in the brim, which I think is terrific for putting a shape in the brim because you need to keep it that way due to sun/wind direction, or because it just looks better with the brim flipped one way or the other. Great review! Thank you.
5/16/11 8:15 PM
poppykettle said...
Oh wow! I had no idea there that a hat pattern like this existed - so it's now on my 'to get' list. Thanks so much for all you comments, especially regarding the wire from the hardware shop. Seems odd that the sizes between hats end up working out differently, and especially that there are no fabric recommendations! Fabulous hats by the way :)
5/16/11 9:11 PM
Nancywin said...
Wow! I' so impressed with all of your hats. I have a couple of hat patterns and have not made them. Yours are so inspiring. At first, I thought your thumbnail was of the Amy Butler Blue Sky hat. Vogue also has a large hat like this. I had no idea that KS even had hat patterns. Again, I LOVE your hats!!
5/16/11 10:37 PM
TrixieSews said...
Awesome hats! Great review, too. I have a big floppy hat on my list, really looking forward to making it now!
5/16/11 10:43 PM
marec said...
What wonderful hats. I love the purple one(view D?), though all would find a happy home in my closet.
5/17/11 0:49 AM
PattiinATL said...
cute hats and great review! I want to make these but I think I'm too much of a beginner. I will put in my wish list after reading your review and maybe I can work up to it! thanks for all the detail!
5/17/11 6:37 AM
Hilary said...
Your hats are all Fantastic! This pattern was already on my wishlist and I am moving it to the top :p ~ I am also 5'1" and appreciate the tip on the wide brimmed hat. I would love to see a picture of the new (less wide brim) on you (and all the versions of the 7 you made, very industrious!) Thanks so much for the review and tips-I can't wait to make some!
5/17/11 9:22 AM
Ericaeli said...
Thank you everyone for the nice comments. @beginner patti, hats are really not hard to make. View A would be a great beginner project IMO. @Hilary, our weather turned very dreary after I finished my 7th hats, so I haven't gotten a picture of it on yet. I will get at picture as soon as the sun comes out again, and post it here. The other 3 hats of the 7 were view A's for my son's teacher, my best friend, and my mom, so I no longer have them with me.
5/17/11 10:52 AM
FloraNature said...
What a wonderful review! You've made some lovely hats, and shared some great tips on how to achieve a really good finish. Your photos are very helpful!
5/18/11 4:54 AM
Chris Bryant said...
Great hats and a great review. Now I will have to get that pattern.
5/31/11 7:14 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Simplicity 2642
photo
Review by anncie1 on 7/30/12
Read Review

Vogue 8846 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8846 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3988 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3988 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2007-109
photo
Review by KateS on 2/8/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Madeline Tutu Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madeline Tutu Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Katy Bags
Katy Bags

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us