Online Sewing Class: Altering Pants
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3885 (Misses' Hats)

2 more reviews
Viewed 320 times 
Reviewed by:Ericaeli
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ericaelistar
NV USA
Member since: 6/23/09
Reviews: 20 (patterns: 20)
Favored by: 10 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/16/11 8:01 PM
Last Updated:5/30/11 2:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CrisB said... (5/31/11 7:14 AM) Reply
Great hats and a great review. Now I will have to get that pattern.
FloraNature said... (5/18/11 4:54 AM) Reply
What a wonderful review! You've made some lovely hats, and shared some great tips on how to achieve a really good finish. Your photos are very helpful!
Ericaeli said... (5/17/11 10:52 AM) Reply
Thank you everyone for the nice comments. @beginner patti, hats are really not hard to make. View A would be a great beginner project IMO. @Hilary, our weather turned very dreary after I finished my 7th hats, so I haven't gotten a picture of it on yet. I will get at picture as soon as the sun comes out again, and post it here. The other 3 hats of the 7 were view A's for my son's teacher, my best friend, and my mom, so I no longer have them with me.
Hilary said... (5/17/11 9:22 AM) Reply
Your hats are all Fantastic! This pattern was already on my wishlist and I am moving it to the top :p ~ I am also 5'1" and appreciate the tip on the wide brimmed hat. I would love to see a picture of the new (less wide brim) on you (and all the versions of the 7 you made, very industrious!) Thanks so much for the review and tips-I can't wait to make some!
PattiinATL said... (5/17/11 6:37 AM) Reply
cute hats and great review! I want to make these but I think I'm too much of a beginner. I will put in my wish list after reading your review and maybe I can work up to it! thanks for all the detail!
marec said... (5/17/11 0:49 AM) Reply
What wonderful hats. I love the purple one(view D?), though all would find a happy home in my closet.
TrixieSews said... (5/16/11 10:43 PM) Reply
Awesome hats! Great review, too. I have a big floppy hat on my list, really looking forward to making it now!
Nancywin said... (5/16/11 10:37 PM) Reply
Wow! I' so impressed with all of your hats. I have a couple of hat patterns and have not made them. Yours are so inspiring. At first, I thought your thumbnail was of the Amy Butler Blue Sky hat. Vogue also has a large hat like this. I had no idea that KS even had hat patterns. Again, I LOVE your hats!!
poppykettle said... (5/16/11 9:11 PM) Reply
Oh wow! I had no idea there that a hat pattern like this existed - so it's now on my 'to get' list. Thanks so much for all you comments, especially regarding the wire from the hardware shop. Seems odd that the sizes between hats end up working out differently, and especially that there are no fabric recommendations! Fabulous hats by the way :)
Elona said... (5/16/11 8:15 PM) Reply
Wow, what a great binge of hat-making. I like 'em all, but love the huge, wire-rimmed one. In your photos, it's clear that that one gives you DEEP shade, and being pale as a ghost, that's what I need. It's also the first hat pattern I've ever seen that uses wire in the brim, which I think is terrific for putting a shape in the brim because you need to keep it that way due to sun/wind direction, or because it just looks better with the brim flipped one way or the other. Great review! Thank you.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Pattern Details
Simplicity 3745

photo
by: geraldine

Review