SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1094 (MISSES' DRESS)

14 more reviews
Review submitted in Knock-Off Contest - 2011 Contest
Viewed 863 times 
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 191
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 184
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/28/11 3:25 PM
Last Updated:5/28/11 3:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
prostheticsgirl said...
HAHAHA! I literally laughed out loud when I read the line about "fashion hell" and clicked on the picture
2/16/13 8:30 PM
waltzqueen said...
Great dress! Beatufully made and stylish, you look quite fetching (does anyone use that word any more?) Excellent translation of the Dior original.
8/10/11 5:40 PM
Blooms said...
That is a fab interpretation of you knock-ff. Your sewing projects are so awesome. And what fun with the photoshoots. mostly I am impressed that you re-sewed a zipper.
7/10/11 7:29 PM
bananaoil said...

6/15/11 6:49 AM
bananaoil said...
BRAVO! You're alright I trust? Not in fashion hell? Back home safely? I loved your review, laughed out loud for real. Ambitious dress, it's truly classic and looks lovely. Thanks!
6/15/11 6:48 AM
waltzqueen said...
Great dress, chic and Unique! The "in and out" trim is a great touch and worth the time. An excellent summer dress!
6/12/11 12:27 PM
CAgirl said...
What patience you have. What a beautiful dress you have because of it!
6/9/11 4:21 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
Touche! I love that last photo, fate be damned! That dress is too cute! You took a runway inspiration and made something us normal gals can wear. Bravo!
6/4/11 6:58 PM
Bonnie O said...
Love your dress! And you nailed the inspiration dress but made it more wearable, I think!
6/3/11 8:09 AM
fattyboomboom said...
I agree with your decisions about toning down the skirt, and I admire your patience with threading the trim. Your beautiful dress was certainly worth all the work. So sorry about your zipper drama--I've been there! And as you stand in front of Dior, it looks like you're adding up all the money you saved making your own. I know that smile!!!!
6/2/11 2:55 PM
sewinfrance said...
What a great dress & review. Thanks for the last photo!!! Fantastic work, as always, hope the last zipper holds. I also love those wrappy-strappy black shoes!
5/31/11 8:46 AM
Terri A said...
Really WOW!
5/30/11 1:51 AM
Norsecross said...
When at first you don't succeed, or second time as well, GO METAL! HaHa, that will fix it but good! I have a few metal zippers in my closet as well. Photo in the doorway is a winner.
5/29/11 11:08 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - just totally beautiful. What rotten luck you had with the zipper - truly "zipper hell" as you put it - but so nice to have a handy BF - I know my DH may (MAY) have tried but I am sure I would have endured many neddle punctures. Glad you got to wear it and thanks for such an entertaining review. Great work
5/29/11 10:51 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
Looks so awesome! I have had invisble zipper woes as well. I have found cutting out as much bulk as possible from the bulky seam and ironing the teeth flat before installation helps.
5/29/11 8:41 AM
eruuska said...
You are a better woman than I! I would have wanted to throw it on the floor and stomp all over it. But looking at your dress, it is beautiful! Your persistence surely has paid off!
5/29/11 7:57 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful! You did a great job making the inspiration dress into your version. Very wearable too. Love the picture in front of the Dior shop!
5/29/11 7:26 AM
Fran G said...
Awesome! What talent and creativity you have!
5/29/11 6:21 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Yea, I love those too. Those are the most expensive pair of shoes I ever bought actually, and they still cost 200 euros after 50% off! It was love at first sight and I had just gotten my first bonus from work ;) lol. The shoes are actually boots that zip up the back. The wrappings are different types of stretchy elastic that criss-cross the front. The brand is Dirk Bikkembergs. I'd never heard of them until I saw those shoes though.
5/29/11 3:18 AM
mad stash said...
Arianna - I like the leggings - or maybe these are wraps attached to the sandles you're wearing? Or is this some ingenious creation you made??? If you bought them, where can I get some?
5/29/11 0:15 AM
mad stash said...
Tres chic! I wish I made this dress. Really, really like it. :)
5/28/11 11:56 PM
mendospot said...
Love it!
5/28/11 9:53 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
Love the photo in front of Dior. You're interpretation of the original is wonderful.
5/28/11 7:54 PM
Aroura said...
Wow, I LOVE your version. It's beautiful and so much more wearable than the Dior version. You looks just gorgeous. You BF is awesome BTW! Great review too, I really enjoyed it.
5/28/11 6:45 PM
annakeeton said...
Beautiful dress and I feel your pain during the zipper saga. I love your final photo.
5/28/11 6:04 PM
lucylal said...
Your dress is adorable! What a lot of work you put into it! Curse zippers!!! I have a dress hanging in my sewing room that I made 2 years ago, that is awaiting its 3rd invisible zipper. I ended up getting zipper rage after 2 broken zippers, hence she still hangs there patiently. Next summer!!!
5/28/11 5:27 PM
peaceykeen said...
I love the last picture!!! At least you got to wear it on your trip like you wanted!
5/28/11 5:20 PM
Dale C said...
Fashion Karma! I hope the God of Fashion decides to give you a reprieve! Your dress is lovely and it would be a shame to not be able to wear it. LOL
5/28/11 4:38 PM
petro said...
What a great dress, I love the black trim on the white.
5/28/11 3:54 PM
Puppy said...
What a neat dress. You are so clever!
5/28/11 3:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Towne Purse

Towne Purse

More Info
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

More Info
Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2011-33

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review