SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 145 (Chinese Pajamas)

Review submitted in Knock-Off Contest - 2011 Contest
Viewed 284 times 
Reviewed by:Aroura
photo

 
 
About Arourastarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 149
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 144
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/11 5:53 AM
Last Updated:6/2/11 12:55 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
The result looks great, but as you say it sounds like a whole lot of work, some of it a bad surprise..
6/9/11 8:21 AM
Aroura said...
LindaO, I think it could be converted to unlined, but I'm honestly not sure how. Perhaps just use the facings, and leave out the lining? This could be converted to sleeveless, but note it has very dropped shoulders, so that would need to be accounted for. I'd make a muslin, and give it a go! And thanks everyone for the wonderful comments. DH really loves this so far, and couldn't wait for Fathers Day to start wearing it. :)
6/7/11 9:21 PM
LindaO said...
One more question - we have seen a sleeveless summer uni top, but the price is $80 plus shipping ($20). Do you think this could be converted to sleeveless?
6/7/11 7:25 PM
LindaO said...
This is so timely, my husband is asking for a lightweight tai chi uniform (not the pink silk kind...) and this might fit the bill. I am thinking of making it in rayon. Do you feel it must be lined? That would make it hotter (and today it was 97).
6/7/11 7:23 PM
annakeeton said...
Your jacket looks very well constructed. What a great Father's Day gift.
6/3/11 6:18 PM
SheBear0320 said...
You did a great job on this jacket and took account of every little detail. Great frog closures and I love the lining.
6/3/11 0:43 AM
Terri A said...
I love the frog closures. WOW! This jacket is amazing!
6/2/11 6:20 PM
marec said...
What a beautifully executed project!
6/2/11 5:53 PM
Dale C said...
Nice! I'm glad you were able to get it entered, it looks great!
6/2/11 3:06 PM
JillyBe said...
What a great job Aroura! Looks excellent!
6/2/11 1:04 PM
fattyboomboom said...
I'm so impressed with your frog closures! You've made such a nice jacket; what a great wife you are!
6/2/11 8:37 AM
popo said...
I must not let my husband see this review. I can't even finish altering his pants. lol Great job!
6/1/11 12:15 PM
Margaret said...
Sorry about the problems with the pattern... most of the Folkwear patterns I've used have been better than this one sounds (although I've found that many do have too-tight necklines/collars). Anyway, glad you were able to solve the problems... the jacket really looks great and I love your fabric/lining combo!
6/1/11 10:21 AM
jannw said...
Great results! Sorry to hear about the pattern problems. Like you, for an expensive pattern, I expect better!
5/31/11 3:02 PM
lamstu said...
What a fabulous jacket! (I wish my DH would tell me what he wants too. ;))
5/31/11 8:15 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for a useful review. I've been thinking of using this pattern to imitate Shanghai Tang's exquisite but expensive velvet Chinese jackets but I feel wary of tackling a pattern that contains mistakes. A nice job, anyway, especially your clever solutions to problems.
5/31/11 7:55 AM
MNBarb said...
What a work of love for Fathers' Day. The lining and frog closures are perfectly done.
5/31/11 7:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

The City Bag

The City Bag

More Info
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

More Info
Butterick 5355

photo
by: Shaptavajr...

Review