Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Folkwear: 145 (Chinese Pajamas) - Type:Mens - Jackets
Review submitted in Knock-Off Contest - 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 277 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Aroura
photo
About Arourastarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/11 5:53 AM
Last Updated:6/2/11 12:55 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
What a work of love for Fathers' Day. The lining and frog closures are perfectly done.
5/31/11 7:05 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for a useful review. I've been thinking of using this pattern to imitate Shanghai Tang's exquisite but expensive velvet Chinese jackets but I feel wary of tackling a pattern that contains mistakes. A nice job, anyway, especially your clever solutions to problems.
5/31/11 7:55 AM
lamstu said...
What a fabulous jacket! (I wish my DH would tell me what he wants too. ;))
5/31/11 8:15 AM
jannw said...
Great results! Sorry to hear about the pattern problems. Like you, for an expensive pattern, I expect better!
5/31/11 3:02 PM
Margaret said...
Sorry about the problems with the pattern... most of the Folkwear patterns I've used have been better than this one sounds (although I've found that many do have too-tight necklines/collars). Anyway, glad you were able to solve the problems... the jacket really looks great and I love your fabric/lining combo!
6/1/11 10:21 AM
popo said...
I must not let my husband see this review. I can't even finish altering his pants. lol Great job!
6/1/11 12:15 PM
fattyboomboom said...
I'm so impressed with your frog closures! You've made such a nice jacket; what a great wife you are!
6/2/11 8:37 AM
JillyBe said...
What a great job Aroura! Looks excellent!
6/2/11 1:04 PM
Dale C said...
Nice! I'm glad you were able to get it entered, it looks great!
6/2/11 3:06 PM
marec said...
What a beautifully executed project!
6/2/11 5:53 PM
Terri A said...
I love the frog closures. WOW! This jacket is amazing!
6/2/11 6:20 PM
SheBear0320 said...
You did a great job on this jacket and took account of every little detail. Great frog closures and I love the lining.
6/3/11 0:43 AM
annakeeton said...
Your jacket looks very well constructed. What a great Father's Day gift.
6/3/11 6:18 PM
LindaO said...
This is so timely, my husband is asking for a lightweight tai chi uniform (not the pink silk kind...) and this might fit the bill. I am thinking of making it in rayon. Do you feel it must be lined? That would make it hotter (and today it was 97).
6/7/11 7:23 PM
LindaO said...
One more question - we have seen a sleeveless summer uni top, but the price is $80 plus shipping ($20). Do you think this could be converted to sleeveless?
6/7/11 7:25 PM
Aroura said...
LindaO, I think it could be converted to unlined, but I'm honestly not sure how. Perhaps just use the facings, and leave out the lining? This could be converted to sleeveless, but note it has very dropped shoulders, so that would need to be accounted for. I'd make a muslin, and give it a go! And thanks everyone for the wonderful comments. DH really loves this so far, and couldn't wait for Fathers Day to start wearing it. :)
6/7/11 9:21 PM
fuzzygalore said...
The result looks great, but as you say it sounds like a whole lot of work, some of it a bad surprise..
6/9/11 8:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

New Look 6563 Misses Blouses
photo
Review by solosmocke... on 6/7/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 6014: jochen
photo
Review by Erinaceous on 7/16/11
Read Review

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8911 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8911 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us