Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 9769 (Civil War Undergarments) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 237 times 30 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:lbreton
photo
About lbreton
IN USA
Member since: 7/12/09
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/11 12:59 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
unfinishedprojects said...
Looks good. If this is your mock-up and you will be making another one in coutil, don't go with the smaller size. Coutil doesn't stretch and it will be too small- ask me how I know :(
5/24/11 1:29 PM
dfr2010 said...
Corset construction isn't so much difficult as it is DIFFERENT ... the true bugaboo is the fitting. That looks like a decent fit on your mockup, and look forward to seeing the final. BTW, I do have a Corset Sew-Along on the message boards which is open-ended and you are welcome to join in!
5/24/11 1:39 PM
rmusic1 said...
your corset looks lovely. I wish I had more of the figure to wear them, but alas I am a lot more straight up and down....
5/24/11 2:23 PM
Hilary said...
Your corset is so cute! I love that you made it out of an old pair of stretch jeans-great idea! Thanks for the tips. I have this in my stash but haven't made it because I thought it would really be hard-I will definitely have to try it now!
5/24/11 2:41 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Looking very good there! Impressive first effort. I agree totally, the construction techniques / tools are not so much difficult as the 'hard' comes from being so different. Did you use any resources other than the pattern? I spent hours looking thru Linda Spark's book and reviewing the Laughing Moon DVD. My tip to you is use painter's masking tape and mark one side consistently ... Like RS #3 and an arrow pointing UP RS 3 & UP. the pieces look similar and all the white stuff I was sewing with was hugely confusing to keep it all going along correctly. Don't iron over the tape -- just reposition as needed to keep it out of the way. Did you put in a waist stay? what kind of boning? Please come on over the the Sew-a-long... lots of encouragement there.
5/24/11 8:28 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
5/25/11 9:26 AM
Maggiedoll said...
Loving the denim corset! And really great for a first one! For some reason Big 4 companies always add ease to their corset patterns. Apparently they don't actually consider what the garment is when deciding on such things! So far as just fit is concerned, I'm starting to find it easier to draft rather than use a pattern. The drafting instructions in the free article on FoundatoinsRevealed are really good. (I guess I'm going to have to review that eventually.. I just haven't decided exactly how to review it. As a self-drafted pattern? But I didn't design it, I just did the calculations for my own measurements..) dfr for some reason forgot to mention that Tuesday nights are corset chat! ..And that we talk about corsets in the PR chat room most evenings anyways. You should drop by then too!
5/30/11 11:08 AM
lbreton said...
Thanks everyone. I'm usually quicker to comment back. I'm definitely going to visit the chat rooms and the sew-a-long. Sounds like it's up my alley. I used spiral steel bones for this one but have since pulled them out for my costume corset. So, yeah, this was the my first corset and my muslin all in one. What would I lose but some old jeans, though they didn't have stretch in them- or had very little. The size I chose fit be perfectly as a fashion corset but I want to use the final corset as a Victorian corset that I could tighten, so the smaller size worked better. I also lost weight- yay for nursing! I haven't worked with coutil yet but I hope to soon. In the meantime, I used canvas for my final corset. Ah, fitting, my nemesis. I'm self-teaching myself how to alter store bought patterns as well as drape. It's slow but I'm learning a lot by going at my own pace. I'll be ready for more soon. Again, thanks for looking at my little corset. I'm so glad I posted this here. Until your comments, I had yet to hear anything specific about how it looked. I'll post pics of the new corset soon.
6/6/11 10:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 2497 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by c.l.w. on 3/26/12
Read Review

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8379 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by petitesewi... on 9/27/12
Read Review

Simplicity 4297 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4297 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2296 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2296 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us