SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9769 (Civil War Undergarments)

31 more reviews
Viewed 240 times 
Reviewed by:lbreton
photo

 
 
About lbreton
IN USA
Member since: 7/12/09
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/11 12:59 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
unfinishedprojects said...
Looks good. If this is your mock-up and you will be making another one in coutil, don't go with the smaller size. Coutil doesn't stretch and it will be too small- ask me how I know :(
5/24/11 1:29 PM
dfr2010 said...
Corset construction isn't so much difficult as it is DIFFERENT ... the true bugaboo is the fitting. That looks like a decent fit on your mockup, and look forward to seeing the final. BTW, I do have a Corset Sew-Along on the message boards which is open-ended and you are welcome to join in!
5/24/11 1:39 PM
rmusic1 said...
your corset looks lovely. I wish I had more of the figure to wear them, but alas I am a lot more straight up and down....
5/24/11 2:23 PM
Hilary said...
Your corset is so cute! I love that you made it out of an old pair of stretch jeans-great idea! Thanks for the tips. I have this in my stash but haven't made it because I thought it would really be hard-I will definitely have to try it now!
5/24/11 2:41 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Looking very good there! Impressive first effort. I agree totally, the construction techniques / tools are not so much difficult as the 'hard' comes from being so different. Did you use any resources other than the pattern? I spent hours looking thru Linda Spark's book and reviewing the Laughing Moon DVD. My tip to you is use painter's masking tape and mark one side consistently ... Like RS #3 and an arrow pointing UP RS 3 & UP. the pieces look similar and all the white stuff I was sewing with was hugely confusing to keep it all going along correctly. Don't iron over the tape -- just reposition as needed to keep it out of the way. Did you put in a waist stay? what kind of boning? Please come on over the the Sew-a-long... lots of encouragement there.
5/24/11 8:28 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
5/25/11 9:26 AM
Maggiedoll said...
Loving the denim corset! And really great for a first one! For some reason Big 4 companies always add ease to their corset patterns. Apparently they don't actually consider what the garment is when deciding on such things! So far as just fit is concerned, I'm starting to find it easier to draft rather than use a pattern. The drafting instructions in the free article on FoundatoinsRevealed are really good. (I guess I'm going to have to review that eventually.. I just haven't decided exactly how to review it. As a self-drafted pattern? But I didn't design it, I just did the calculations for my own measurements..) dfr for some reason forgot to mention that Tuesday nights are corset chat! ..And that we talk about corsets in the PR chat room most evenings anyways. You should drop by then too!
5/30/11 11:08 AM
lbreton said...
Thanks everyone. I'm usually quicker to comment back. I'm definitely going to visit the chat rooms and the sew-a-long. Sounds like it's up my alley. I used spiral steel bones for this one but have since pulled them out for my costume corset. So, yeah, this was the my first corset and my muslin all in one. What would I lose but some old jeans, though they didn't have stretch in them- or had very little. The size I chose fit be perfectly as a fashion corset but I want to use the final corset as a Victorian corset that I could tighten, so the smaller size worked better. I also lost weight- yay for nursing! I haven't worked with coutil yet but I hope to soon. In the meantime, I used canvas for my final corset. Ah, fitting, my nemesis. I'm self-teaching myself how to alter store bought patterns as well as drape. It's slow but I'm learning a lot by going at my own pace. I'll be ready for more soon. Again, thanks for looking at my little corset. I'm so glad I posted this here. Until your comments, I had yet to hear anything specific about how it looked. I'll post pics of the new corset soon.
6/6/11 10:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity 2528

photo
by: Stacy Sews

Review
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

Buy Now
JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

Buy Now
McCall's 6320

photo
by: Serene802

Review