SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2222 (Misses' & Miss Petite Dresses or Romper. SUEDEsays)

9 more reviews
Viewed 290 times 
Reviewed by:Scheryka
photo

 
 
About Scherykastar
SC USA
Member since: 11/11/08
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 77
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/11 6:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Activewear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissMaddiePi said... (8/30/12 8:03 PM) Reply
Thanks so much for your review & links to your blog! I gotta say I LOVE how you wear your unique, awesome creativity - it shows clear through to your writing style as well! For my 34th birthday, my Momma bought me a sewing machine I'd begged for - and have been learning to sew, and sewing, obsessively for the past 6 months. This is one of the first patterns I bought, but haven't sewn it because I wasn't sure I could do it justice. But your help and encouragement (OF COURSE we can wear rompers - 30 is the new 20! And I have a LOT more than a bone in the back...) has me motivated to start NOW - before I run out of summer!
sewnaomi said... (8/30/11 9:56 AM) Reply
I really like the plaid, great and bold. I made this one too but added an inch and a half to the length of the shorts to wear them to work. I have a 'bone in the back' and I thought that I would add just a bit to the back of the shorts width to make it look like I had more than a 'bone'. It is very flat back there.
cleverkitty said... (6/1/11 11:18 AM) Reply
This Romper looks so good on you, the plaid and the vinyl yoke combination is so fabulous for this style. I love your pictures and your really funny about the "bone in the back" LOL
FreyaStark said... (5/30/11 7:00 AM) Reply
A cute garment.
Knitters Delight said... (5/29/11 9:32 PM) Reply
Fab job! Congrats on finishing for the look-a-like contest.
Knitters Delight said... (5/29/11 9:31 PM) Reply
Fab job! Congrats on finishing for the look-a-like contest.
mad stash said... (5/29/11 7:28 PM) Reply
Very adventurous combination of fabrics... That's the most fun thing about making one's own clothes, imo (Next to wearing said clothes of course.) It turned out to look cute on you; have fun wearing it out and about! Oh, one last thing: I agree with your wording on the blog "Sewing is a cure for ALL diseases". :)
Claverie said... (5/29/11 7:15 PM) Reply
Rompers just may be 'in' this year ;) ... Nice idea using the vinyl. Cute.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Stretch & Sew 312

photo
by: sizzle4

Review
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Pattern Details
Sassy Bag

Sassy Bag

Pattern Details